We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Washington sunset!”
Review of Segs in the City

Segs in the City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Taste of DC Segway Tour
Ranked #19 of 145 Tours in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segs in the City is the premium Segway Tour operator in Washington DC. We offer 1 hour, 1.5 hour and 2 hour and 2.5 hour Segway tours of the Capitol, Monuments on the Mall. Whitehouse, Embassies and Cathedral. Segs in the City is the first segway tour operator in DC. We offer professional personal service, knowledgeable tour guides, personal listening devices and limit group sizes to ensure maximum customer attention.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best way to see Washington sunset!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

cameron gave us a wonderful 2hr tour of Washington's main attractions in the evening. Too fun, a great amily outing, even our two teenage sons enjoyed! Best way to cover a lor of ground and visit some of the highlights. Cameron kept us in line, entertained and safe the whole way. Best kept secret Segs rates are really great and they located right off the mall, in the Ronald Reagan building. Highly reccomended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    36
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see the capital”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

There is always a challenge with Segway tours. I have done these tours on other cities and dealing with motorists/pedestrians is a challenge. Especially in a city like DC, you need to be well led. The Segs in the City team did a wonderful job for my family. We had a wednesday afternoon tour and our tour guide was Kara. she ensured that we never ran into any troubles. She was very informative about the sites, answered our questions, and added her own flavor onto the tour. The Segways are a great way to see the city. I would definitely recommend to others. Make sure to bring some water and your sunscreen!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour, great experience, Segway's are fun!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a great way to see the wonderful sites in Washington DC. The tour was an hour and a half and we covered a lot of ground which meant we were able to stop at lots of sites. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and I enjoyed every minute of it! I would highly recommend using this tour company. :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denali103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the city”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Riding a Segway was fun. I did the 1.5hr tour and it was ok (a very quick zip past some main sites).
Biggest disappointment was that despite what the website still currently states, this tour does not stop at Jefferson memorial - unfortunately this was my main reason for booking this tour. When questioned about this I was told 'we don't have time to stop there and we haven't stopped there for a long time'. There was possibly an apology, but nothing to write home about.
So obviously their website needs updating as it also lists them as still being at 1100 Penn Ave, which they're not, they moved to 1300 'some time ago' (walk down past Aria restaurant and head downstairs).
I would recommend hiring a bike instead as it's cheaper; or do the trolley tour which gives you more for less cost.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SITCity, Manager at Segs in the City, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments regarding our service. Having investigated the issues that you mention it appears that your reservation was made over 6 months before the tour, during which time we have changed our tour and location. As was explained to you on the day there have been additional barriers put up at the Jefferson that prevent us from stopping at it in the time frame of a 90 minute tour so now we have to ride by and only pause for pictures. And indeed you are correct we moved locations on May 1 and changed our website accordingly. We are sorry that this caused you any frustration, but we hope you had a great time anyway just as you said you did when we asked you the day of the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just average....very rushed tour”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sunday June 8th 2014 I decided to take a Segway tour in Washington DC. A quick search showed me several possibilities and Segs in the City looked like the best tour in town. But to be honest, it was a bit of a disappointment. The tour was scheduled to leave at 10 AM, but due to a late arrival, we left at 10.50 AM !!! The tour was quite rushed, there were almost no possibilities to stop, look around and take some pictures (only at the Capitol we were "awarded" a few minutes). The Washington Monument we only saw from quite distance away, while the site stated we would visit it.

Normally, the tour would return at 12.00, so you would imaging that since we left 50 minutes late, we would be back at 12.50. That was not the case, we returned at 12.15. So, in my humble opinion, the tour was 35 minutes short.

A shame, could have been quite a nice tour, but due to the rushed feeling and all the attention the guide had to give to a Latina mom we was not quite able to stand still on her Segway, i really didn't feel I got value of money at Segs in the City.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennisj2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SITCity, Manager at Segs in the City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review regarding the tour on June 8th. We welcome feedback and are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our service. Please understand that while we aim to give the best possible service available, we do believe that customer safety is our highest priority.

Like all other Segway tours in DC our published tour time includes training, so it is a misunderstanding to believe that the tour time commences when the group leaves the training area. However, unlike other tour companies that require you to watch a video and spend 30 minutes training, our training consists of live explanations, demonstrations and personal attention and practice. In most instances training takes 15 about minutes, but for the safety of everyone, we do not leave until all participants are feeling comfortable – sometimes this can take up to 30 minutes. Nevertheless, what we do guarantee is that you will spend the maximum tour time available actually riding the segway.

We understand that on this occasion one of the guests was also late, with public tours it is difficult to get everyone here by the stated time. We ask everyone to be here at least 15 minutes ahead of the tour start time, if they are running late, particularly if they are having trouble finding us or parking, we do try to accommodate them when they arrive. As a result on your tour, we held the tour and then ran the tour overtime by 15 minutes to accommodate this late arrival.

Furthermore I believe you stated you wanted to visit the Washington Monument on the tour, the Washington Monument is listed as a highlight of the tour, not an actual destination. In Washington DC the movements of segways are strictly controlled by the various policing authorities and unfortunately we are not able to vary the route to get any closer to the Monument.

Dennis we appreciate that it can be a little frustrating on a public tour when there are different levels of rider skill and different interests, that is why we introduced private independent rentals and private tours. May be one of these would be more suitable next time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segs in the City also viewed

 

Been to Segs in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing