We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mediterranean food, very pleasant atmoshpere”
Review of Cafe 8

Cafe 8
Ranked #1,469 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean food, very pleasant atmoshpere”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have eaten at Café 8 several times. They serve good Mediterranean food. That includes nice Greek and Turkish dishes and drinks. Love the spicy olive oil and bread served at every table. Can't stop eating it! Interesting Turkish versions of food wrapped in dough. Service usually good. The drinks are very well prepared. Prices are reasonable for Barracks Row (SE 8th Street) in DC. Very pleasant and quiet little outside eating area in the back patio. Sidewalk seating in the front.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite place on Barracks Row”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We live near Barracks Row and always find ourselves coming back here. We love Turkish food in general and have found Cafe 8 to offer consistently good food and good service. Cafe 8 also never seems quite as overwhelmingly crowded as some other nearby spots get on the weekends (unless they are having a private party,) and the outdoor seating is a big plus!

We typically go for the meze (appetizers), especially the spreads- the cacik (yogurt and cucumber spread) is the best I've ever had at any Turkish restaurant. Pair the spreads with the amazing pide (bread) served warm to the table and that's pretty much all I need to be happy at a Turkish restaurant!

My dining partner has also enjoyed the various meat dishes (beyti, adana, kofte, etc.) that he has tried there. The pomegranate juice that they serve tastes just like what we've had in Turkey (slightly different than American POM- a must-try if you like pomegranate!) There is no ayran (yogurt-based drink) on the menu but they did offer to make some for us, which was a very nice offer. Our only disappointment with the food at Cafe 8 has been with the baklava we tried, so we usually skip dessert there. We were told they bring in the baklava from Gulluoglu in New York, but it didn't taste super fresh to us (then again, we tend to be baklava snobs). Overall, however, we consider ourselves lucky to live within walking distance of such good Turkish food. We love bringing our out-of-town guests here too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julia7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. Family owned restaurant.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I have been going to Cafe 8 for several years now. We absolutely LOVE this place not only because it has great food and a good happy hour but also because we are always welcome with our dogs. We believe in supporting local businesses in our neighborhood and Cafe 8 is not only owned by the family but it is also run by them. Every time we go we are usually welcomed by either the son of the owner or one of the nieces or nephews that work there (they always have a smile on their face and ask us how are we doing). The best things on the menu are the turkish plates (with tabouleh, dolmades and other delicious things) as well as the pizzas (my husband really enjoys the turkish pizza). The prices are reasonable and the patio is very nice during the summer. I would highly recommend this place for anyone that wants to have a good time with family or friends (including doggies) and enjoy great turkish food and good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Was a little disappointed”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Went here with several co-workers and was anticipating some flavorful, unique foods but my lunch lacked any real taste distinction. The saving grace were the spreads: cucumber, red pepper, sun-dried tomato - these, along with the fresh hot bread, were actually sufficient enough for a lunch meal. Very, very tasty. As for the lunch entrees, my sandwich was kind of greasy, heavy and with barely any tomato or lettuce. The side sauce was zesty so that sparked it up a bit. My companion's food had mixed reviews and the vegetable sides were bland, bland bland. The interior is nice, the service was nice and there's an outdoor patio which looks lovely for a summer day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great, healthy find”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were luck to rent a house on Capitol Hill within walking distance of this neighborhood eatery. The service was kind and generous, if novice. The food was very good, and would be a place I would return to often when in the neighborhood. It was also very affordable for an intown DC restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank revkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 8 also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Cafe 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing