We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We recently stayed at The George for the Rock n' Roll Marathon. It is in a great location to all of the city sights and so close to Union Station and the Metro. The happy hour had great wines for the four nights that we were there. Bistro Bis is a wonderful restaurant that I would highly recommend. Hotel was so gracious and had race day treats for us in the lobby on the morning of the race. Cannot say enough good things about the hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1956Buick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Did you have a good race, 1956Buick? We like to think we helped with that, but it probably has a lot more to do with your fantastic attitude. Thank you for the great review! We'll look forward to hosting you for the next Rock'n'Roll marathon. And all the races in between!

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the George while in town for the Rock n' Roll Half Marathon . I can't say enough positive things about the hotel. The proximity to Amtrak and the metro is ideal. Plus, there is a great little bakery/ cafe on the corner that was delicious. The hotel itself is stunning. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and you can't beat the free wi-fi for Kimpton InTouch members. And who can forget the complimentary wine hour in the lobby? It's such a great way to unwind on a trip. I would be remiss if I forgot to mention the super accommodating staff, Assistant Manager Michael Love, in particular. Everyone was genuinely friendly and sincere and seemed intent on making every aspect of our trip a delight. Last but not least, I have to say I was incredibly impressed that the hotel provided refreshments in the lobby the morning of the race. It was such a small, thoughtful gesture that truly made me feel special. I intend to travel to DC in the future and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michie1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We're so glad you dream of us, Michie1235! We dream of you, too. The marathon weekend is always really fun and we love to get up early right beside you while you pound the pavement and we... don't. We hope to see you back next year! And for all the runs in between. Thanks for the fabulous review.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated and is absolutely beautiful. The room was comfortable, stylish and very quiet for a city hotel. Service was friendly and professional. The location is perfect and is within walking distance of many areas of interest. The restaurant next door was very accommodating and even opened a bit early for us for a business breakfast. Overall I give the spot an A+.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior - no street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holalola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for the A+! We're pretty serious about being head of the class so if there's extra credit, just let us know. We'll look forward to hosting you again soon, holalola123!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful boutique hotel. The room was comfortable and full of needed amenities. Very stylish with fun tongue in cheek pictures of George and Martha. Be sure to join the Kimpton group for discounts.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonjaputnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Why thank you, Sonjaputnam! We are delighted that so succinct a rave review was ever written about us. You also brought up a very important and often overlooked piece of advice: joining Kimpton In Touch is a great idea for deals and other perks.

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Newly renovated with every detail cared for. Great location, walking distance to many great locations and dining choices. Staff was very friendly, offered assistance with genuine smiles. We were lucky to find this place and will stay again. Surprising how many pets, all well behaved and hotel is so clean we would have never guessed that pets were allowed. Everything was nicely done. We are already planning our next state here. Thanks to tripadvisor we found this hotel and great dining in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks so much for sharing such kind words on Trip Advisor, PL! Let me know when you're coming back around so we can thank you properly. You know the whole team will be excited to see you again.

Until then!
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Kiah.Conover@hotelgeorge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is the second time I stayed at the George. I've stayed at Kimpton properties before and I have never had consistently good service, beautiful modern hotels like I have with the Kimpton brand. I cannot say enough good things. When I booked the George I noted that it was my mother's first time to visit DC. Blair at the front desk took it upon herself to make sure my mother had a wonderful visit by surprising her with a bottle of wine, a DC mug and DC souvenir pens. My mother was blown away! We had a very large room, plenty of space to work and even use the yoga mat for exercise. The George has a nightly HH, free bikes to check out, an attached restaurant and the best world class service! I wish my work would send me to DC more often just so I can relax at the George. The US Capitol is within walking distance, metro is a few blocks down, just a great place. They are dog friendly, I don't even like dogs- but you would never know if a dog was in your room because they keep it so clean! I also had a cancelled flight and I had to book the last room at the hotel and they still let me stay in my same room. Other hotels would have charged me higher rates and likely made me switch rooms! Love this place!

Room Tip: Any room at the George is great!! We had a corner room so extra space, but I've stayed in a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zogam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We love you too, Zogam! Thank you for such a shining review. If you'd like us to contact your work to let them know we need you to visit more, just let us know. We'll be waiting for you at wine hour.

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just got home from my stay at The George, and i was very pleased with every facet of the hotel. The moment I walked in, I was greeted by Clayton at the front desk, who allowed us to check in early and presented us with our complimentary bottle of wine and our $10 "Raid the mini-bar" card. The room itself was perfectly sized, very clean and modern, and had everything we needed, including a Keurig coffee-maker which was definitely a nice touch. Other reviewers seemed to have an issue with the "loud" HVAC unit, but I barely even noticed it. They also allowed me to check out late, which was great because my train home was delayed because of the snow.

The location is awesome. Not even a 5 minute walk from Union Station, and right down the block from the capitol building, It's very easy to get to and from the George from anywhere in the city

The excellent staff, location, and comfort makes the George a hotel I would definitely recommend to other, and stay at again myself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We'd love to host you again, Brian F! So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and that we were able to accommodate your needs in the snow. Thank you for this terrific review.

See you soon,
Kiah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
356 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#84 of 142 in Washington DC
220 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#99 of 142 in Washington DC
653 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £113 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing