We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monumental history!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Monument

Washington Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Washington DC Monuments Bike Tour
Ranked #18 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Washington Monument elevator is closed until spring 2019.
Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monumental history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great place to start your Washington Mall Experience. This is essentially the center of the Mall, and great place to survey the surrounding monuments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,865
    1,840
    577
    51
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just knowing I was looking at a National treasure was so inspiring! I visited the monument right after 9/11 so it was blocked off to visitors. I hope to go back again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A DC must-see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

You can get tickets in advance for a very small fee at nps.gov. There is a set time of entry for each ticket. The monument re-opened May 2014 after being repaired and restored from the damaged incurred from the 2011 earthquake. At 555 feet, this is a great vista point for viewing the entire city. The windows are quite small but it wasn't crowded because of the timed-entry and people were generally quite polite and conscious of others waiting to take their turn to view. Below the viewing level is an area with exhibits detailing the history of the site. This is a must-do/see for any DC first-timer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tripster714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very pleasant experience as when I was waiting at the bottom a guard approached me and spontaneously offered me a ticket to go up to the top of the monument which was a delight. It was very much as I'd hoped from all the movies and I enjoyed a week seeing many wonderful things like Arlington, the Museum of the Holocaust, a very poignant visit and came out with a heavy heart but humbled by the people who went through this horrendous part of our history and survived to tell us. Reminds me of Paris

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reserve tickets and go to the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

What views and history. Elevator does not make it seem that you are going up so high and looking out the windows did not trigger any fear of heights. Reserve your tickets ahead or get there an hour before opening to get an assigned time for that day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary12082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Monument also viewed

 
 

Been to Washington Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing