We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dupont Circle B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Dupont South
Ranked #32 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in the Queen Ann room normally $115/night increase to $345/night due to the Presidential Inauguration. To be honest, $115 is rather high for the room itself; however, the location and service is worth the higher value.

Location:
- DuPont Circle is one of the more popular locations to stay within D.C.
- Located within steps of the Dupont Circle Metro station. This becomes priceless during the winter season
- Panera, Jamba Juice, Krispy Kreme, Baja Fresh, Cosi, Buffalo Billards and Levante are all right outside of the Inn. That is not including all the dining options in and around Dupont Circle.

Breakfast:
- Hot freshly cooked rotating breakfast: eggs (any way), omelette, chicken sausage, bacon, pancakes, biscuits, orange juice, cranberry juice, fruit, etc.
- Decorated breakfast nook, sun patio, outdoor garden or room service options
- A to-go breakfast option of juice, muffin and banana for early departers
- Assortment of oatmeal/cereal, beverages and dessert available all day

Decor:
- Eclectic charm with guest comfort priority
- The location is a converted home, so not as polished as the others
- No elevator, so keep in mind when packing
- Stairs are EXTREMELY noisy and the exterior walls are thin. I slept fine, but was worried about other guests when coming in late up the stairs.

The owner Carol really endears the guest. She is exceptionally warm. She is not happy unless her guests are happy. Her and the staff are the charm of this location. For the regular rate, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 and 7 share a bath. Room 5 is exceptionally small.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Dupont South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Overall our stay was a right between poor and average, but since there isn't a 2.5, I rated them 3. I was very excited to stay at this B&B, but unfortunately it was not what I had pictured with regard to service. The B&B itself is very conveniently located, right off Dupont circle, and does have the decorative charm of a typical B&B, HOWEVER, the overall experience was not what you would expect when you stay at a B&B. Pretty building and all, you go to a B&B for the service. First of all, the breakfast was not hot..it was a continental breakfast, an assortment of breads, fruit and cereals. The only eggs on the table were cold hard- boiled. Additionally, the parking situation is horrible if you are planning to stay M-F as you can't park on the street and the B&B only has two spots, which we learned even if you reserve one you may not get it as they may overbook it. What upset us most was no one informed the spot was occupied until we asked to park in it....a warning would've been nice. Also, good luck trying to get in touch with anyone before 9am on Saturday or Sunday...no one even answers the phone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gbdecoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The folks are nice at the Inn at DuPont Circle but a few upgrades are in order. They're minor things: The front doorknob needs to be replaced; nobody should have to memorize a system to open a door. Same with the bathroom door latch on the fourth floor. Breakfast was nice and they'll make eggs any way you want but all in all the meals and house itself were nothing spectacular. If TripAdvisor had 3.5 stars as an option that'd be about right. The location is excellent. One tip though: The DuPont Circle Metro station's south entrance is closed -- under construction until late 2012. Not a big deal and obviously not the B&B's fault; it just means you need to go through DuPont Circle itself to get to the Metro. There are plenty of restaurants and a couple of cool independent bookstores in the neighborhood too.

Room Tip: I was in the Queen Anne Room (#5) and it was fine but again nothing memorable. I saved $$$ by sharin...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDTomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a well run and friendly b&b. Staff are nice and breakfast is better than what you usually get in a similar establishment. I stayed in the nook room as I was in a budget but I would recommend not staying in this room as it won't suit everyone. I was prepared for the size, but the bed was uncomfortable and the room was noisy and there was a strong draft from the window. I still enjoyed my stay and would stay again but in a better room.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in "The Nook"- was definately small, as expected by the description, but perfect for my needs. Was very comfortable, and clean! The first thing that you notice when you come here is the lovey rock garden out front, followed by the parlor. In the morning I was completely surprised to wake up to the smell of bacon- I went downstairs to a choice of cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes, chiorzo, and Carolyn's made-to-order omlettes! Then I ate in the lovely sunporch and felt like I was in Europe sipping my very yummy coffee. I would definately stay here again and would recommend!! I think part of what made this place particularly special, besides being very close to the Metro & a 24 hour CVS, was the staff... was truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: Hmmm... well, the Nook was very small- good for the value, and it's a shared bathroom- but it wa...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I travel to DC 7-8x a year and often stay at the Inn. It is a very affordable option with a great location - just a block south of DuPont Circle.

Overall, the rooms are quite nice. However, some of them do not have decent-sized desks - a bit of issue for business visitors.

Breakfast is very good with an assortment of muffins, eggs, pancakes, yogurt etc. The lemonade and cookies served in the summer is a nice touch at the end of a hot DC day.

Service is friendly and excellent. Carolyn, the manager, is a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have been staying at this B+B for several years now every time I visit DC for work. The rates are very reasonable, rooms very comfortable, excellent service, the location incredibly safe and convenient, and the breakfast is fantastic. I usually stay in the Garden Loft because it is away from other guest rooms and more quiet. However I have stayed in other rooms and enjoyed my stays there too.

A continental breakfast is available for early risers (coffee, great tea selection, cereals, oatmeal, etc.) but once staff arrive in the morning (usually earlier than 8:00am) hot breakfast options (omeletts, pancakes, sausage) along with fruit salad, fresh bread, cheese, smoked salmon, and more is available. Also, cookies or dessert is available in the afternoon/evenings.

The staff here are always friendly and very helpful. I really cannot say enough good things about this B+B!

Room Tip: The Garden Loft is small for a couple, but a great option if traveling alone as it is away from othe...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Oakwood At The Flats At Dupont
Oakwood At The Flats At Dupont
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
1 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
121 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,191 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
361 reviews
Dupont Circle
Tabard Inn
Tabard Inn
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dupont South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dupont South

Address: 1312 19th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1602
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: £96 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Dupont South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an 1885 Victorian townhouse, formerly owned by astrologer Jeane Dixon, the Inn is an elegant and comfortable bed and breakfast inn located in Washington DC, 1/2 block from the Metro and walking distance to restaurants, shops, art galleries, and museums. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast, served in our dining room, desserts and beverages in the evening. Rooms have cable TVs, telephones with answering machines, mini-refrigerators and robes and amenities, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing