We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardozo Guest House
Ranked #12 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“Excellent location, excellent price”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I've stayed here several times. If you don't mind a shared bath, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal in D.C. (There's a room with its own bath, but I haven't stayed in that one.) Great location, easy Metro access (on same Metro line as National airport), clean and comfortable.

Some reviews commented on noise from other guests. I've never had a problem with that, but I reserve the small bedroom that shares a wall only with the bathroom (and I'm not particularly sensitive to noise).

Bed & Breakfast D.C.is great to deal with for this house and the other properties they book -- very helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarabTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    59
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
54
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I went to DC for a 2 night anniversary get-away. We stumbled on this place after finding all our hotel options were expensive or had scary reviews. I am glad the other options were so bad as it led us to the Cardozo Guest House and our stay could not have been better. The guest house is nicely decorated, clean, and in a great location. They send you very detailed instructions prior to arrival and the house is easy to find following their directions. We stayed in the Norwell (the upstairs suite) and loved the spacious room and beautiful bathroom. I am not sure I'd be comfortable sharing a bathroom with strangers so if you are like me I'd recommend the Norwell. The variety of K-cups provided (a coffee machine is in the room) and mini-fridge were very nice touches that made our stay more comfortable. Though we mostly stayed in our room while in the house, the house is very clean and the high ceilings throughout were georgous.

I don't think anyone else was staying here while we were so I can't comment on how noisy it would get but the Norwell is on the top floor and so we felt like it was nicely secluded. We did see the housekeeper, Mary, both days we were there. She is very friendly and does a great job keeping the house in shape.

The location can't be beat- lots of restaurants and shops nearby and a couple blocks to the metro. We went to the 9;30 club for a concert and walked there and back. The neighborhood a few blocks over is a little sketchy only late at night but the street of the guesthouse seems safe. We did park our car at the house and there are 2 spots (you reserve one prior to arrival if you want one) that would be tight with a larger car. We were very happy to park our car on arrival and not have to move it until we left.

All in all this is a great find and also a great value! I would recommend the Norwell (or I believe there is an efficiency in the basement) if you prefer a lot of privacy. I hope to stay here on future trips to DC!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty_mountain_hop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This house was gorgeous, with a perfect location for me to see the sights of washington without once needing to go on the metro. The walk to the tourist locations was scattered with restaurants and coffee shops and everything you would need for a stay! The house itself was clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom which remained clean throughout the stay (even though it was shared)! Check in instructions were very clear and helpful and it was so cheap!!! I was surprised when I arrived to find the house was even nicer than the photos described! The housekeeper was lovely and they allowed us to keep our baggage in the house because our flights were not till later in the evening! If you want a chilled stay in washington this is the place to go! I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This place is amazing considering the money you can save staying here instead of a hotel. I also love the neighborhood & that it exposed us to a residential area of DC. It's close to the train stop, bars/clubs, and brunch spots. I would love to return to this area again. As for the house itself, you really do hear EVERYTHING that goes on. I would be afraid to have sex here. Seriously, couples, keep that in consideration. It was pretty clean when we went. I guess it just depends on who the other guests are.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This property is beautiful, impeccably clean, and visually even more delightful than the photos reflect - it's warm and wonderful. The grounds are lush and great, it's in a perfect location for walking or for catching the Metro (really, couldn't be better) and the price is fantastic. BUT, there are some buts. Two major ones:
1. The rooms are connected by a single panel wooden door which means everything from whispers to passed gas is heard from room to room with virtually no obstruction of sound. It was the least privacy I've ever had in my life, apart from just sharing a room with others, which is essentially what we were doing. Any attempt at conversation will be heard word-for-word by the person next door, and good luck if you go to bed earlier or rise later than they do; you're in it together, you and that stranger. In addition, there was a window above the door to our room that was uncovered when we checked in, allowing anyone on the stairs to look directly in -- a fact that was only realized when I was changing my clothes and looked up to make ACTUAL EYE CONTACT with another guest walking down the stairs, now looking directly at me in the buff.
2. The no-host bit made for some very strange things, most notably: No one was there to govern the place to keep it feeling like a B&B rather than like a dormitory without an RA. When we arrived there were no other guests present, but there were open suitcases on the floor in the lobby/living room, a purse and wallet on the dining room table, boots in random hallways, and the door to our neighboring room WIDE open with the bed unmade, underpants strewn about, and and exploded suitcase on the floor. It stayed that way for the entire first day. The next day? More random personal items strewn all over the house and kitchen. It felt like we had rented a room in a house where the other rooms were occupied by actual residents, rather than feeling like we had rented a room in a B&B. We felt equally like intruders on their space and bothered by the other guests (residents?) intrusions upon us.
Beautiful room? Yes. Marvelously clean rooms and bathrooms? Indeed. Totally uncomfortable setup? Completely. Romantic stay for a DC getaway weekend? Nope.
My advice? If you can book all the rooms in this place as a group, this would be an INCREDIBLE location and home to inhabit together and use as your home base. If, however, you'll just be renting A room, prepare yourself to have to love the ones you're with. ...

Room Tip: Seemed like maybe the top floor was one entire room? If so, I'd go for that. Avoid booking on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful BnB. We went to DC Mother's Day weekend n stayed at the Cardozo House for 2 nights. Bedroom on the second floor was spacious n comfortable. Had to share the bath at the end of the hall with another guest. Not a problem. Mary, the housekeeper was a gem. Sorry we didn't get to meet the owners. They are not there full time. No breakfast but Star Bucks is right around the corner up the block. Reserve the parking spot behind the house. Well worth the money. Seems u have to move your car if you park out front often. Best way to get to DC from there is the Metro train into Union Station then take the Trolley. Best way to see n get around DC. They have drop off/pick up points through out DC. Would definitely stay at the Cardozo House again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed in Cardozo Guesthouse for 2 nights. First of all potential guest must understand that this is more of a rent apartment experience, not a B&B or hotel experience. There is no reception, or host at the house and there is no breakfast. When we arrived, we found the key at the locker attached to the iron gate, then we found the key to our room on the table at the corridor. The room we booked ( Hingham) was beautiful and very clean. Bathroom was shared with 2 other rooms, also very nice and clean. We never saw other guests, but we heard somebody walking on the floor above us.Our room was equipped with a fridge,coffee machine with nice coffee selection, and hair dryer. There was no TV in the room. Sitting area near the window was very nice and cozy.
Location of the guesthouse is great. Metro station is very close, and it takes only few stations to the main attractions of the city. We even walked down to the White house from Cardozo and it did not take long time. Area around the house is very quiet both at day time and night time. Area near the metro station is more lively, with many young people partying in numerous bars during night time.

Room Tip: We recommend Hingham
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,565 reviews
Columbia Heights
Otis Place Bed and Breakfast
Otis Place Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 35 in Washington DC
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Akwaaba DC
Akwaaba DC
#4 of 35 in Washington DC
460 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
635 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kalorama Guest House
Kalorama Guest House
#10 of 35 in Washington DC
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardozo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardozo Guest House

Property: Cardozo Guest House
Address: 13th and T. Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple and comfortable, the Cardozo Guest House may be the perfect accommodation for your stay in Washington. This Guest House offers four guest rooms or a small studio apartment. Three guest rooms are located on the second floor and share a hall bath. The fourth guest room on the third floor has a private Jacuzzi bath. The Studio apartment is garden or English basement level with a private entrance. The Guest House is two blocks from the Green Line U. Street/Cardozo Metro station. Many restaurants, shops and evening entertainment options are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing