We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice old castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithsonian Institution Building

Smithsonian Institution Building
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Washington DC Legend Daytime Comprehensive Tour
Ranked #34 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's largest museum and research complex is actually comprised of 19 museums and the National Zoo, with subjects that vary from African Art to the postal service, sculpture to space exploration.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Des Moines, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice old castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was fun to see this building and know that the amazing Smithsonian museum system began right there. This is a treasure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,318
    729
    244
    47
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for space fans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Perfect for anyone interested in Air and space travel. There are so many planes and spac e modules such as Spirit of St Louis, the Wright Brothers first flight machine, Apollo rockets and more. It is free to enter and dose get very busy. It is on two floors and you need about 3 hours to get around, especially if you do a guided tour. Our tour guide Bruce took 21/2 hours instead of 11/2 hours! But he knew his stuff! A wealth of information. There is also an IMAX theatre.the museum has somewhere to eat as well as a few shops. I will admit that most of the information went right over my head, but it was still very interesting anyway.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The butterfly exhibit is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Definitely a place I want to go back to. We went there on July 4th (yes yes, I know how it sounds lol, and the crowds were insane), but we left before the parade ended and got into the museum without any hustle. You can easily spend a day there, and we tried to see as much as we can.

We were blown away by the Butterfly Exhibit, it was so beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful architecture (Smithsonian Castle). Nice gift shops and cafe. It was also great that it was near the Metro Station!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lcarte42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Free Museum and great history experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Take the Metro to Washington,DC and visit the Smithsonian. It is a very large museum you cannot go in one day. The building is magnificent and there is lots to learn. For families, do not worry, there is something for everyone and very clean toilets. Wear comfortable walking shoes. There is a lot to learn and have different themes. Check their website first and plan ahead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashua_NHTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smithsonian Institution Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing