We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great, value average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Location great, value average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had business in DC but pleasure was also the purpose of a week's visit to our nation's capital. So we picked the Hotel Geo for its location...right at the foot of the Capitol and short walk to the Mall. It is small enough to feel cozy, which is pleasant when in such a huge city. The service is very good -- acilities fclean, a paper in the morning, Bistro Bis restaurant downstairs with good food, helpful desk. But DC is very expensive and crowded. That colors my reaction to the Hotel -- compared to other Kimpton hotels, the room was small and price high. Be prepared for sticker shock on your restaurant tab and the tax on the room.
But walking and riding bikes in the city is wonderful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the elevator bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorafromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Flora for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I chose this Kimpton because of the location and because they are dog friendly (I was traveling with my big puppy). Aside from the modern amenities, great food at Bistro Bis, and super clean room, the staff is what really made this trip memorable. Everyone was beyond helpful and made us feel as though we were staying with friends. One in particular that stood out was Michael who hosted the happy hour in the lobby. He was awesome and gave us great tips for local restaurants. Another perk - Capitol Hill is quiet on the weekends which made it very nice to stroll around with the dog. Absolutely loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in DC!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Amanda for recognizing the hard work my team puts forth to ensure every guest has a great stay. Comments like the ones you shared makes it all worthwhile. Please let me know when you return so I may welcome you back personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Absolutely an amazing stay! The accommodations were phenomenal, the employees superb! Our every wish was taken care of in minutes. Edgar Padilla, Guest Service Agent was remarkable, I couldn't have hand picked a better more accommodating front desk, Service Agent, from the moment we entered and he greeted us to the morning we left, he took care of anything we asked of him. Edgar was truly a bonus to our stay at Hotel George, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone if you are looking for a great stay in DC- Hotel George is the place. Great location, close to Union Station, fabulous rooms, and an amazing staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chausle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank you Chausle and you are Fabulous for your wonderful comments. Edgar is a Rock Star and we are fortunate to have such a service star on our team. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Generous rooms, great service, excellent location for train and metro. The perfect DC base for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudeauista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Awesome, Sweet, Thank you. Come back soon London when your travels bring you back to D.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed there for two nights, Great Staff, Friendly, helpful go out of their way helpful, Parking is Pricey, Room was big, clean. Location two or tree blocks from Union Station and the METRO, you can walk to the Capital even to the Mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gt1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: We love to hear guests say “Great Staff” and hear about their positive experience at the George. Our parking is competitively priced with other hotels in D.C. and we do offer discounts to hybrid vehicles. Please come back and see us soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here during a business trip and really enjoyed it. Great design in the rooms as well as public areas. The restaurant and bar have very good food and the staff is well trained. If you are traveling with a family, they have adjoining rooms that also serve as a parlor or living room. I tried to stay here during my last trip but it was sold out!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You BuckeyeChef for sharing your great experience at the George. Sorry we were sold out last time but hope you can come back again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

It did not help that due to a mix up we needed to squeeze a family of four into a King Room, the sofa was hastily made up (no doona or blanket for warmth) and breakfast offered for the mistake(which ended up costing us, as the full price of breakfast was debited to our travel card, and then removed in a subsequent transaction costing us in fees and exchange rates). The rooms are ageing and a number of mild imperfections cautioned us about the room, such as dirty sink, yellow stains on shower base, dirty underblanket on bed. Our next major disappointment came with room service, we were told at the restaurant to order room service, but only 1/2 our meal arrived, when questioned about this we were told the kitchen was closed leaving 3 hungry people to devour 1 burger, this was the only time that staff did not work hard at helping our requests, in fact there were times when I almost felt the staff were reading my mind. A big thanks to Edgar Padilla and the others that assisted us, their local advice about Washington made our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
General Manager, Christopher Cannon: Thank You from Way Down Under Melbourne. My apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I appreciate your comment about our excellent staff and hope your return when your travels bring you back to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing