We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sichuan Pavilion

Sichuan Pavilion
Ranked #718 of 3,190 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,086 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Tip: reservation is recommended. Busy.

Pros: delicious Chinese food (normally I don't like it), authentic, very popular among Asians, good for share, nice decor and helpful staff.

We had some different types of dishes: beef, (spicy) shrimp, mushrooms and squid. Everything was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    27
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
260 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Quick service. Tasty food. Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

The interiors are no different from most of the Chinese restaurants in the country. Lanterns, red silk trim and round tables. The food is very good, reasonably priced and served quickly. Portions are large enough to share. Three entrees for a party of five to share is plenty.
The restaurant is always full but a ten minute wait is all it takes since they turn the tables over very quickly.
Frequented by many Chinese people which convinced me that the food was authentic.
Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
368 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Maybe a little too authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was wonderful and the restaurant was chock full of Asians who all seemed to enjoy the food a lot more than I did. The others in my party truly enjoyed the food a lot more than I did. Coming from NYC I guess my tastes might be more Americanized. This food was a bit too spicy for my tastes even when requested to make the dishes mild. I was truly disappointed in the Won Ton soup which had wontons made of very heavy FILO and very little pork. The soup itself was bland. The shrimp dish had very few small gulf shrimp and the orange chicken was touted as a favorite but I found it very doughy. I gave four stars since the others in my party liked the meal. For me it was a high priced Chinese food. Give me some New York style Chinese anytime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This Kung Pao chicken was the best I have ever had and the dry hot pepper chicken (authentic menu) was really good, I have never had that type of chicken before. The vegetable Spring rolls were very crispy. The portions were huge, especially for a Saturday lunch as they didn't have a lunch portion menu.

The service was excellent. The interior was a typical Chinese atmosphere. Note: you can probably share food here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fabulous Dinner with Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We had a grwt time. The foid was exceptional. The staff was attentive. We will all be back as often as possible.

Helpful?
Thank ruckb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Sichuan Pavilion also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Sichuan Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing