We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good, but not warm service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location, good, but not warm service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the St. Regis over the Memorial Day weekend. We could not have asked for a better location - it was convenient to every place we wanted to visit. It is a nice, older hotel - the lobby, especially the ceilings, were beautiful. Our room - a deluxe king was small, as was the bathroom. It was fine for two nights, but we wouldn't have wanted to spend much longer than a couple nights in that room. The bed was really comfortable - very nice bed linens! The information about the hotel mentioned butlers - we didn't interact with a butler while we were there - perhaps that was a service for guests in suites. The staff we encountered did their jobs - the staff was competent and efficient, but not particularly warm and hospitable. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel bar and breakfast in the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your experience at our property. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our great location in the heart of the city, two blocks north of the White House, as well as our “beautiful” lobby and the “really comfortable” bed in your guestroom. Please know that your feedback regarding certain aspects of our product and service is absolutely being investigated and any outstanding issues will be resolved in due course. I hope that I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    229
    125
    38
    22
See reviews for
267
349
71
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's more of a good 4 than a true 5 star.The lobby is impressive but the rooms are just ok.Plus points are very comfy bed,seriously strong shower and Artic air con,but not enough plug points and no tea/coffee facilities in the room.It is very convenient for all the major tourist sites,the metro is a two minutes walk away as is the nearest bike pick up point(easy to use and a tourist must)
If your looking for a good central location it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the St. Regis Washington DC! Please know that I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding certain aspects of our product and that all outstanding issues will be resolved in due course. I look forward to your return to our property.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
216 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Once you get past the lobby, it's a pretty tired hotel. For a businessperson the rooms leave a lot to be desired. For 1 King @ $376.71/night, one might expect a hot water heater, perhaps with a tea or coffee bag. The desk was tiny, a straight back wooden chair without arms, corded phones and not enough plugs. The smallish bathroom was similarly deficient, e.g. Small washbowl and counter

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our property. Please know that your constructive feedback regarding certain aspects of our product and service is being investigated and all outstanding issues will be resolved in due course. Thank you very much for bringing this information my attention. I hope that I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent four nights in May on the American Express Fine Hotel program. Loved the hotel and the location. The staff and facilities were outstanding. So was the food. We were not upgraded because the hotel was too full. Our room on the 7th floor was terrific and quiet. Breakfasts were particularly delightful because of the dining room and the wait staff. Unfortunately, however, the hotel's accounting at check out leaves a lot to be desired. First the hotel failed to accurately account for the benefits under the AMEX program until I discovered the error. Then they credited our account for just under a hundred dollars. A day later I learned that the hotel made another mistake and overcharged our AMEX account just over $1,200. After a few phone calls that error was corrected. I should not have needed to scrutinize the billing to that degree.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington DC! I look forward to your return to our property.

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the St. Regis for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend. This was our first stay at a St. Regis, so I was anxious to compare it to other upscale hotels. So, I'm pleased to report that the hotel more than held it's own against the competition. When we arrived, our room wasn't quite ready, so we were led into the bar area and given complimentary wine and snacks. I don't know if I've ever seen that before. Then we were part of a small group that was given a one hour historical tour of the hotel by Alex Grouhin, the hotel's Culteral Attaché. What a nice tour, full of fun facts and really interesting stories (and corny jokes) from the incomparable Alex.....another unique touch. Our room was wonderful, with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had. The hotels location was superb....just two blocks north of the White House. All in all, we had a great stay at an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our “superb” location, “two blocks north of the White House” and “wonderful” guestroom with its “most comfortable” bed. I also appreciate your kind words regarding our esteemed Cultural Attaché Alex Gruhin, the curator of the St. Regis Washington D.C. guest experience. I am glad that “the incomparable” Alex’s history tour of the property exceeded your expectations. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Everything was great. We arrived early but the reception was nice enough to accomodate us (and then even accommodated us again after I asked for a different room than the first one we were offered facing the construction across the street). Our second room view was a bit lacking, it had an interior view of some half-built possibly dilapidated buildings, but it was quiet and well-appointed. I appreciated the evening turn down service too-- a great touch. They even put ice in the ice bucket for you.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. Very close to K Street and a great view of the White House. The front desk staff was very polite and welcoming and the doorman/porter Jose was great. We didn't use the free access to Mint but instead just used the gym in the hotel. It wasn't pretty (no wonder they give you the Mint option) but it was enough to get a good workout in.

Finally, I cannot say enough good things about the bartender in the lobby bar, Jane. She is the essence of professionalism! She's been in the business for years and it shows in quality. Her drinks are spectacular and she carries herself with such grace, it was a pleasure to just chat with her. It sounds like hyperbole, but she made the whole experience feel more luxurious. Our second night, we actually went down to the Hay Adams to get a drink at their famed bar. After walking through it and seeing it was full of loud wedding partiers eating pizza at all the tables, we walked right out and came back to see Jane. We're already planning on staying there again on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRBToTheE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were excited to stay at the St. Regis in Washington because we knew it was one of the nicest hotels in the city and was told that the service and staff were fantastic. From the first moment we stepped into the hotel to register, our expectations were met. Due to a situation in which we needed a big room for one night, the front desk manager John Gilligan surprised us by upgrading us and letting us stay in the larger room for our whole stay. What a great surprise and a great way to start off the trip. The rooms were immaculate, the bed was amazing and the staff was about the most courteous we've had. We would definitely recommend and return to the St. Regis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn and Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your “immaculate” guestroom with its “amazing” bed, as well as the service that you received from members of our “most courteous” staff, especially our Front Desk Manager John Gilligan. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing