We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Hotel near the White House and Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Classic Hotel near the White House and Restaurants”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel two years in a row now during my travels, It is elegant has great service and it is small dog friendly too. It is within walking distance of the White House and local restaurants. Clean elegant rooms. The restaurant is excellent and the bar makes great classic drinks such as their famous Bloody Mary.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view some rooms face office buildings and dont offer a decent view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your "elegant" guestroom and our "excellent" restaurant and bar. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    236
    129
    44
    22
See reviews for
276
360
74
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upon arrival, a mad man yelling about no hot water. There was a sheet on the desk that explained about it. While we had occasional glitches, the food in the restaurant was excellent, the room clean, the bed comfortable, the concierge fantastic in his assistance. Certainly a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had a Metropolitan Suite, excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VowRenewalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you had an excellent stay at our hotel and in our restaurant, Decanter. I am also glad that you enjoyed the service that you received from the concierge team. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Overall this is a very nice hotel. The rooms are beautiful and clean. It was a quiet and peaceful hotel in a great location with very attentive staff. Our first evening there, however, we got incorrect directions to the Washington Monument from one of the workers. The next day, though, I got wonderful help with navigation and metro questions from another worker. I thought the bed was really hard in our room. The view out the window was awful. We were grateful, though, for being able to rent a nice stroller during our stay. We also appreciated our room being tidied, and liked having higher quality toiletries. I felt this hotel was better for people on business trips. It didn't feel like a family place. We felt very out of place having our infant son with us. Obviously this is a very fancy hotel, and fancy people are the ones who fit in best here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your "beautiful and clean" guestroom and the service that you received from our "very attentive staff." We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation's capital. Please know that I appreciate your constructive feedback and any outstanding issues will be resolved in due course. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the St. Regis and we enjoyed it as much as our first visit. Hanna at the front desk is so friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our same room and added a roll away bed for one of our kids. We were too late to eat lunch in the restaurant so we ate in the bar. They were very accommodating with our food allergies & we really enjoyed the parmesan truffle fries! We have stayed in a room on the 2nd floor and it is very bright and quiet. When we arrived "home" after dinner they had left a beautiful treat in the room which we greatly appreciated. All in all, this is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location with outstanding service. The St. Regis is our new "go to" DC hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, location and the "outstanding" service that you received from our members of our staff and especially from Hanna at the front desk. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation's capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful hotel and location
We enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Great staff and service,food, but disappointed with the turn down service the last two
nights which I brought to the front desk manager.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your experience at the "beautiful" St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from our "great staff." We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation's capital. Please know that I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding certain aspects of your stay and any outstanding issues will be resolved in due course. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently stayed at the St. Regis for quick business trip. It's very close to my client's office and within a short distance from great restaurants and attractions. Every need was catered to. I had forgotten my toiletries kit - the concierge kindly sent a nice collection up to my room. I was craving late night cookies and milk - delivered quickly to my room. Breakfast was delivered promptly at 7am. Great experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your "great" experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the service that you received from our members of our staff and especially the concierge team. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation's capital. I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bottom line up front: Excitement, access and pampering are just three reasons to stay at the St Regis on your next trip to Washington. The wife and I just celebrated our anniversary there the weekend of June 14, 2014. We're accustomed to elegant five star properties so when I say the suites at Regis are next to none, I say so with no hesitation. Whether dining in the Decanter Restaurant (French-influenced MedStyle cuisine) or having casual conversation over drinks, The Regis allows guests to enjoy five-star service in the comfortable elegance of an historical hotel, all the while basking in the subtle atmosphere of power that imbues Washington. Service starts with dedicated staff and The Regis boasts a marvelous global staff. Please say hello to Jane and Tien at the Decanter bar and lounge (both from Vietnam); shake hands with Matthew (Cambodia), Christian (France), and Reda (Morroco) serving the lobby. Martha (Romania) will assist in your dining and Orcun and Kerem (both from Turkey) will attend to your every whim. Of course the good ole USA is represented - Andrew at the Decanter and James greeting you with a welcoming smile at the front door. Our accommodations for the weekend were quite comfortable as we enjoyed the sumptuous Metropolitan Suite with its personal Butler Donna and 24 hour room service. If you like clean, our suite was meticulous. The bathroom was expansive as was the shower (room for 4, although we didn't test this theory!). And the bed somehow whispers your name.... an oh so comfortable mattress. Conveniently located at 16th & K, your stay at the Regis literally puts you less than 10 minutes walking to the White House, METRO, tour buses and quite close to a range of restaurants including McCormick & Schmicks' (half block away on K), PJ Clarke's (across the street), Coast (14th & K), Cosi's (14th & K) and South Beach's Joe's Stone Crab (15th & H), For the children there's a Pizza Fuel Kitchen between McCormick's and the Starbucks at 16th & K and a Pot Belly on K between Vermont Ave and 15th Street. Or just dine on property. I can practically guarantee you won't have any issues the staff cannot resolve at the Regis but if by chance you do, please talk to Orcun or get in touch with "The Man" Ammar Samad, Director of Rooms. Would I recommend Regis to a friend? Absolutely! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuyEuros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSt20006, Manager at The St. Regis Washington, D.C., responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience at the St. Regis Washington D.C.! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your “second-to-none” and "sumptuous" suite as well as the service that you received from members of our “five-star” staff. We are proud to have the best staff of any hotel in the nation’s capital. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our “delicious” restaurant “Decanter.” I look forward to your return to your home away from home, the St. Regis Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,

Ammar Samad
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,260 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,137 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Washington, D.C.

Property: The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
Address: 923 16th and K Streets, N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006 (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Washington, D.C. 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Washington, D.C. luxury hotel boasts the impeccable location and grandeur of The St. Regis Washington, D.C. Hotel. It is no wonder that every American President has stayed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Washington, d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
St Regis Washington Dc
Washington Dc St Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing