We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Presidents" section was the draw.”

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.75*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley and Monuments by Moonlight...
Ranked #16 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors can view the portraits of all the U.S. presidents.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
360 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“"The Presidents" section was the draw.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I didn't visit any other parts of this Smithsonian, but the half hour I spent in the Presidents section was well worth the trip. I learned a lot about some of the presidents that I was less familiar with and that the second portrait of George Washington that was never finished was better than the well known first.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DougTMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,770
    581
    87
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I enjoyed my time in the National Portrait Museum. Its definitely worth a trip. I almost missed it because I was trying to see a lot in one day but Im so happy to have gone!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Show on AMERICAN cool”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What an amazing show they had on American Cool with amazing American icons of music and movies. A must see! Plus they had some other great exhibits as well. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An often overlooked museum gem”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I love, love the National Portrait Gallery! Inclusive of permanent and feature exhibits, this museum subtly conveys our American history through art and also cements the value of portraiture in our artistic wisdom. One benefit of this gallery, too, is its hours. It is often open later than the traditional Smithsonian Row spots so is a nice end-of-day option with other museums and galleries are closed. Especially if one is in town on business and misses the day time events, heading here for an hour or two end-of-day offers a cultural treat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lee , new jersey
Level Contributor
584 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Go to a great museum in DC.....”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful architecturally. So interesting, especially the temporary exhibits. Well air-conditioned with no cost, only contributions if desired. Main hallways have rooms lateral to them holding the exhibits. Make sure you see the Presidents.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing