We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This is an amazing hotel. The people who work there are some of the nicest that I have ever met! When you first walk in it is air conditioned, which is great, because D.C. can get pretty hot in the summer (when I stayed.) By mistake, we chose a room that wouldn't fit with our party of people, so when we asked for another room, they said it was no problem, and got us another room within 30 minutes. If you are in D.C. for site seeing, this is the perfect hotel. It is very close to the White House and finding transportation is very easy from the hotel. The food was amazing, I had the steak, and they were very quick when we needed to leave early and order room service. This is a great hotel, and I will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Get a highfloored room for less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reviewcrazy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your glowing review on The St.Regis, Washington D.C. We are delighted that your family retreat was successful. We are fortunate to have a fantastic culinary team lead by Executive Chef Andrew Roche that produces the some of the best cuisine in Washington, D.C. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    232
    128
    39
    22
See reviews for
268
350
72
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We came to DC from South Carolina over spring break with our two teenage children. The St. Regis was an even bigger attraction than the Declaration of Independance. The service is terrific, the hotel beautiful and the location unbeatable. The entire staff is professional, discreet, helpful and extremely friendly. This is one of the best run hotels we have ever stayed in. Congratulations to the GM and her team for an excellent job!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livewell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review on regarding your recent stay at The St. Regis Washington D.C. We are fortunate to have associates that are professional, discreet, warm, and gracious. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel was overall very good. The concierge as well as front desk receptionists were very helpful and kind. The bellman as well as the doormen also went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We have stayed at other high end properties in D.C (such as the Ritzs) and this one has the best location for sightseeing. However, I must critique several aspects of the hotel. I think it may have been the time that we were checking in at (as many people were checking in at around 5PM) but the receptionists seemed somewhat disorganized- we were handed another guest's welcome. Mind you, they were very kind; however, a third receptionist might have been needed to better serve all the guests checking in. I just thought this should have been a bit more smooth. Also, paying for a higher category room is well worth the $40. We started off in a deluxe room that had a tiny bathroom with very little sink room, a very small closet by the TV, and very little room between the bed and the TV area. We then asked for a larger room, which was much better. It had 2 sinks with a large counter area, a spacious seating area, and plenty of closet space. So worth the $40 extra a night! I also think the turn down service was a bit bare, perhaps slippers and bed mats should be included. Overall though, an excellent stay and I would stay here again while visiting the D.C area!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that we have earned your loyalty. Please e-mail me at ammar.samad@stregis.com and I will ensure that your preferences are executed each time you visit our hotel. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis. Our rooms were wonderfully appointed and the service was delightful. Leslie, in the concierage, handled all our questions and reservations, and she did a great job. They are welcoming toward children, and have a nice room service menu. The decor is elegant and tasteful. This hotel is a true gem, and we will return on future DC vacations and business trips.

Room Tip: If you need a tub, be sure to let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted that all your expectations were exceeded by Leslie from our Concierge Desk and The St.Regis Washington, D.C. Team.
We are honored that we have earned your family’s loyalty and we look forward to your return visit very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the St. Regis. The concierge did a great job of getting us into some terrific restaurants. The location, if you want to be near the White House, is great.
The room was nice, but I found it a bit dated and dark. I asked for a room with a tub and the only room with a tub was pretty small. Our reservation had been for a premier deluxe, which I had changed to a grand deluxe. Although it was deluxe, I would not call it grand. But it was quiet and comfortable and we did not spend much time in the room. Plus because of the holiday we got a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay at The St.Regis Washington D.C. We are fortunate to have a terrific concierge team that delivers uncompromised services. Please e-mail me directly at ammar.samad@st.regis.com and we will ensure that we add additional lighting for your future visits.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

It is not often that you can stay at one of the finest hotels in the city and at the same time feel completely at home with your spouse and children. The hotel is great - perfectly located near the white house and several great restaurants but more impressive is the level of service at every position. We were treated like royalty and our kids loved it. Exceptional service does not even begin to describe the experience. One of the best surprises was the great selection for children on the room service menu - huge plus. We would highly recommend the hotel and look forward to returning again in the future.

Room Tip: 3 time guest - all rooms great - ask at checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMSOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback! We are delighted that you and your family were treated like royalty. The St.Regis Washington, D.C. team prides itself on delivering remarkable and memorable experiences to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We travel extensively through the US and around the world and we must say that the St .Regis in Washington DC has absolutely, hands down, the most accommodating and attentive staff we have ever come across - from the valet, to front desk staff to butler and director. The attentiveness was complete, down to the most minute details. We felt like royalty. The atmosphere and decor certainly fit in with posh Washington DC expectations, mixed with Old World charm. No wonder it is rated the best hotel in Washinton DC by Traveler magazine. Its a well deserved distinction!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a fabulous review about our hotel. Our team is honored to be recognized in the 2011 Travel + Leisure Magazine Top 500 Hotels in the World. We look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Washington, D.C. very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing