We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a sports bar, it's very good. Exceeds expectations.”
Review of The Greene Turtle

The Greene Turtle
Ranked #566 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“For a sports bar, it's very good. Exceeds expectations.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Visited the Green Turtle with two coworkers while in town for business; we came for Monday night football, and ended up staying the entire game. Bottom line, if you are expecting a sports bar, the venue will likely exceed your expectations (or at least meet them). There are a lot of reviews claiming that there is better food in DC; well, of course there is - DC has thousands of specialty restaurants in a variety of price points. The Green Turtle is not a specialty restaurant; it is merely a sports bar, but a good one as I suggest.

So, what makes a good sports bar. (1) Attentive and courteous wait staff; had no problem splitting up the checks and/or running accurate tabs for the duration of our time there. (2) Good access to TV screens; there are a lot of large flat LCDs on the walls, but the really cool thing is that there are also smaller LCDs in each of the individual booths. (3) A good craft beer selection; there were over a dozen drafts to choose from in a variety of preferences and styles. (4) Well executed pub fare; as far as american pub fare goes, the food was both quality and reasonably priced. There are even a few "healthier" choices if you don't feel like burgers or fried food; we all agreed that we could easily eat there again. There really is not much not to like about the Green Turtle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Advisor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    69
    41
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Time! ”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

After eating (expensive) small plates and (expensive) drinks at a restaurant around the corner my cousin mentioned there was a Green Turtle near by...I was excited to check this bar out after learning the history and how it got started! It was a hockey game night so it was packed with local fans however we wanted to watch our local college play and the waitress gladly got us a booth so we could have our own table! There are soooooo many TVs which really makes this bar awesome! Plus there menu looks great with various bar foods! I had already eaten so I enjoyed their caramel bacon popcorn and my boyfriend ate their cowboy burger! Service was good-- prices reasonable--atmosphere great!

Helpful?
Thank MsCarolinaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, our waitress spoiled our visit.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were seated and waited 15 minutes before our waitress arrived to take our drink order, then waited another 15 minutes until she brought our waters. She was going to walk away without taking our order and seeing how the timing had been so far we asked to order right away. Almost 30 minutes later a separate server brought our food and offered to refill our waters. We noticed a gentleman hovering near our table, watching one of the televisions directly behind us. He was increasingly loud and cursing at the tv. Staff walked by him without asking him to take a seat (we weren't in the bar area). He would leave and come back, each time more aggravated by the game and yelling over my husband's head. There was only one other table with guests in our area and they were literally deaf, so we were the only ones who noticed the issue... After our plates were empty we waited even longer - watching our waitress walk by several times without acknowledging us - and had to flag down the server who brought us food to ask her to send our waitress to us with our bill. That server actually offered to get our bill for us, cleared our plates, and was really helpful. We tipped Her and no tip for the waitress we only saw twice. The unfortunate part is that we left a bag of souvenirs (hats) on the back of one of our chairs and when we realized it an hour later I called to check and see if they had been turned in but of course they had not. I left my name and phone number for a response in case they were returned, but never got a call... This experience left a bad taste in our mouths for the Green Turtle chain and we refused to visit another for the duration of our visit. I couldn't even tell you if the food was good - we were so distracted by the bad service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dairyland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best attribute was the service”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Food was decent, atmosphere was decent and the service was fantastic. Super friendly waitress, who was efficient helpful and just plain good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank w0rkt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“not surprised at how it was”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

So, it's concert night and upon arrival at the concert venue, I know there's a Green Turtle to stop in and have a quick bite to eat. Me, my adult daughter and friend were seated by our server. We order 3 chilled Patrol SIlver shots, 3 waters with lemon and 2 unsweetened iced teas. We get 2 waters no lemon, 3 sweet teas with the lemon floating in the glass and 2 Patrol shots, no limes.

Insert heavy sigh here.

Eventually our server gets our beverage order straightened out and she had to make two trips for the limes. We ordered the Flatbread Crab Pizza and the Buffalo Chicken Nachos. The flatbread dish was so salty that we did not finish (very small serving). The buffalo nachos were interesting but we were unable to find any actual chicken, and the toppings were only on a center 'dump' of the chips, about 1 cup worth. The rest of the chips were unsalted and rather unappealing.

Bottom line is that you should wait to eat inside the concert venue or go down earlier to visit one of the other dining establishments that might take longer to complete a meal. This isn't the first visit to this particular Green Turtle (or even TGT in general), however, the experience is no different whether you dine in Hanover, MD or Washington, D.C.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GingerSfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greene Turtle also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Greene Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing