We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great rooms but overpriced”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the St. Regis for a few days while spending a long weekend in DC. The hotel has a great location, just two blocks north of the White House, and just a few minutes away from the Mall, the monuments, and museums. There are a lot of great (and expensive) restaurants in the area, but not as much to do at night than if you stayed in an area like Georgetown. There are bars and clubs within walking distance to this hotel, but I've seen more nightlife during my previous visits to DC, when i stayed in the Georgetown area.

I booked a room for $400 a night and was a little disappointed by what I got for my money. The room was well furnished but very small. The room was furnished with a king sized bed in the middle of the room. Along each side of the bed was a night stand. In one corner of the room was a work desk, on the opposite wall was a cabinet containing a large flat screen TV. Along the wall at the foot of the bed were two chairs. With the bed taking up the majority of the room and all the furniture up against the walls there wasn't enough room in some places for two people to squeeze by each other. The room did have a large bathroom, with marble countertops and twin vanities, and a very large mirror. The best part of the mirror was that you could watch TV (using a small part of the mirror not the whole thing) while you got ready in the morning. I found it very useful as I watched the news (traffic, weather forecasts, etc) as I was shaving. There is a large shower that is recessed into a wall, which had a transparent glass door. The glass door does not go all the way to the ceiling so the heat from the shower has plenty of room to escape so it doesn't fog up. One of the most useful items I found in the room was the full length mirror in the walkway, so you can do one last check before you head out the door. I wish more hotels incorporated this into their rooms.

There is a bar and restaurant, called Adour, in the lobby of the hotel. But prices for entrees at the restaurant were over $40, you could get a better deal and better prices at restaurants around the block. I never ate at the restaurant but it appeared that everyone inside was dressed up in at least a suit. In the basement they have a gym, conference rooms, and a ball room.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. One evening they saw me taking pictures of the area and provided recommendations of nearby sites with lighting to assist with my photographs. They always had someone at the door of the lobby to greet you with a smile.

I enjoyed my stay at the St. Regis and would come back again, but overall I don't think I got the value for my money. There are other better hotels that charge the same price, just a block away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiver399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience and will return. Our rates do vary depending on the length of stay and the day you are arriving. We do offer special packages which you may enjoy. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    233
    128
    41
    22
See reviews for
271
353
72
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel while in DC on business. It was conveniently located close the the Farragut West metro station and near the White House. The room was very comfortable, clean, and decorated well. I liked the spacious shower and TV in the mirror of the bathroom. However, I was dissapointed at the fitness factility. It did not fit a large size, luxury hotel. Whenever I went to use the treadmills, they were always taken (there were only 2). The room did not include the basic staple of a free weight rack and a bench, which is standard in any hotel facility and does not take up much room. The room did have one of those cable contraptions that allowed for some use if weights. Even though there was not a lot of equipment, it took up the entire room, so there was also no room to stretch. (You can have access to a better facility....for a fee of $15 per day.) The room was very nice and the staff was very professional and helpful, but I will be staying elsewhere on my next trip to DC. This is a great hotel if you aren't interested in working out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ-Charleston-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are always exploring opportunities to improve our fitness facilities. In the mean time I would like to speak to you in person and offer you some options which may better support your fitness needs. I may be reached at ammar.samad@stregis.com or at 202.638.2626. I look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here once before a couple of years ago and weren't really impressed considering the expense of staying here, but I must say that the current St. Regis has really changed my mind.

We arrived on a Saturday with the requisite wedding reception in full swing and even with all of the extra people to attend to, the staff was easily on top of everything. The hotel had plenty of extra people on had at the door and in the lobby at all times to assist with arrival/departure luggage, etc.

As is becoming standard in all hotels these days, the room wasn't ready when we arrived. A claimed 15 min wait turned into a couple of hours in the bar waiting for the promised cell phone call to alert us our room was available. We never did get the promised call, as also seems to be common hotel practice these days, however, the bar staff was gracious enough to check on it for us and let us know it was available.

The bar is itself cozy and elegant. A great place to hang out for a quick drink or two. The drinks are top-notch, and well-prepared. I'm always impressed when a bar takes the care to have a decent rye on hand to mix a proper manhattan rather than having to resort to bourbon. A detail perhaps, but again, one that has not been overlooked in the desire to provide exceptional service to its patrons.

Tried the signature Ardour bubbles and pearls as well, but the cointreau pearls don't really add much. Save the extra $4 and just get the prosecco if you're into bubbles. You won't be disappointed.

Our suite was generously sized and elegantly appointed as you would expect form a hotel of this category. The suites came with the St. Regis butler service to help you with everything you need from a quick press to get the wrinkles out of your clothes before dinner to bringing you a much needed coffee service - all included with the cost of the room. While we didn't need a lot of attention since we were only in town for dinner, the butler took care of all of our needs quickly and efficiently. Thanks!

With the exception of the missing call, the rest of the service throughout the entire stay was first rate, and no detail or desire was too small to be attended to. This is the way a 5-star hotel should be run and we look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Splurge and book one of the suites with the butler service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a first rate experience. We look forward to your next visit very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked 2 nights using Starwood points and as usual the St Regis provided an excellent place to stay for the weekend. The rooms are clean and luxurious. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant. The walls are relatively thick so the room feels more private. We splurged on room service for breakfast this time which was not as pricey as I feared. Will definitely want to do that again next time. Only one complaint --- the cable tv doesn't want to display the local NBC station. A very courteous engineer tried to fix it and said the error would be corrected later in the day "at the provider". I think the same thing happened last time we stayed here and in neither case was it fixed. So don't plan to watch the "Today Show", but otherwise I highly recommend the St Regis.

Room Tip: Starwood rooms seem to be the ones on the courtyard --- no view, but there's also less traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that we have earned your loyalty. We escalated the television issues to our cable provider and the issues are resolved. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next visit very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

How can I sum it up? It's the St. Regis, so expectations are bound to be high. The value is mostly in the location --> Just a block away from the Whitehouse and the surrounding National Mall area, it ends up being the bulk of what you're paying for (and of course, the St. Regis brand). The common areas are a comfortable blend of elegant and modern. We tried out and enjoyed both the bar and restaurant. The superior King Room is what I considered to be an average good-quality hotel room. Nothing out of the ordinary, but nothing to really complain about either. Loved the electric mirror in the bathroom; Hated having a shower drain right smack in the middle of the shower. Service requests were taken care of promptly and with the expected courtesy, but we were kept waiting 45 minutes past check-in time. Minor flaws aside, it was an experience that met expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very fortunate to be located steps away from the White House. We are delighted to know that our hotel met all your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,546 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The St. Regis D.C. really is the place to stay if you want it old-school, 5* Luxury.

The location, just 1 1/2 blocks from White House, 5 blocks from Convention Center, with lots of fantastic restaurants around and even one in-house, is superb!

The building what you expect of a St. Regis, the room (upgrade due to SPG Platinum membership) huge, traditional, newly renovated with a fantastic marble bathroom & huge shower...

The service (Concierge, Reception...) is St. Regis at its best. We loved the breakfast which is prepared freshly upon order (no kept warm buffet style breakfast), especially the Oatmeal & the Eggs Florentine on Crab Cake... 5* plus!

We got a good rate at slightly above $ 500 all-in/night including a $ 80 credit for breakfast.

If I would have to name some minors:
1.) the room is a bit on the dark side
2.) no mirror in the shower for shaving
3.) the cosmetic mirror is without light

All-in-all, a 5* plus experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are proud to have one of the best Concierge Teams. We are delighted that you enjoyed both our hotel and our signature restaurant Adour. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I am a loyal Starwood member and I have experienced already quite a few hotels on my business trips. However the St. Regis D.C. was simply the best. On my arrival the check in process was very smooth and personal. The bell staff was adding up to the already superb service provided by the Front Desk. I was given a room with inner view with a beautiful appointed bathroom. It seemed as the hotel had just renovated since the furniture seemed very new! I had a wonderful stay and will keep staying at the St. Regis with each return to DC!!!
I will definitely recommend the hotel to all of my friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaAlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for
taking the time your wonderful review. We are very fortunate to have a team that delivers superb personalized services to our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,096 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing