We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, noisy and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colo.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, noisy and overpriced”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was traveling on business and usually stay at the Sheraton or Hyatt near the Hill. A friend recommended this place because of the restaurant and because it's 10 steps closer than the Hyatt.

Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. The bed was ridiculously firm. The service was OK. The lobby was always busy and not very well laid out. The walls were very thin. Again, I was there on business, and on two occasions on my floor as I was heading out for dinner, it looked like some other folks were there for "business" as well.

The location is nice, I'll admit. But, I prefer something quieter and a little more established.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
The bulk of our guests are business people here, bksmrt, and are well established as known for such. It seems you also caught our staff on an "off" day, as we pride ourselves in offering the best service possible. Perhaps we're not for everyone! I hope the Sheraton or Hyatt continues to treat you with the style you prefer.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,400
    552
    144
    34
    25
See reviews for
520
646
165
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've had another fantastic stay at The George, one of our favorite DC hotels. The Kimpton hotel group has been our preferred hotel when traveling. The staff is always friendly, helpful, resourceful and simply a pleasure to do business with. The George is very convenient to Union Station, the rooms are beautiful and the restaurants, bars and atmosphere at all of the hotels we've stayed at extremely enjoyable.

This stay was especially made enjoyable thanks to Blair who went over the top in wishing me a belated happy birthday. She went above and beyond by having my favorite cupcakes in the room and a couple of other treats. I can't thank her enough for the effort which was in no way expected, nor deserved! But it reinforces why this chain of hotels is different and raises the bar perhaps to a level that is unfair to the competition. If you have the opportunity to visit and stay at The George you will not be dissatisfied and I hope you have the extra pleasure of interacting with Blair. Tell her Jim Mellen sent you, maybe you'll get a cupcake too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMellen23188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Mr. Mellen, you will be delighted, I'm sure, at the uproar your review has caused. Blair is thrilled, though humbly, and everyone else has gotten competitive! We're all delighted to have exceeded expectations, as that is simply our favorite thing to do. Thank you for letting the whole team know what a great time you had.

See you soon!
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here last minute for a business trip a few days ago. I really just needed a nice, safe, clean place to stay around the Hill. I managed to reserve at this very upscale swanky boutique hotel. The room on the site is exactly how it is. Very nice, small, comfortable bed.

I've stayed in many places, many varieties and many price levels. I guess, I expected a bit more from this hotel. A nice bathrobe, mouthwash would have been simple easy touches to add. My one big issue is bathrooms. I expect the price that I paid (over $400 a night) to have no hair on the wall of my shower and the repairs to the surface of the tub to not be cheap - but at least ceramic to match the tub surface finish. No a dull, yellowish fix for a scratch or whatever it was to cover up. Its the little things that drive me crazy, especially if you pay top dollar. The ac worked great, except the rattling noise of the vents as it turned on and off during the night. I noticed this room can up upwards to $1100 or so a night..I think I prefer the Ritz. Sorry, this boutique hotel is lacking compared to what you can get around town for the same price or less. I was disappointed. Glad it was only for a few hours of sleep before I left.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
tkdmom, I'm sorry you didn't love your stay here at The George. We are generous with the amenities upon request of course, but that wasn't quite what you were looking for. Ironically, we are working on all of the bathroom touch-ups currently! It's too bad you got a room that hadn't gone through that yet. Perhaps when you need a good place to crash again we'll be up to it.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautiful hotel!... clean and spacious room... comfy queen size beds... lovely bathroom with stand up shower and full size tub... friendly and accomodating staff... taxi cabs always at curbside... wine in the evenings... a quiet spot to sit in the Gallery. Joined the free loyalty program for free wifi and complimentary $10 in the mini bar (the water bottles were a must). Went there for a long weekend with our 2 teenage sons. Location is awesome - one block to Union Station, couple of (longish) blocks to the Capitol. Close to the reflection pond. Enjoyed the Corner Bakery just doors away for breakfast and evening brownies! Plenty of food within walking distance (Union Station has restaurants and food court, found a couple of pubs within a few blocks and around the corner). Can't wait to head back to the George. A great place to get back to after long days in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_our_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
4_our_travels,

Thank you for your glowing review! We're so glad you loved our renovated rooms and that the neighborhood worked for all your needs. When you are back in DC, we'd love to see you again.

Regards,
Clayton
--
Clayton Smith
Front Office Manager
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

It is clear upon entering The George that the staff is there to see to your every need. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with all the amenities one would expect. The lobby is inviting and drinks are served free of charge on weekend evenings. After a biking accident bandages, sterile lotions and caring were in abundance. Very easy accessibility to Union Station, excellent restaurants, and The Mall.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the stellar review, Andrea! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself here, and we hope your spill on the bike didn't detract from your visit. Come see us again when you're all patched up!

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have to start the review by saying that perhaps all of the great reviews here rose my expectations a bit, so I was a little surprised when I arrived that the hotel is pretty simple and small. There was nothing extraordinary about it at first glance. The staff was friendly, but there was nothing that seemed a lot different than other hotels. The hallways on the room floors are a bit dark from the low ceilings, and such, but everything looked decently clean and in good condition. I do have to add they had early arrival ready for us, so that was great!

In entering our room, I was very happy to see the large open space around the corner that allowed plenty of space for our luggage and various items. I very much appreciated that. It had a large desk area which was also nice. The room was clean and the decor was nice. The beds and bathroom seemed very clean, which is a high priority for me.

The hotel is very small...there certainly isn't much wandering. But I think what makes the hotel nice is that it is simple, laid back, and a comfortable place to go back to after a long day in DC. It is in a great area in that you can get to Union Station quickly on foot, and are pretty close to the Capitol. If you are interested in going to the monuments and museums for a full day, I recommend taking the metro mainly because it will save some of the energy needed for a long day (that way you do all of your walking at the sights, not back and forth, as it is a decent walk to parts of the National Mall and monuments). But again, Union Station is right there, so that makes it easy.

We loved Bistro Bis for breakfast...super friendly staff there. Delicious breakfast and worth the cost for service alone. We had gone to the Corner Bakery a couple of times, and let's just say the service there was not very good on more than one occasion. So, for me the cost of the expensive restaurants in the area was worth it based on service and quality of food.

Union Plaza is nearby for those of us that like a place to wander to...fountains, benches, and a clear view of the Capitol.

My only issues were with a couple aspects of the room: I wish they had better duvet covers to cover the duvet. It would easily come loose, and expose the duvet inside. It would have felt cleaner and nicer if the duvet cover stayed on. The sheets were also a bit big so would touch all of the way to the floor once untucked, and the bottom sheet always felt wrinkly/not pulled tight.

The toiletries they provide are in pumps in the shower, which are eco friendly, but I kind of missed having single item products available to use, and would have also preferred something with less fragrance. We didn't end up using their products at all. Given this was a boutique hotel, I thought they might shine in that area.

Very lastly, if you want your room serviced while you are out for the day, you should let them know at the front desk as you are leaving. We had returned late day ready to relax, and someone had just gotten in our room so we had to wait a bit. We didn't really need the cleaning so regretted we didn't put the do not disturb sign up had we known that it would be serviced so late (even though we were gone all day).

All in all a comfortable stay with nice staff. I don't know that I would want to stay here when the rates are at their highest, but for the rate we paid I was very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herkyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you, Herky5 for your review! Even though we tend to be super enthusiastic about everything ever, we do genuinely appreciate a measured breakdown of our strengths and weaknesses. Thank you for taking the time!

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for only 1 night for a work meeting and will definitely be coming back. The room was great, unique arrangement to maximize space. I had a nice big bed, large workspace and a nice sitting area and large bathroom also. Lunch in the restaurant was great, I had a nice salad with roasted chicken and it was so good! The best part was the location. If you want to be close to lots of things to do or are only staying a day or so, this is a great location. 1.5 blocks from the hotel is Penn station. I took a tour bus from that point for a 3 hour tour of all the highlights around DC including the memorials, Arlington Cemetary, the Ford Theatre, etc. I made the most if my stay and would love to go back to this quiet, elegant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Well, wellsdp, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here! Although it was brief, you really noted our highlights. We hope that means we'll see you again, perhaps for longer next time.

Thank you,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
276 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
179 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing