We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently A Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistently A Good Experience”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I visit Washington DC once a year and always stay at the Hotel George. They have a great staff, convenient location (right by Union Station & Capital Hill) and even better rooms because they just completed redecorating the hotel. They are great to kids and the onsite restaurant is tasty and good place to people watch. I'll back next year.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you, PennsyTravelers! We love that you and yours keep coming back and loving it. Don't hesitate to contact us before you come 'round next time so we can make your stays better and better.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    546
    142
    33
    23
See reviews for
506
637
163
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Yes this is a modern boutique hotel, but that doesn't mean snobby staff or no help. In fact the staff are brilliant, so helpful it really makes the stay, when the door man greats you each time he sees you with a smile and is willing to help even though its freezing outside. The front desk staff again nothing seemed to much to ask and they were empowered to resolve issues. I was impressed. As it was my birthday I treated myself to an in room facial. That was delightful. Dined at the Bistro which is part of the hotel. Food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. Liked the location and will definitely stay there when next I am in Washington.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarliteAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Wonderful, StarlightAustralia! We're so glad you spent a successful birthday with us. We're looking forward to seeing you again. And again!

Happy birthday!
Kiah

Kiah M Garcia Conover
Manager On Duty
kiah.conover@hotelgeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel staff is friendly and courteous. They held our luggage and had it delivered while we had lunch. Room is spacious although there is no view.... The facilities are very well done and we expect to have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: the two queen option feels like a larger room
See more room tips
Green Features: the bikes that are offered and the hotel amenities speak green friendly
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We hope you have had a wonderful time, Peggy B! Thanks for the great review. Just let us know if there's anything more we can do to make your stay, or future stay, perfect.

Cheers,
Kiah

Kiah M Garcia Conover
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've stayed at the George several times, it's one of my favorite hotels, certainly my favorite in D.C. I was in D.C. just for a long weekend, and managed to snare a great fare at the George for three nights. Part of the reason for the discount is that they are in the midst of refurbishing all of their guest rooms. However, had it not been mentioned at checkin, I would not have known. My room was on a refurbished floor and appeared to have never been used. The redesign is a bit more elegant than before, but still with an element of fun that has always been a big appeal of Kimpton hotels.

As usual, the staff were all wonderful, housekeeping was top notch, and I appreciated the welcome gifts in my room. The only negative that I have is that when I asked at the desk for a Sunday brunch recommendation, the only restaurants offered were in Kimpton hotels. Really?? In all of Washington, D.C.? But I ended up at a great place anyway ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Jerry B,

Thanks for staying with us once again and for another great review. We love that you enjoyed the new look and feel. I'm glad the staff was wonderful, though it sounds like we need to take a Front Office outing to brunch ;) Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!

Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

....I think they've got it. I have had the opportunity to stay at Hotel George on occasion and I am never disappointed. During my most recent stay I was in one of there very impressive newly refurbished rooms--very clean and very classy. I just love this place and the service is great as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We just love you too, Dan A. Thank you for the excellent review. We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Cheers,
Kiah

Kiah M Garcia Conover
Manager on Duty
kiah.conover@hotelgeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Hotel is very well kept, rooms are very comfortable. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Excellent location walking distance from Union Station and Capital Hill. Only problem is the meeting rooms downstairs are freezing. If you're holding a meeting there in the winter be sure they put the space heaters in the room and turn them up full blast otherwise wear a winter coat. We have had meetings thereat the end of January for the past three years and always the same cold room. Other than that the Hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks Don, we appreciate that fair review. And there's good news: we are revamping our heating system along with the rest of the building so that this problem can be avoided in the future. We do appreciate your positive attitude, but your comfort is even more important. See you in our warm meeting rooms next year!

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager On Duty
kiah.conover@hotelgeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The reason to choose The George was as much down to feedback on Trip as anything else. It's a perfectly acceptable establishment but has absolutely no 'cosy' or warm elements to it's design. Perfunctory would possibly be the best way to describe. The staff were helpful, the restaurant the best feature. But do not expect a boutique of quality along the lines of a SLH, even though the price is the same. As an example, ordering the most expensive red wine by the glass on the menu brought a wine barely above freezing. It had been stored irrespective of use. Any real hotelier would ensure this basic error would never occur in what is a busy bar/brasserie.

Room Tip: Top floors are best and ask for an outward facing room as mine looked into a central light well with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you, Gartartan, for your candor. While we'd like to take credit for Bistro Bis, they are simply our--for lack of a better word--roommates in this establishment. Their Trip Advisor page can be found here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g28970-d485032-Reviews-Bistro_Bis-Washington_DC_District_of_Columbia.html if you'd like to review them directly. In the meantime, we at Hotel George are anxious to know what you might suggest to make our space a bit more cozy or warm. A new look means new room for growth, after all! We do hope you'll take a few more minutes to help us better serve every traveler.

Thanks again,
Kiah

kiah.conover@hotelgeorge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing