We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardozo Guest House
Ranked #11 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This place is amazing considering the money you can save staying here instead of a hotel. I also love the neighborhood & that it exposed us to a residential area of DC. It's close to the train stop, bars/clubs, and brunch spots. I would love to return to this area again. As for the house itself, you really do hear EVERYTHING that goes on. I would be afraid to have sex here. Seriously, couples, keep that in consideration. It was pretty clean when we went. I guess it just depends on who the other guests are.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

This property is beautiful, impeccably clean, and visually even more delightful than the photos reflect - it's warm and wonderful. The grounds are lush and great, it's in a perfect location for walking or for catching the Metro (really, couldn't be better) and the price is fantastic. BUT, there are some buts. Two major ones:
1. The rooms are connected by a single panel wooden door which means everything from whispers to passed gas is heard from room to room with virtually no obstruction of sound. It was the least privacy I've ever had in my life, apart from just sharing a room with others, which is essentially what we were doing. Any attempt at conversation will be heard word-for-word by the person next door, and good luck if you go to bed earlier or rise later than they do; you're in it together, you and that stranger. In addition, there was a window above the door to our room that was uncovered when we checked in, allowing anyone on the stairs to look directly in -- a fact that was only realized when I was changing my clothes and looked up to make ACTUAL EYE CONTACT with another guest walking down the stairs, now looking directly at me in the buff.
2. The no-host bit made for some very strange things, most notably: No one was there to govern the place to keep it feeling like a B&B rather than like a dormitory without an RA. When we arrived there were no other guests present, but there were open suitcases on the floor in the lobby/living room, a purse and wallet on the dining room table, boots in random hallways, and the door to our neighboring room WIDE open with the bed unmade, underpants strewn about, and and exploded suitcase on the floor. It stayed that way for the entire first day. The next day? More random personal items strewn all over the house and kitchen. It felt like we had rented a room in a house where the other rooms were occupied by actual residents, rather than feeling like we had rented a room in a B&B. We felt equally like intruders on their space and bothered by the other guests (residents?) intrusions upon us.
Beautiful room? Yes. Marvelously clean rooms and bathrooms? Indeed. Totally uncomfortable setup? Completely. Romantic stay for a DC getaway weekend? Nope.
My advice? If you can book all the rooms in this place as a group, this would be an INCREDIBLE location and home to inhabit together and use as your home base. If, however, you'll just be renting A room, prepare yourself to have to love the ones you're with. ...

Room Tip: Seemed like maybe the top floor was one entire room? If so, I'd go for that. Avoid booking on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful BnB. We went to DC Mother's Day weekend n stayed at the Cardozo House for 2 nights. Bedroom on the second floor was spacious n comfortable. Had to share the bath at the end of the hall with another guest. Not a problem. Mary, the housekeeper was a gem. Sorry we didn't get to meet the owners. They are not there full time. No breakfast but Star Bucks is right around the corner up the block. Reserve the parking spot behind the house. Well worth the money. Seems u have to move your car if you park out front often. Best way to get to DC from there is the Metro train into Union Station then take the Trolley. Best way to see n get around DC. They have drop off/pick up points through out DC. Would definitely stay at the Cardozo House again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed in Cardozo Guesthouse for 2 nights. First of all potential guest must understand that this is more of a rent apartment experience, not a B&B or hotel experience. There is no reception, or host at the house and there is no breakfast. When we arrived, we found the key at the locker attached to the iron gate, then we found the key to our room on the table at the corridor. The room we booked ( Hingham) was beautiful and very clean. Bathroom was shared with 2 other rooms, also very nice and clean. We never saw other guests, but we heard somebody walking on the floor above us.Our room was equipped with a fridge,coffee machine with nice coffee selection, and hair dryer. There was no TV in the room. Sitting area near the window was very nice and cozy.
Location of the guesthouse is great. Metro station is very close, and it takes only few stations to the main attractions of the city. We even walked down to the White house from Cardozo and it did not take long time. Area around the house is very quiet both at day time and night time. Area near the metro station is more lively, with many young people partying in numerous bars during night time.

Room Tip: We recommend Hingham
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were visiting our son who lives nearby and were disappointed there wasn't a hotel within walking distance. This guesthouse was perfect for us. We stayed in the king bedroom on the third floor, with private bath. Clean, comfortable, beautiful bathroom - everything we needed. We will definitely recommend to friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiveholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just spent 3 nights in this English basement apartment in a lively area of DC. It was perfect: clean, nicely furnished with a usable kitchen and within walking distance of the National Mall and all the museums. We appreciated being able to park our car off the street.The price was extremely reasonable for this city. We enjoyed cooking two dinners here, including a meal for a guest, but there are several terrific restaurants as well as a whole foods within a reasonable walk. The bed was nice and firm so we slept well. We appreciated the small washer and dryer and provided laundry soap, since we only brought carry-on bags with a few outfits for a 10-day trip. The detailed emailed directions made it easy to find the parking place and get the key for our apartment from the upper part of the building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The location of the Guesthouse was convenient to the Metro, but the neighborhood area was quite dirty with garbage/trash very evident. Noisy in the evenings, but I had read this in other reviews. It did not disturb us that much. We were on the 3rd floor, so quite a walk up but the room was spacious. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was a bit rundown. Broken and poorly patched granite tiles. The shower rod did not have a spring and fell down on us 3 times. I finally had to call the management company to contact the owner to replace it so as not to injury my elderly mother. When it was replaced it still had the very large sticker on it from when it was purchased. There is no breakfast as mentioned, and the next time I travel I will not stay in a Bed and "Breakfast" without that offering. The pictures of the rooms on the website show a fireplace, however, the fireplaces are boarded up and not usable. The living areas were decent and nicely decorated, but the use of the kitchen was questionable. Dirty dishes in sink, no ice in the icemaker as it had owner frozen food shoved in there. All in all a decent place to sleep but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cryan526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,057 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Columbia Heights
Otis Place Bed and Breakfast
Otis Place Bed and Breakfast
#24 of 35 in Washington DC
16 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Guest House

Address: 13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: £34 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple and comfortable, the Cardozo Guest House may be the perfect accommodation for your stay in Washington. This Guest House offers four guest rooms or a small studio apartment. Three guest rooms are located on the second floor and share a hall bath. The fourth guest room on the third floor has a private Jacuzzi bath. The Studio apartment is garden or English basement level with a private entrance. The Guest House is two blocks from the Green Line U. Street/Cardozo Metro station. Many restaurants, shops and evening entertainment options are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing