We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ford's Theatre

Ford's Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #22 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the April 14, 1865, assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Ford's Theatre is a working theatre, historical monument, world-class museum and learning center. The theatre produces musicals and plays reflecting the unique, diverse character of American life. With its inspiring theatrical productions, live historic interpretation, and rich collection of artifacts, Ford’s Theatre is the premier destination in the nation’s capital to explore and celebrate the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln. A daytime visit to the Ford’s campus traces the story of Lincoln’s presidency, assassination and legacy. The campus includes the museum, theatre, Petersen House (the house where Lincoln died) and the new Center for Education and Leadership. Tickets are required. Admission is free; advance tickets have a convenience fee.In the evenings and on weekends, Ford’s presents dynamic productions of renowned plays, vibrant musicals, and newly commissioned works that captivate and entertain while examining political and social issues related to Lincoln’s legacy.In the spring and summer, Ford’s produces one-act plays and walking tours exploring Civil War Washington. These immersive experiences provide an authentic glimpse into a singular and transformative moment of America’s past.Throughout the year, Ford’s provides engaging educational programs for students, teachers and life-long learners, using Lincoln’s speeches and legacy to build speech, writing and leadership skills.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I wasn't really sure what to expect when we went but it was close to where we were at and on the way to another museum and decided to stop in. Got our tickets and waited about 30 minutes before going on the tour. It was self guided but they do have the option to purchase an audio device. The history and information that is given is amazing and probably one of the best places we went to while visiting. Your ticket is free and includes Fords Theatre and the Peterson house. If your in the area this is a must see. Very worth the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BryonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,098
    796
    197
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Schedule appropriately”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Picking your tour time online is easy, and you see exactly what the tour includes during the different time periods. I made sure to include the ranger speech as part of the tour, and got some very informative insights from him about the events leading up to and occurring that night. I love historical places, so I enjoyed it. The museum part was small, but very interesting. My tour included the house across the street where Lincoln was taken, which again, I thoroughly enjoyed. Nothing "over the top", it's all very simple but worthwhile. I didn't have a long wait at all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
193 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Docent shared information about Booth that was new to me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Before going be sure you obtain tickets as the slots fill up quickly. They are time sensitive. When you go into the theatre you tour on your own the lower level that has history of Lincoln and a short film. After about 25 minutes you go up one flight of stairs into the thearte the balcony where Lincoln was shot remains the same. The theatre remains an active theatre throughout the yr as a matter of fact there will be a gala event this week. It no longer seats as many people as it did due to fire codes etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really brings history alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

DC has a ton of great historic sights to see, and most are free.
Fords theater will allow you to feel as if you were back in 1865.
The only thing that would improve the visit would be if the public could walk by and look into the presidential box .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Historyteachertrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FordsTheatre, Manager at Ford's Theatre, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! At certain times during the year (often September and November-January) the National Park Service allows visitors to see the President’s Box from the anteroom Booth moved through before the assassination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“learned something new about a story we think we all know”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The museum is a nicely documented archive of all the players in the Lincoln assasination. Plus, there is some information about the men and politics of the time to help visitors understand Lincoln had more than just a civil war to worry about. We enjoyed our morning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5fishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ford's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ford's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing