We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with the George. Here are a couple things to be aware of. It is near a major welfare hotel but the homeless are not aggressive and you can walk right by them without a problem.

We got a renovated room which was a good idea. I think we paid $7 to up grade and the room was excellent.

The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. We would recommend the George , the room was v nice and it is in a less crowded neighborhood than the typical N W Washington hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillips3675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Phillips3675,

We are glad you loved our new look (we are pretty excited about it too)! We hope to see you again if business or pleasure brings you back to DC.

Cheers,

Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    545
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
505
636
162
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loami IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel George. We were in one of the newly redecorated rooms. It was beautiful. We had a little more time so we were able to discover and enjoy the workout and steam room. Very nice. Another great stay at the George!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micnmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Hurray Micnmac! Thanks for the fantastic review. We're so glad you enjoyed another great stay. I'm excited you got to check out our renovated rooms, too. So... we'll see you soon?

Kiah
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My mother and I were in town to see the most amazing performer on the planet, Pink, and I saw very good reviews of Hotel George. We were impressed from the second we arrived with the level of customer service we received. Blair at the front desk went above and beyond to make our welcome extra special and personal. We loved our room also. I am glad I took the advice of others' and requested a room that is facing the street so that we had light and a better view. The complimentary wine hour is such a nice gesture to show, we certainly enjoyed it! There isn't a single thing I can think of to nitpick about and I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world. So in my opinion, the people who complain about Hotel George are the ones who are just never satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We remember you, Kelly C! It was a joy to host you and your mom. Thank you for everything, especially the kind words about our critics. I'm sure Pink would be proud. We hope to see you again soon!

Kiah
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Superb service!! Clayton, Michael and all the staff went above and beyond to make our wedding day and stay at Hotel George amazing! Every little detail was graciously thought out and my wife and I are so humbly grateful for all they did for us! Most incredible staff you may ever encounter at a hotel! From the room service to room attendant to the bell man and front desk ladies!! Thank you so much for all you did for us!!!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Congratulations, Samuel T! We had such fun celebrating with you both and are delighted to discover that you enjoyed it, too! There is nothing better than an opportunity to make the best day of a guests' life even better. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

Kiah
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is my first tripadvisor review. Over the years I have utilized reviews to stay at some of the great hotels in the world such as Santa Caterina in Amalfi , Perivolos in Santorini, and good value hotels such as Luxembourg Parc Hotel in Paris. In all cases they were what they were advertised on Tripadvisor
So here is my review of Hotel George. A taxi driver told me it was once a premier small hotel owned by JFK jr, who once owned a magazine named George, as well. I hope the hotel's renovations brings it back to what it was because it was no premier hotel during Thanksgiving, nor did it inform us ahead of time that it had problems. I reserved a room a month or so in advanced with 2 queen sized beds. What I got was a problem.
The good: The location was great for the Newseum, my main reason to be in Washington DC, the Capitol, where I has a tour reserved, and the National Archives, and National Gallery. We, my family and I, enjoyed their breakfast as well. The front dest tried their best, as well. The bad: They never informed us that they were undergoing renovation.Worse, they gave us a room with a dirty carpet, a prior guests personal stuff in the bathroom garbage pail, and a heating unit that was not only noisy, but would give you only 80 degrees or no heat. When I requested a different room , they said they had none. So, why give me this disgusting room when I booked so far in advance? Why not just close this room to the public? Shame, shame shame! When the requested heat/AC repairman never showed to assist, I overheard his call at the front desk and he lied, telling the manager he showed and did the repairs.I mean really! I could have stayed in any good value hotel/ or 5 star hotel in D C but chose this hotel because of Tripadvisor and the location. Now its true that they apologized and gave me a discount but when does a discount overcome a feeling of filth and lack of sleep for 2 days. So here is my advice to all: 1. make sure your room is renovated. 2.Make sure your room has had an updated heat/AC system.3. If they cannot agree to 1 and 2, then go to another hotel. JFK Jr would.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redwineconnor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
redwineconnor1,

Thank you for your honest and thorough review of the George. Nothing upsets us more than a disappointed guest. We would love another chance to gain your trust and have you back post renovation in one of our brand new rooms. Please email me directly and hopefully we can set something up; clayton.smith@hotelgeorge.com

Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Love the Kimpton brand. They go out of their way to accommodate travelers with all needs. It's a chain with a conscience. Become a Kimpton rewards member to get free wifi--and a $10 credit for the mini bar.

Staff has been well trained to make guests feel welcome and special, whether paying full price (never) or the heavily discounted rate (always). Decor is West Elm/ Euro. Beds are comfortable; marble baths are well designed, though don't forget to put a mat on the slippery-when-wet floor. Linens and towels are snowy white and fresh, never threadbare or over-laundered.

We've stayed there a half dozen times; our room has always overlooked the building across the way, but at discounted rates, who cares? Location is convenient to Union Station, the Hill, and Eastern Market. Don't pay extra for valet parking. You can find a spot within a block or two from the hotel. The nightly, free wine-tastings always feature an interesting label. Sweet way to start the evening. If the George is booked, Kimpton has several other properties around DC with the same amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We're blushing, Darcy! Thank you for the glorious recommendation. I'm so glad you're always enjoying your stays, but do let me know when you plan to return once again! We're looking forward to keeping up our winning streak!

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice enough boutique hotel. They’re renovating in early 2014 (damn, just missed that). I like the fact that it’s steps away from Union Station, so you can take advantage of the DC subway – albeit poorly managed and ill-maintained, it’s a convenient way to get around. Good location for business around the Capitol Hill or central office area. However, I came/left through Dulles, and wanted to go out with friends, so in retrospect it wasn’t really a good choice.
My first impression was disappointing. No one came to help with luggage to check in or check out. I found out later there is a friendly doorman, but he wasn’t there when I needed him. Then they put me in a room with no view, although I specifically requested one. I protested and got another one with a street view, which was OK. The room service took 30 minutes to serve simple club sandwiches, and with all the surcharges added it was expensive. Then, as I was working the fire alarm went off – it was a false alarm, but everyone had to leave the building to wait in the cold outside. This seemed to be a common occurrence. With all this happening, I’m probably not going to stay here again. One consolation was that the staff was friendly and generally helpful.
Pros : Three blocks away from Union Station (Metro/Amtrak). Friendly staff, reasonably large and comfortable rooms, good restaurant, and a fun atmosphere with “wine hour” cocktails served in lobby. Fast wifi.
Cons : Not very convenient to the airport, and far from the main shopping and dining districts. Rather tired rooms. Service is so-so.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank aritokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your candor, Aritokyo. I'm glad your stay wasn't awful, but sorry to hear you may not come back. Hopefully the friendliness of our staff outshone the negative aspects.

Cheers,

Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing