We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice long weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #23 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice long weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Came to the George with my husband and 10 year old son for a long weekend in Washington DC. We were given room 203 which has recently been renovated. 2 queen beds plus a sofa couch. Room was well appointed and spacious. Staff was friendly. Only downside to the room was a noisy HVAC unit when it turned on and off. The location in DC was great as the hotel is within walking distance to the Capitol and the Mall. Great access to the Metro. Restaurant onsite Bis expensive with slow service. Conveniently located near a Corner Bakery for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you, HNSadler! We're glad your family enjoyed the long weekend here with us. Thanks also for letting us know about the HVAC in that room. We're looking into it immediately! The whole hotel has been renovated, but there's always work to be done. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    544
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
501
634
162
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family of four, including two kids felt very welcomed by the staff, who was accommodating and friendly. The hotel seems to be more of a businessman's hotel, but our kids thoroughly enjoyed staying there and we were made to feel comfortable and at home! The attached restaurant was fabulous! A little pricey but worth it! And the best part was that the hotel is in walking distance of all the sites to see in DC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 789Maria23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you, 789Maria23! We do work hard to make everybody feel welcomed here on Capitol Hill, so it's great to hear that you and yours felt it! See you soon?!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a great time at the George, recently remodeled rooms. We were upgraded to 2 larger rooms since our initial booking could not be accommodated. Food choice a little limited near hotel but cafe around the corner was nice for breakfast and restaurant at hotel is very good but expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisfan1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, Tennisfan1013! Give us a call when you're booking next time and we'll make sure there are no snags like that upon arrival. We really appreciate your understanding though.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel George is a Kimpton Hotel. It was a nice hotel, and had a Piano in the Lobby for the guests to Play Music.

The rooms were small but comfortable. Staff was nice and very helpful.

We chose this hotel since the stay was short and we had to catch a Train to New York. The Union station is just a 5 min walk. All the major attractions are within 2 miles of the Hotel. and all the Tour Buses leave from the Union station.

Room Tip: Nothing Special;
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words, NTPasari. Hopefully your next trip won't be quite so quick! We'd love to have you back.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This boutique hotel is situated perfectly in the Capitol Hill area. I was able to take the Metro train from Reagan National to Union Station and walk a block to the hotel. Upon check-in, I received a complimentary upgrade to a newly renovated room. My room was on the 6th floor and faced the street which had perfect natural light, but you can hear street noise below. If you don't like having the room full illuminated with the morning light, not to worry, the curtains are lined with black out drapery.

The decor of the room is best described as contemporary. I especially loved the leather tufted headboard and throw pillows that resembled George Washington's military dress jacket.The bathroom featured a separate shower and bath with adjustable sconce lighting. The room also had complimentary umbrella, yoga mat, and bathrobes. There was a coffee maker and a mounted flat screen TV. There was also an alarm clock for which an iPod could be used.

There is restaurant attached to the hotel that features French dining; however, some American items are on the menu. This is also the source of room service and breakfast. I found the prices to be high. However, you do have the option of enjoying breakfast at the corner cafe; which has excellent meal selections are lower prices. Additionally, Union station has a plethora of restaurants to grab breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

My favorite thing about this hotel is the complimentary daily happier hour--even on weekends. You have a choice of red wine, white wine, or sake from 5PM to 6PM. The lobby also has citrus infused water. I have a couple of complaints. One is that although there is a coffee maker in the room, there is no complimentary bottled water to make a cup. But, there is a Wal-Mart within 4 blocks of the hotel (Note: take a bag with you or else you'll have to pay $.15 per plastic bag) and you can buy a 6-pack of bottled water along with snacks for your room. Yes, I stumbled onto Wal-mart while out and about. Take a right out of the hotel and at the corner, take another right and keep walking. You can't miss it! My other complaint is that the pillows are way too soft. I'd wake up with stiffness in my neck and lower back. I never asked housekeeping if firmer pillows were available. I just stacked all 4 pillows together.

As for location, you can walk up the street and see the Capitol. The Capitol, Library of Congress, US Supreme Court, and the offices of Congress and Senators are within walking distance from this location. You can walk to the front of the Capital and walk to the National mall. However, these sites are easily accessible using Metro if you don't want to do a lot of walking.

As for safety, there is a constant presence of the DC police and Capitol police patrolling the area--pretty sure Secret Service was riding around as well. However, still exercise care when walking about as there are homeless people begging for money or something to eat. Overall, I would stay here again because it was extremely clean and the staff was superb! More importantly, I loved the accessibility to the major attractions around the city and the use of the train system.

Green Features: The room features a divided trash bin. One side is marked for recyclable items.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
What a thorough review, Ksand474! We appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and while it was probably a typo, we love that you mentioned our "happier hour"! Thinking about adopting that for the future... Next time you visit, we do offer foam pillows which are much firmer for those who prefer them. Just let us know whatever you need.

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This past week, I traveled with my 11 yr old daughter to this chic boutique hotel that was centrally located to everything. From the minute we entered the hotel, until the moment we left, we were greeted by the most friendly staff (especially Kiah and Candice!) who went out of their way to make our experience so enjoyable. The accommodations were impeccable and the bed was dreamy.
This was also a very unique hotel that added such nice touches which included a guest "gold fish" which was invited to live with us throughout our stay, yummy snacks which were delivered to our room, and comfy leopard bathrobes. We also took advantage of the bikes that the hotel offered to us and decided to take a bike ride to the White House.
Overall, it was one of our all time favorite trips and we can't wait to come back again! We will most certainly be staying at The George!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeSydPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the amazing review, Deesydpix, but just come back! George the fish misses you both and the rest of us are looking forward to your next adventure in the District.

See you then!
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Kimpton does it right, and The George is no exception. Customer service is exceptional. All of the little extras (complimentary wine happy hour, plush animal-print robes, comfortable desks, strong WiFi, etc) have made the Kimpton brand my favorite value in the hotel industry.

The George is in a great location if you are arriving by train. You can walk one block from Union Station. It is a fine jumping off point for the tourist options in DC. If you're not afraid of walking, you can head out the front door and be at the US Capitol in under 10 minutes. And if you ever do get tired of walking, you can get to the nearest Metro station and head back easily.

Bistro Bis is a solid restaurant, although maybe a bit overpriced. There are not that many great dining options immediately nearby the hotel, and the neighborhood itself is not a DC destination. But if a quiet, very clean, very comfortable room is what you are after, this is the place.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been recently renovated. Room 710 was one of them. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nundrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We enjoyed your well-rounded report, Nundrum! Thank you for posting it. We're proud of Kimpton and that we've lived up to the bar our family has set. We hope to see you back here in the future!

Thanks again,
Kiah

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton George Hotel

Property: The Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing