We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lombardy(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
State Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,244)
Filter reviews
2,244 results
Traveller rating
1,453
579
149
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,453
579
149
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbistro bisunion stationcapitol hillwine hourboutique hotelthe corner bakerymini baranimal print robesyoga matwine receptioncomplimentary wineattached restaurantcapital buildingsupreme courthomeless peoplenational mallfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,516 - 1,521 of 2,244 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We arrived by train and after a short walk we were quickly checked in to our room. The staff were really helpful and offered some great advice on what to see and how to get around.
The room was comfortable and a good size but our view was just the windows of other rooms. This meant we had to keep the blinds down for privacy.
The afternoon wine tasting was a great way to meet other travelers and pick up tips for the rest of our holiday.
The restaurant served good breakfasts and dinners.
The interesting bath robes are a nice touch and made for some great photos.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hols4vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: hols4vr, Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My friends and I were in Washington DC in May and stayed at the George. What a great location ! We could walk to everything we needed. The rooms were exceptional, and the beds were unbelieveably comfortable. The staff treated us like they had known us forever ! They were always smiling, and asking if we needed assistance.
My next visit to Washington DC, I know I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy59431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: daisy59431, WOOT WOOT! I'm glad to hear my staff made such a positive impact on your stay. I can assure you that I have passed the kudos along to my Team and we can't wait to create another memorable stay for you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights while visiting Washington D.C. in November, was overall very happy with the room and the amenities (included wifi). The room was large and very modern/trendy, and the bed was super comfortable. However, I found the bathroom to be a bit shabby and worn compared to the rest of the room. The bathroom could definitely use some work, it needs to be updated.

Check in and check out went very smoothly! I was able to check in early which I was definitely happy about.

Overall I would definitely recommend the George, it's a trendy hotel with a good location near to the capital building.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergiotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: viajero26, Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that shabby is definitely not the look we're going for. We are absolutely utilizing your feedback to ensure we keep our hotel looking fresh along with exceptional service. Hope to see you soon on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel has a way of separating itself from the cheap inns that are published with them..find out..and you'll never go wrong.

I liked the distance from them Union station, it's close enough for you not to to worry incase ...The staff were always ready to help with smiles on their faces. The room is spacious and very clean, I personally like the bathroom which is marble all around, and bath things that smells luxurious!! My family enjoyed our stay, and when we come back..it will be The George again!!!!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacobomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Jacobomonkey, sounds like we knocked this one out the park! Thank you for your business and we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

NIce staff, but would not give a rating of more than 3 stars. Had to contact the front desk for amenities, asked for a yoga mat, which was never delivered. Noisy construction nearby. Room was large but the hall and elevator looked tired. Lobby and setting area very nice. I was not impressed.

Location was great for capital Hill, but a hike for the Mall area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Front Office Manager, Michael Robinson: Kathleen L, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced here at Hotel George. Dropping the ball is truly not how we operate here at The George. I would love to turn this experience around and show you how we do operate. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly and I will ensure a flawless stay. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews