We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wasn't horrible, but...”
Review of Notti Bianche

Notti Bianche
Ranked #666 of 3,666 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: H Street, NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro Stop (blue and orange lines)
Description: Our enchanting Italian restaurant, Notti Bianche is a destination in its own right. Revel in gourmet Italian dishes and savor the relaxed atmosphere of this classic eatery. With just 42 seats and a world-class wine list, the dining room is warm, romantic, and always inviting. With a convenient location close to the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, We invite you to enjoy a delicious prix-fixe dinner, or dine al fresco on the outdoor patio. We also offer breakfast and happy hour deals.Guests may also park their vehicles for only $20 while they attend their event, so make your reservations today
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Everything was okay but nothing was special. We went before a Kennedy Center show and they did keep things moving so we wouldn't be late, but there was a lack of attention to detail.

We ordered olives and never got them. We ordered bruschetta for four and the server, said it was small so we might want two. One was enough... we had been upsold. The tomatoes for the bruschetta had clearly come directly from the fridge to our table... it was ice cold, not room temperature, and needed seasoning. There was an enormous tomato in one serving taking up space and again showing a lack of attention to detail.

The servers were friendly enough, but there was nothing "fine dining" about it. They reached across the table to fill glasses, and to serve and remove plates.

The food was OK. The scallops were good but it was a small plate and the gnocchi OK, but it was a huge pile of food. The salmon looked good and the pork chop was fine, but both we overcooked. Thankfully, there was salt and pepper on the table, because everything needed to be seasoned. We decided to pass on dessert because they basically given us any reason to think it would be any better.

The wine was good and reasonably priced and nothing was horrible. It was just that nothing was great. And for $200 for four with tip, we expected better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevincaldwell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We chose this restaurant because of its location and hours of operation. While our food was good, the end of the meal coffee was undrinkable. The service was impersonal and perfunctory and the volume on the sound system was much too loud for an all but empty venue. We had to ask twice to have it lowered. Sweet and sour.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dickson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Manager at Notti Bianche, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Dickson77,

Thank You for your Review! We are thankful for your patronage. We look forward to the next time you dine with us. Please give us a call and ask for Derrick or Thomas when booking so that make up for this experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The atmosphere is nice and cozy. The service was excellent. The food was also delicious! We had the mushroom risotto and the grilled chicken. Both dishes were very good, and the portions were ample. The house wine (red) was a nice compliment to the evening. Even the bread cubes and olive oil/herbs was yummy. No room for dessert!

Thank LauraR3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Manager at Notti Bianche, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Laura R,

Thank You for your Review! We are pleased that we were able to serve you such an excellent experience. We look forward to the next time you dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We had 5:45 reservations before the 7:30 performance at the Kennedy Center, about 10 minutes away. We made the Center with time to spare and enjoyed a fabulous meal. The service was quick and as good as one could expect for a place whose entire first setting has to turn over in 60/70 minutes!
But the food was what really sold us. We ordered three different entrees and each meal was great. I highly recommend this place.

1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Manager at Notti Bianche, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Patricia B,

Thank You for your Review! We are pleased that we were able to serve you such an excellent experience. We look forward to the next time you dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I'm going to admit I'm spoiled from living in Europe.

Walked across the street for a solo dinner; $75 later (sad little dab of burrata, two glasses of wine, and the bolognese) I walked back across the street.

It was packed when I arrived; quite loud. Happy I was solo because no way could I have heard my companion. Service was friendly, albeit spotty, and I would only recommend to the theater crowd as that seems to be the majority of patrons.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HereComesTehBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derrick S, Manager at Notti Bianche, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear HereComesTehBride,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of the feedback that our patrons give and hope that you enjoyed your meal. We are indeed a prime spot for pre-theater dinner due to our location to the Kennedy Center, but also have many regular guests that come later and earlier in the evening that enjoy themselves. Our pricing is very in line with the area and well suited to the cuisine and great wine selection. We do have a great pre-theater menu, which comes at a great price, that all of our guests can take advantage of between 5pm-7pm. Since you are a local, I'm sure you would also be thrilled to know that we have revamped our happy hour menu, allowing for an early and late night happy hour. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Notti Bianche also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Notti Bianche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing