We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Our weekend at the george was great. Each time we have been there the experience has been terrific. It is very convenient to Union Station if you are coming in by train. The restaurant has excellent food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: HRA5, thank you for this terrific review! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We appreciate your business and look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    545
    141
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent one night at the George before leaving for NYC. I'm from DC, so I knew about other Kimpton properties in the area, but wasn't familiar with the George. I had heard good things, and the location across from Union Station was perfect. We had an early morning train the next day, and you can't beat that short walk - literally across the street! We did some sightseeing during our day in DC, and made it to the Lincoln Memorial right at dark...when it began to pour. Not being prepared, we walked all the way in the rain to the Metro to get back to the George. Needless to say, that complimentary glass of wine they offered when we arrived was very welcomed :) We had a nice spacious room, and the great hot shower was much appreciated too! We also had found a reasonable rate for the night. We'd definitely stay again if we were headed somewhere on the train.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TooChickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: TooChickens, thank you for the kind review! It was our pleasure welcoming you back to good ol’ DC! Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I travel to DC primarily for business and always stay at the George. I was most recently there the week of inauguration. I expected it to be a madhouse, but the staff at the George had everything totally under control, and went out of their way to make me feel like a VIP. I always stay at Kimpton hotels for the free Wi-Fi and other Kimpton member perks (like wine receptions) but the George has a lot more than just that going for it. Adjacent to a great restaurant (Bistro Bis), walking distance to the Capitol, and very close to Union Station, you really can't go wrong. But what really sets it apart is the staff, who are always helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel like a truly valuable guest in their hotel. It starts with Solomon, the doorman, who is awesome, and goes all the way to the front desk staff, the restaurant staff, and the whole service team. This hotel is run by a truly top notch team.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Victoria B, thank you for this wonderful review! Solomon and the front desk staff are wildly excited to see that you had such a great time during the inauguration. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during that historic moment. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

The restaurant is one of the best in DC and you see some celebrities there. My wife enjoyed the wine reception but I was working. Very convenient location for downtown work. Room was moderate size but needed a new carpet as I understand they will do this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cguffey98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: cguffey98, thank you for this great review! Glad your wife enjoyed our wonderful wine reception! Sorry you missed out on the experience, but this just means you will have to stay with us again! We are looking forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I really want to like this place, but I wouldn't stay there again. The good stuff: a small, private, hotel convenient to the Capital, spacious bathroom with separate shower and tub, great bed, clean, well-maintained, good restaurant downstairs. The bad stuff: Extremely noisy room furnace, a nearby EMT facility that spits out screaming ambulances several times each night, folding doors on the TV cabinet that won't stay open, the restaurant is eye-watering expensive, no other restaurants within an easy walking distance (except a so-so Irish Pub around the block). Actually the nearest food outside the hotel is the food court in Union Station. Stay here if you're on an expense account and can sleep through sirens.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side. I booked directly with the hotel and still got a street-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Dick H, I am very happy to hear that we provided a convenient - well maintained "home away from home" during your recent stay here at The George. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Ok, to be completely fair, it was the wine hour that led me to booking this hotel. With so many hotels in DC to choose from, its the little things like this that really make a difference. Seriously, after a 5 hour plane ride from SF, navigating the metro, and hauling my bags around all day, walking into a lovely wine reception was exactly what I needed. Complete perfection.

Take note, however, wine hour is only served 5-6pm M-F.

Hotel was surprisingly quiet and the BF and I slept like rocks. Great beds, super comfy pillows, cute plush bathrobes, stocked minibar, hot shower, great hairdryer and body products, spacious and clean room = a great weekend stay.

It wasn't until the end of our two nights here that I realized how many amenities the Hotel George actually offers. Besides the dog accommodations (which is awesome), you can rent bikes and even request a vast variety of toiletries (razors, etc) that you may have forgotten. Each room also comes with an umbrella, just in case some pesky rain sneaks up on ya. Nice touch.

Staff was really friendly and helpful as well. Granted, they accidentally charged me twice for my room, however it was straightened out with one short phone call. No problem.

Tip: Join Kimpton rewards program to get free Wifi and $10 to spend at the minibar. Its free and totally worth it.

I would definitely stay here again. Location is also fantastic - a short walk (about a block and half) to Union Station where you can catch the Amtrack or metro. The station also has TONS of food options (no, literally; at least 25+ fast food eateries with a few nicer sit down options). Some food is open later (10 ish) so you can grab some later night eats if you don't feel like digging in your wallet for overpriced room service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Amity S, what can I say? Our wine hour is like no other! Thank you very much for this great review! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us! Thank you once again and we hope to provide you many more outstanding visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed at The George with a friend when we decided it would be better to be downtown at the end of our trip (we had previously been staying in College Park). The George was perfect--spacious rooms, beautiful views, and only two blocks from the Capitol complex. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and unfailingly pleasant--not only did they arrange excellent car service, they were able to hold our luggage both before and after check-in, and upgraded my room for free. This is a hotel that will certainly be getting my business when I return to Washington on business--I only wish I had known about it sooner!

Room Tip: Be sure to use your "Do Not Disturb" hanger--the hotel service is fastidious and will knoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
General Manager, Chris Cannon: Sam G, thank you for this wonderful review! We are very excited to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing