We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #22 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight Getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the St. Regis. The hotel is beautiful; in a perfect location for seeing the DC sights, replete with an excellent, attending staff. The highlight of our stay was the very educational and witty history and heritage tour of the hotel by Alex Gruhin, the hotel's cultural attache, delivered every Friday at 5pm. Don't miss the champagne sabering at 6 pm each night; very dramatic and delicious!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarylandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service you received from members of our “excellent” staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in Washington D.C. I also appreciate your kind words regarding Alex Gruhin, the esteemed Cultural Attaché of our property and the curator of the St. Regis guest experience. I am glad that Alex’s history and heritage tour, “The Pursuit of a Legacy,” was “the highlight of [your] stay.” Alex’s tour is open to the public and offered on Thursdays and Fridays at 5:00 PM (depending on his schedule) and it culminates with the “dramatic and delicious” St. Regis ritual sabering of a bottle of champagne. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    232
    128
    39
    22
See reviews for
268
350
72
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The St. Regis in DC is one my favorite places to stay. LOVE the atmosphere, it is close to every thing, and has the best service. I am a huge fan of their bedding and the water pressure. These amenities make staying there truly luxurious.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you love our atmosphere, benefit from our superb location two blocks north of the White House and enjoy the service you receive from members of our staff. We are proud to have the “best service” of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I am also glad that you enjoy the bedding and water pressure in our “luxurious” guestrooms. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My family stayed at the Washington DC St. Regis this past weekend and I have to say that it was absolutely phenomenal! The hotel is majestic and perfectly reflects the splendor of DC. The service and the attention to the finest details are what set this hotel apart from the rest of the competition. Everything -- from the welcome gift in our suite to the meticulous turndown service every night and room service -- was executed flawlessly. I was so impressed that I will be staying there again in May when I return to DC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our “absolutely phenomenal” stay at the “majestic” St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service you received from members of our team, whose “attention to the finest details” does indeed set our “hotel apart from the rest of the competition.” I am also glad that you enjoyed our “flawlessly” executed turndown service and meals provided through private dining. I look forward to your return to our property in May!

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After a horrific stay in another DC hotel St. Regis was a very welcome oasis. Staff has obviously undergone serious training for sophisticated guest interaction. Turndown service was nice (upon return from a crazy day at the office, the radio is on, tuned to classical music, with bottled water on nightstand). Wish my room had had a bathtub, but didn't expect it due to age of hotel. Highly recommended if you want an effortless stay in DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-side (outward facing) room or else you'll be staring down at an HVAC system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Single_Digit_Seat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your experience at the “oasis” that is the St. Regis Washington D.C. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from members of our team, all of whom are trained for “sophisticated guest interaction.” We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.

Best Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location and hotel was magnificent. The customer service was stupendous. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty each and every day. The staff was the friendliest, most cordial staff I have ever encountered. I am a world wide traveler and I was formerly a Four Seasons fan for their customer service, however the St. Regis Staff is superior to the Four Seasons. The St. Regis has the best staff anywhere in the world.
From J.F. the concierge (Best in the business), to the doormen, front desk, bartenders and everyone in between....I salute, commend, and thank you.
I will always stay at the St. Regis when I am in D.C. I will also recommend this hotel to all my business associates and friends.
This is the first survey I have ever submitted in 33 years of business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the “magnificent” St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the “stupendous” service that you received from members of our team that “went above and beyond the call of duty each and every day.” I especially appreciate your kind words regarding our doormen, front desk agents, bartenders and JF Dupont, our esteemed Chef Concierge. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My first time staying at the St. Regis in DC was exquisite. They have an extremely dedicated team that helps with anything and everything you need, from running to open the door to bringing you Advil in the morning in under 5 minutes. I've stayed at a few other hotels in the area and none compare to the St. Regis. Beautiful hotel, convenient location, friendly and attentive staff; what more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your “exquisite” first stay at the St. Regis Washington D.C. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from members of our “extremely dedicated team.” We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Can't say enough good things about the St. Regis in DC. From the complimentary upgrade to a corner suite to the impeccable service at the bar, all was outstanding. Also appreciated getting 3 newspapers delivered each morning! Really looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langdon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the St. Regis Washington D.C. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the “impeccable service” that you received from members of our team. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.

Warm Regards,
Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing