We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls let you be close friends with the guests next door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #22 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Checked out of the St. Regis Wash DC this morning after a two night stay that was absolutely ruined by partiers in the room next door to me for both nights from 1:30 to 4 am. They were (I think) twenty-somethings who attended a wedding and were having a great time at the literal expense ($259/night for me) of all the other guests on the floor. Their music, singing and load conversation wasn't muffled much by the very thin walls -- my primary complaint about this place. I will credit the hotel for promptly responding to my 3 am distress call on night two to end the party, but restful sleep was impossible at that point, despite the comfortable bed.

My anger returned today when I checked-out and the front-desk never even asked me how my stay was ....I even thought they might have a record of my complaint since it's supposedly such a great hotel...all I got was "keep that billing on your Visa card, sir?" Yeah, I'm happy to be paying 600+ bucks to be kept awake for two nights in your beautiful 5-star hotel. By the way I added, the ceiling light is out in the bathroom of my room...I thought maybe your housekeeping staff would have caught that since it was very dark in the bathroom..."thanks, I'll make a note of that."

Oh well, just know every visit isn't great. Hopefully I'm in the minority.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_travels08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

The information certainly allows us to respond and ultimately improve our service. We are very sorry to have disappointed you. I would like speak to you at your earliest convenience. I may be reached at 202.638.2626 or via e-mail at ammar.samad@stregis.com.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

At the St. Regis they treat you like a family member coming home. The only thing more beautiful then the hotel itself is the staff at the hotel. They will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. After coming here for a few years, I have never made a request that they could not fulfill.
The hotel is great for Business or a lovely vacation and the location can not be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjeopardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are honored by your distinction as the finest hotel. Our wonderful staff compliment our beautiful hotel very nicely. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great location in the heart of DC, exceptional service, excellent brunch, excellent wine, and unbelieveable attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdfghjkl28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington, D.C. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This is a DC landmark with all the things you need in a hotel.
The room and service were great. The staff friendly and helpful. The business center n the basement has 24 hour access with room key. The showers are big but no bath in my room.
if you are on lobby level, the toilets are downstairs ... getting there and back in a side trip in itself.

I had an interesting experience in the bar. I arrived late from the Westcoast and needed to relax and have a small meal. On check in they told me that the bar and restaurant closed at 11pm - 20 minutes. I deposited my belongings and headed downstairs to an ornate bar area. I asked the bar tender to recommend a glass of red - Stags Leap Cabernet - this was fine but the most expensive glass on the list at $26 (always a little test I think). I took it. The wine by the glass list of well thought out with a about ten varieties: Malbec, Pinot, Bordeaux, CdRh, Cabernet, Merlot etc.

I asked for the bar menu and was told the kitchen closed soon. It a truncated menu with no soup. I asked whether the soup from the restaurant was available - without asking the kitchen the answer was no. Ok, I selected the Nicoise salad ($17). it arrived in reasonable time. The salad itself was well done, however, the fish was extremely salty and dense. I ate the salad and left the most of the fish.

I had ordered a glass of CdRh (bargain at $13) and sat engaging the scene. In that regard DC has its own people watching stuff. There's always an older guy with a young possibly enhanced debutant, people just doing business and guys getting plastered alone or better in a group trying to become ugly Americans. One such group organized itself along the bar sequentially as I was settling and managed to re-arrange the seating under the lubrication of something Veuve Cliquotesque. I moved twice, in the spirit of conviviality and to be a good chap. Their conversation was trending vernacular - hoops, Obama, Osama, Spitzer, DC call girls ... food. It was after 11pm ... they were offered food, no problem (the bar menu often approximates the room service menu for the graveyard shift). They asked for soup and were provided with it from the restaurant menu by the master of service. This somewhat embarrassed the bar tender who gave me a gratis extra half serve from the dregs of the CdRh and several water refills. One of the group also had the Nicoise salad and complained about the salty fish ... another tripped over a lounge on the way back from the toilet and partially landed on the possibly enhanced debutante.

Meanwhile at the bar, Tennessee Williams introduced Thomas Hardy and they contemplated Soup and Salad. I went to bed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience. I would like to speak to you about your experience in our bar. I may be reached at 202.638.2626 or via e-mail ammar.samad@stregis.com. One again thank you for your feedback which will ultimately allows us to improve the service we provide to our guests.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My wife and I have visited twice in the last year. From the start Ertug the front desk manager took AMAZING care of us. from our platinum upgrade suite, so we could hv the extra room for the baby he already had the crib in the room upon arrival. which was amazing after being in the car for 10 hours. 2nd time was just a date night for wife and I again another suite.massage therapist already in the room with the dozen roses ordered. looking forward to next weekend for our anniversary it has become our thing to get a date night away from the baby order amazing room service and I believe we have started a great tradition. Its started with Ertug and that first experiance..

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanBrcohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience of the St. Regis Washington, D.C.

We are honored to be the location of a very special family tradition. We are very fortunate to have associates such Ertug Ersoy our Front Desk Manager that creates memorable experiences for our guests. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Everyone in the hotel were just superb. Service is top notch. Location is just 2 blocks from the White House. Room was huge. I was so impressed with the front desk (Mr Linnemann did a fine job). The hotel management should be extremely proud of their team.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding the superb treatment you experienced. We are fortunate to have associates such as Daniel that ensure our guests receive superior customer service. We look forward to your return visit very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My family and I spent our Easter vacation this year at the St. Regis in Washington, D.C.
The facilities were exceptional and first class all the way.

The front desk manager, Ertug Ersoy, and Concierge, Leslie Valtin, and Leila, could not have been more accommodating and gracious during our stay, they all went above and beyond to make sure my family and I had a wonderful time.

As a family, we enjoy dining out and have been to many first class restaurants - their recommendations of restaurants were terrific and we were not dissapointed!

Thank you again for making our trip a memorable one and we cannot wait to go back!

Hank & Annie Rovillard

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStreetDC, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Mr. Mrs. Rovillard,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review. We are delighted that your family had an unforgettable vacation. We are very fortunate to have Ertug, Lida, and Leslie, that deliver uncompromising service to all our guests. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the St. Regis Washington, D.C. soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
1,200 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
1,865 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £286 - £859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing