We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Free Every First Sunday of the Month ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Women in the Arts

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.90*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
Ranked #64 of 413 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1981 and opened in 1987, the National Museum of Women in the Arts is the only museum solely dedicated to celebrating the achievements of women in the visual, performing and literary arts. The museum's collection features 4,500 works from the 16th century to the present created by more than 1,000 artists, including Mary Cassatt, Frida Kahlo, Alma Thomas, Lee Krasner, Louise Bourgeois, Chakaia Booker and Nan Goldin, along with special collections of 18th-century silver tableware and botanical prints. NMWA is located at 1250 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C., In a landmark building near the White House.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Free Every First Sunday of the Month ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon experiencing the marvels of this museums. With it's spectacular white marble staircases, it's breath taking chandeliers, one can get lost in awe-ness!!!

Helpful?
Thank Atheyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    66
    22
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art! by women”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We went specifically to see a special exhibit of quilts on loan from a museum in Delaware. The curator's talk at lunch time and the beautiful old quilts were all we had hoped for and more. Exquisite crazy quilts in the mix.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KYQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gets better with each floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This museum starts slow with renaissance women painters on the first floor, then a limited selection and cafe on the second. The third floor was a quilt show which was ell presented but somewhat dry. But, oh, the fourth floor! Some really great contemporary art pieces -- don't miss the sculpture room in the back! The tire sculptures were particularly wonderful, as well as the confection dress and the crochet-covered plastic dog. Less obvious pieces are equally accomplished. The museum certainly builds to a crescendo and doesn't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank artsiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Building, Great Art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The building itself is beautiful to wander around in, with marble floors and wide stairways. Everything is wheelchair accessible, including the bathrooms and water fountains.
We were there for a wonderful quilt exhibit which included an interesting video that put what we were seeing in context. We also learned a lot about women artists that we hadn't heard of before. Picked up some cute kids' books and cards in the gift shop. A great visit on a rainy Sunday afternoon! We used our reciprocal museum card (we belong to an art museum locally) and got in free, but we'd be willing to pay to see it all!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGal1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wonderful opportunity to see some wonderful art by women! Some is by well-known artists, such as Mary Cassatt; others by artists heretofore unknown to me; and some by women I new from other artistic disciplines that surprised me, such as actress Sarah Bernhardt's scultpure.

When I visited, which was during National Women's Month, there was a small but interesting special exhibit about the pre-work for Judy Chicago's "Dinner Party" and a fantastic exhibit showcasing a wide variety of quilts created by women from the mid-1880s on.

The gift shop is expensive, but has some unique items, many beautiful, several quite fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank liviBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Women in the Arts also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Women in the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing