We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Documents that define our lives.”

The National Archives Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Best of DC Including US Capitol and National Archives Reserved...
Ranked #27 of 431 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Repository where the most important historical documents of the United States are held, such as the original Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Constitution and the 1297 version of the Magna Carta.
boston
Level Contributor
248 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Documents that define our lives.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On our recent visit to DC, we had “timed tickets” to the National Archives to see the most precious documents of our nation. We were amazed at the display – Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Bill of Rights all encased in a most beautiful rotunda. We found a volunteer who was happy to share his knowledge of the documents and their signers with the grandkids. He was very engaging and funny and brought these documents to life for the kids. We were there in that one room for well over an hour. Enjoyed every second.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,595
    639
    216
    43
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the Archives”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I wish I had more time to go through the place. There is so much to see and learn here. We loved to see the declaration of indenpendence, constitution and the bill of rights but there are so much more to see and do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank springbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were able to go on a tour early in the morning, and it was amazing. Our docent was incredible; she knew so much and was so happy to be there. We spent two hours there, but honestly, we could have spent all day there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chelseapulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US OF A
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Destination ”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

What a great history of the US in records and paper. I have 2 young kids under the age of 10 and it was great to walk through the exhibits with them. Who knew that playing with a microfilm machine could be so much fun (they had never seen one- the age of the internet)


Look for the military draft cards of some famous Americans and look closely at the details.

Helpful?
Thank PDIDDYTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“History up close and personal”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Take some time to read about the documents prior to going in. Understanding what they are helps them to mean so much more. It is amazing to see the documents up close with the signatures still visible and the writing which is so detailed and artistic. The room containing the documents is amazing with its artwork and design. If you have small children don't allow them to lean on the glass. The guards will quickly stop that from happening which I appreciated. You don't want to be the parent who's kid broke the glass over the Declaration. We bought entrance tickets on line but apparently didn't have to use them (visited Friday morning at 1030am) as we literally walked right in through the security with only a small 1-2 minute wait in line and they never asked for them. I'm sure that when this building is busy that line can get really long so having prior tickets would be advised.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrotherBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Archives Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Archives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing