We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Centrally located, this hotel affords very nice accommodations. The rooms are quite elegant with friendly staff. The workout facility is small but has good equipment for its purpose. Great choice in downtown DC.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brainydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We like your style, BrainyDr. Succinct and positive! Thanks for taking the time to review us so kindly.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night in this modern, comfortable hotel which is within five minutes walking distance of Union Station and Capitol Hill. The location is very convenient for exploring Washington. Our room and the public areas were sparkling clean and stylish. The front-of-house staff, particularly the receptionists and porter, were welcoming, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for the review, Worksop! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that means you'll come back soon!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I visited DC in March to participate in the Rock'n'Roll Marathon. The George was one of the hosting hotels and offered a great rate. Upon entering the George we were greeted warmly by the front desk manager, Michael. He checked us in swiftly and let us know about all the recent upgrades the hotel had made to the rooms, including new decor and a Keurig machine in each room. The room didn't disappoint- it was beautiful and spacious! The rest of the hotel was equally gorgeous and the adjoining restaurant was delicious (best risotto I've ever had). But what really made our stay was the hospitality we experienced. Michael Love, the manager, and his staff were warm and attentive to every need (and we are some needy travelers). We've stayed at a couple Kimpton hotels across the US and The George is our favorite so far. We would stay at the George again any day!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MeganCollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you, MeganCollar! We do our best to make you feel welcome and it's such a reward to see that it was your biggest impression of your time with us.

See you soon,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Came to the George with my husband and 10 year old son for a long weekend in Washington DC. We were given room 203 which has recently been renovated. 2 queen beds plus a sofa couch. Room was well appointed and spacious. Staff was friendly. Only downside to the room was a noisy HVAC unit when it turned on and off. The location in DC was great as the hotel is within walking distance to the Capitol and the Mall. Great access to the Metro. Restaurant onsite Bis expensive with slow service. Conveniently located near a Corner Bakery for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you, HNSadler! We're glad your family enjoyed the long weekend here with us. Thanks also for letting us know about the HVAC in that room. We're looking into it immediately! The whole hotel has been renovated, but there's always work to be done. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family of four, including two kids felt very welcomed by the staff, who was accommodating and friendly. The hotel seems to be more of a businessman's hotel, but our kids thoroughly enjoyed staying there and we were made to feel comfortable and at home! The attached restaurant was fabulous! A little pricey but worth it! And the best part was that the hotel is in walking distance of all the sites to see in DC!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789Maria23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you, 789Maria23! We do work hard to make everybody feel welcomed here on Capitol Hill, so it's great to hear that you and yours felt it! See you soon?!

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a great time at the George, recently remodeled rooms. We were upgraded to 2 larger rooms since our initial booking could not be accommodated. Food choice a little limited near hotel but cafe around the corner was nice for breakfast and restaurant at hotel is very good but expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisfan1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Glad you enjoyed yourselves, Tennisfan1013! Give us a call when you're booking next time and we'll make sure there are no snags like that upon arrival. We really appreciate your understanding though.

Thank you,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel George is a Kimpton Hotel. It was a nice hotel, and had a Piano in the Lobby for the guests to Play Music.

The rooms were small but comfortable. Staff was nice and very helpful.

We chose this hotel since the stay was short and we had to catch a Train to New York. The Union station is just a 5 min walk. All the major attractions are within 2 miles of the Hotel. and all the Tour Buses leave from the Union station.

Room Tip: Nothing Special;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the kind words, NTPasari. Hopefully your next trip won't be quite so quick! We'd love to have you back.

Cheers,
Kiah

Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,419 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,752 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
410 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £136 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing