We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of African Art

National Museum of African Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
Ranked #80 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution that concentrates on crafts and objects from the sub-Saharan region of Africa.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect in this small but lovely museum but we were very pleasantly surprised, especially by the exhibit on the bottom floor. It's well worth going down for, as there are some truly AMAZING masks on display. Also a very odd, almost offensive video in a current exhibit. Check it out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
479 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Nice collection in a nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Museum of African Art is an interesting multi-level museum. It is newer and nicer than many of the other Smithsonian museums, and it is also much less crowded. There are some nice niches, alcoves and interior courtyards where you can just enjoy some quiet time in a nice setting away from the crowds.

I have no knowledge of African Art, but there seemed to be a lot of it from a lot of different countries and time periods, with art ranging from hundreds of years old to contemporary works. I do feel that the museum could do a better job of orienting visitors to different African art styles and regions, as I suspect many visitors are like me and have much limited knowledge about African geography, history and art. Still, I enjoyed the many interesting pieces here, and there is certainly plenty of information about the pieces on display.

On the whole, the museum and the collection are a nice change of pace from the traditional museums with gallery after gallery of classical paintings and sculptures.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Top-notch African art; easy to see everything in one visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The National Museum of African Art is a must-see for all who enjoy, or are curious about, African art. I have a small collection of African Art, and I am determined not to miss this museum whenever I am visiting D.C.

The museum is not huge; however, the artwork is top quality. The rooms are well laid out and well-lit, and walking in the galleries is easy as there never seems to be many people visiting the museum when I am there. The collection is quite strong in a number of categories, my favorites being masks and reliquary figures. Some of the latter are stupendous, with mind-blowing works from the Kota and Fang tribes. Aside from the art-rich countries of equatorial west Africa, the horn of Africa is also represented by some impressive paintings and religious artifacts from Ethiopia.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classic and Modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This museum is free and is located within the Smithsonian district of museums. It is easily accessible from Metro at either the Smithsonian or L'Entrant Stations. Inside the museum are 3 sub-levels of exhibits. Each level features different exhibits. I enjoyed viewing the various African masks, head-dresses, and jewelry. There was also a featured exhibits of photographs taken during a photographer's journey from South Africa up to North Africa. A contemporary or modern exhibit of interpretive art. This form of art can be a too much for a child, which teeters on scary, bizarre, or just down right unnerving. Nevertheless, this is a museum worth seeing and a visit to the gift shop for unique items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Easy and Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

As previous reviews mention, it is a smaller museum so its not that difficult to get through in a short period of time. Very cool artwork once inside. Really cool masks and carvings. Plus some of the beaded pieces were amazing. Just thinking of how long it must have taken to make some of those makes my fingers hurt. Just like all of the Smithsonian Museums, the African Art Museum is free so that makes it that much better

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aroutte2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to National Museum of African Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing