We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see in D.C.”
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Small-Group National Mall Walking Tour in Washington DC
Ranked #11 of 443 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must see in D.C.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We went on Sunday and the parking was free! It is very powerful for any American to see the historical sights. It is kept very clean and all the free museums are steps away. Wear your walking shoes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Layla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,918
    1,211
    350
    98
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What is not excellent about this Mall.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Every visit, I come here. I walk from one end to the other; last time I also walked back. There is so much history here, so many memories being made. So much to relearn. I often feel cheated by living so far away from all of our grounding history in this country. So I soak up as much as possible when I hit the East Coast.

Friendly people, friendly and informative police officers, building workers, suits, and locals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Busy P[ace”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When I was there it was a really busy place with people. It was a nice to walk the Mall and to see the capital on the at was nice. You hear the sirens when the President leaves the White House. It a nice place to reflex watch history you know. You can also watch people there. It is very nice too....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scuba132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakota Dunes, SD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking.....”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The National Mall was breathtaking. From the Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol, we walked the entire length of the Mall during our stay in Washington. It was beautiful and gave us such an amazing view of the city. It was easy to access the museums and Smithsonian Institutions from our vantage point of the Mall as well. Thinking about all of the movies made featuring footage from both ends of the Mall made it all the more fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Under Consruction”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Mall was under construction everywhere! The turf was being repaired and the Reflection Pool was empty. To just be there and remembering all the marches and protest that happened here made it worthwhile.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing