We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but an average apartment.”
Review of The Lansburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lansburgh
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location, but an average apartment.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I didn't have the luxury of staying in one of the renovated apartments. I loved the high ceilings and windows but the carpet, kitchen, and bathroom were really outdated. Definitely find out if you're staying in an older or renovated apartment when you book. I wasn't at all inspired to cook while I was here. But that was fine because there are so many nice restaurants in the area. I tried just about all of them while I was there!

The outside rooms are a bit noisier just like others mentioned. Sirens and garbage trucks were really loud on the side I was on. There is also a restaurant next door and every night, especially on weekends, you can here them throwing away bottles into the dumpster. Freaked me out the first time I heard it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RATCHELL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a great place to stay for long-term furnished apartments. I always stay here when I am in town for business because they take government per diem. The apartments used to be just average. But, they have recently renovated and now the apartments are furnished with granite, stainless steel appliances, and beautiful bathrooms. The beds are comfortable and the sheets are so nice I tried to figure out the brand to buy my own. There is a washer and dryer, cable with HBO and Showtime (including On Demand), and cleaning service once a week. The place is in the heart of Chinatown. You are two blocks from the metro and can walk to the Mall. There are so many restaurants and bars that you couldn't possibly hit them all in a week. There is 24 hour concierge service and parking. I love staying at this place. The only reason I gave this place four stars, rather than five, is because I always seem to have to seek out answers or assistance. It seems that it always takes an email our two with the leasing office before you receive an answer or confirmation. But, if you don't mind being a little persistent, this is definitely the place to stay for long-term furnished stays in D.C.

Room Tip: If you are staying on government per diem, you can usually get a two bedroom if you want the extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTINTC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We like the Lansburgh so much we're going from a short term furnished rental to one their unfurnished ones. A great location and the convenience of a pool you can swim laps in and a good workout gym. My favorite part of staying here (other than the view and convenience) is the concierge team and the staff. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and accommodating. And any problems in the apartment are taken care of immediately--amazing really! We highly recommend The Lansburgh!

Room Tip: E street views are great but noisier, I think. 8th St seems like it would be quieter. And of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MjAWashington_D_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA area
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just finished another stay in a two bed, two bath apartment at the Lansburgh and we used Marriott Execustay again for this booking. The building has all the same features we enjoyed so much when we stayed in 2008; it's clean, conveniently located, and there is 24 hour security as well as a wonderful concierge team. Quite a few of the apartments have been renovated and some are under renovation at this time. We had one of the "old" apartments, which I expect is on the list for renovation. It was perfectly comfortable and usable, but if you want a recently-updated apartment you probably need to specify that. We had to request some very minor repairs and the building maintenance team took care of things very promptly and courteously.

As the other reviewer noted, the inside units are way quieter than the outside units. We did specify a unit on the courtyard side and it was quiet. There is some sound from the renovations, but surprisingly little and it didn't bother us at all. Having said that if you will be home in the day you might want to specify that you want to be placed away from an apartment undergoing renovation.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your needs and what you want when discussing the apartments with Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at the Lansburg for several months towards the end of 2010 while I was in DC on a temporary assisgnment. It is a wonderful location for those that want to be in the heart of DC. The units are well maintained and nicely furnished. ADDITIONALLY, temporary short-term stays are often available. I would highly recomend checking out this facility prior to one of the pricey hotels in the area as the ammenities and extra space make this well worth it. Nicely located between the National Archives and Potrait Gallery, it is a safe and great area day or night. Parking is also available -- a big plus. Metro stops are a block away. Fitness Center and pool along with a lovely courtyard add to the benefits!

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter area of the complex... The interior units are facing the courtyard and better fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA area
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We rented a condo through Marriott Extended Stay. The rental process was very easy and the staff very professional. The staff at the Lansburgh are very pleasant and reliable and the security is good. The location really can't be beat; you can walk to lots of places and it is a couple of short blocks to two Metro stations. The condo was very spacious and clean and appointed with just about everything you need to set up housekeeping. Our unit had great A/C. There is a pool and a gym in the building and a central couryard with benches. The garage is quite expensive but if you are a Marriott client you get a much-reduced rate. There are no close groceries and one needs to drive or take a cab to shop. There is, however, a nice farmer's market nearby Thursday afternoons during the warmer months and there is a CVS and a Bed Bath and Beyond. If you don't want to cook there are plenty of restaurants and sandwich shops. Two movie theatres are within walking distance. There is considerable street noise from E and 7th but the A/C fan helps even out the sounds. The condo was not the lowest cost of the condos we considered, but we considered it the best value given the location and the amenities.

  • Liked — comfort and location
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrudyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#119 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansburgh

Property: The Lansburgh
Address: 425 8th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-2110
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lansburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lansburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing