We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ford's Theatre

Ford's Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #22 of 430 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of the April 14, 1865, assassination of President Abraham Lincoln, Ford's Theatre is a working theatre, historical monument, world-class museum and learning center. The theatre produces musicals and plays reflecting the unique, diverse character of American life. With its inspiring theatrical productions, live historic interpretation, and rich collection of artifacts, Ford’s Theatre is the premier destination in the nation’s capital to explore and celebrate the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln. A daytime visit to the Ford’s campus traces the story of Lincoln’s presidency, assassination and legacy. The campus includes the museum, theatre, Petersen House (the house where Lincoln died) and the new Center for Education and Leadership. Tickets are required. Admission is free; advance tickets have a convenience fee.In the evenings and on weekends, Ford’s presents dynamic productions of renowned plays, vibrant musicals, and newly commissioned works that captivate and entertain while examining political and social issues related to Lincoln’s legacy.In the spring and summer, Ford’s produces one-act plays and walking tours exploring Civil War Washington. These immersive experiences provide an authentic glimpse into a singular and transformative moment of America’s past.Throughout the year, Ford’s provides engaging educational programs for students, teachers and life-long learners, using Lincoln’s speeches and legacy to build speech, writing and leadership skills.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

More than just the theater it is an excellent display of a major piece of our history, including portrayals of the event.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rrc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,095
    795
    197
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We went on a Sunday afternoon with my 7 year old nephew and teenage daughter. No problem getting tickets and just a short wait outside when it's close to your tour time. If you have the National Parks passport book, the kids will get 2 stamps here. You don't have unlimited time in the museum downstairs so pace yourself so you don't miss anything. They announce when the theatre opens for the ranger talk and there is a mad rush for the stairs to get a seat. I wish we would have stayed behind in the museum and finished looking at the exhibits. We missed some important things. There are plenty of seats in the theatre and you sit and wait for about 10 minutes after they open it.

After the talk in the theatre, everyone races across the street to wait in line for the Peterson house. There was a large tour group of kids and their adult chaperone chose to stand on top of the stairs into the house and yell at all the kids to come up and get in front of everyone else because they were on a schedule. Annoying and there is no ranger management of this line. My group bailed, but sorry we missed it. The gift shop next to the Peterson house has an amazing display/sculpture of books about Lincoln that is built up the center of a winding staircase. Make sure you stop in and take a look. Glad we went and I will definitely go back to take in what we missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This site was interesting to visit.
You need to get a free ticket from inside by the gift shop. Beware that the line forms quickly.
At your allotted slot, you go downstairs to view information about the assassination including the gun used to shoot Lincoln; boot of Wilkes-booth etc.
unfortunately you have to wait downstairs for 35mins until the next ranger talk, I hadn't realised this when I entered and this was a bit frustrating as I was short on time and wanted to look around myself.
Also a hit annoyed that there was a large school group at the same time as me, they were noisy and didn't move to allow other people to view the information.
Once the theatre doors open you can go upstairs and look at the box where he was shot. I made an exit at this stage and didn't stay for the ranger talk, but would like to do that next time.
A site worth a visit, but make sure you have at least 1hr to spend here.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really enjoyed my visit to Ford's theater. The presentation given by the park ranger was very informative and it was fun to walk up the same steps as Abraham Lincoln. We were short on time so we were not able to visit the museum across the street but would like to do that next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenette830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenberg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One Destiny @ Ford's Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Museum and Theatre tour at Ford's Theatre are well documented in the other reviews for this attraction. However, if you visit the theatre, do yourself a favor and get tickets to the afternoon performances of One Destiny. Its a one-act, two-man play that recounts the events of April 14, 1865 in unique fashion. No spoilers here....just to say that its 40 minutes well-spent that will shed new light on what you may or may not have known about Lincoln's assassination. The actors rotate through multiple characters and even offer a Q & A at the end. Simply an outstanding experience!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ford's Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Ford's Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing