We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most inspiring event.”

U.S. Marines Sunset Parade
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A most inspiring event.”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

A beautiful thing to do on a summer evening. And its inspiring! Makes you proud to be an American.

Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    20
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as spectacular as I was expecting - seating logistics could be better”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Now don't get me wrong - this was pretty good but there were some issues. The tickets said be seated by 7:30 and the parade didn't start until after 9 - so all in all we sat on bleachers (they are padded thank goodness) for over 3 hours on the hot DC evening.

Once the parade gets started the marines are great, the two bands are really good, and the overall ceremony is very nice.

The best part for me is when the enlisted marines come into the stands and introduce themselves, and tell the crowd about the barracks at 8&i. If these guys and gals are representative of America's youth we're in pretty good hands! If you get there early and get the top row of the bleachers you can sit back against the fence which is a little more comfortable, and the higher you are in the bleachers the better your view.
If you’re there in the summer (I think that’s the only time they do these) wear comfortable clothing cause you’re sweat – bleachers are packed tight and it’s hot.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank RockyRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is one of those "off the beaten path" things to do around DC. Very cool. The silent Marine Drill Team was awesome! Don't miss this!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Oimaronap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great free event at the Iwo Jima memorial”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Sunset parades are held Tuesday evenings in the Summer at the Iwo Jima memorial in Arlington. The U.S. Marine Drum and Bugle Corps and the Silent Drill Platoon perform. The program lasts about an hour and one couldn't feel more patriotic by the end. Shuttle buses run from nearby Arlington National Cemetery. The closet metro station is probably Roslyn but that is still a good walk. Get there early and enjoy a picnic before the show. Seating is on the grass unless you are an invited guest. It is a wonderful event in an amazing setting. I highly recommend it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rwethereyet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
Level 6 Contributor
766 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences you'll have in DC”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

If you're in DC between Memorial Day and Labor Day, head over to the Iwo Jima Memorial on Tuesday evenings for the Sunset Parade. Be sure to get there early, especially if you are on a bus. We try to get there around 5:30 p.m. so that we don't have to walk so far between bus parking and the memorial. We brought a picnic dinner and cookies for our group. There are a wall of port-a-potties available. We all just took a seat on the grass, took some photos with the Marines, and sat back to enjoy incredible performances by the Marine Marching Band and the Silent Drill Team! Impressive!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Marines Sunset Parade also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Marines Sunset Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing