We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #23 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Hotel George. The hotel was hopping, including more children than I expected, but the room was comfortable and quiet (King Deluxe with Sleep Sofa) and the staff unfailingly helpful and polite. The location is convenient to touring, there is cheap and safe parking across the street, and there are enough area restaurants to fill any requirement. The Bistro Bis staff was also excited and friendly about an upcoming 75th birthday brunch. We are looking forward to our return in two short weeks, with a group of family members for the birthday celebration weekend. Thank you, Hotel George!

Green Features: Waste baskets include a separate recycling bin; wish more hotels did this. A towel hung to dry was left for re-use the following day. When they re-model, it would be wonderful to see the two flush toilet system in use.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosmart07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the sweet review, gosmart07. We're delighted you'll be returning so soon! Let's make that 75th birthday one for the books!

Cheers,
Kiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    544
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
498
633
162
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The George is a boutique gem on Capitol Hill in DC
The staff is courteous, friendly, and professional
and the accommodations are superb!!!

I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the downtown DC area

Room Tip: newly renovated and very comfortable - higher floors preferred
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally conscious - green certified hotel - top notch
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STEPHEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you, Stephen! We like your style and hope to see it back here again soon!

Cheers,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I hadn't heard of this hotel prior to this trip - but I was delightfully surprised when I found it. What terrific service! Great front desk, great restaurant. Rooms are small, but very well appointed, and extremely comfortable. Near Capitol Hill and the Metro, and just a short walk to a couple of delightful Irish Pubs as well! Glad to have discovered the Hotel George - I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jco39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We're glad you found us too, jco39! And we certainly hope you'll return. Let us know your plans and we'll try to surprise you some more.

Cheers,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The George is a unique and appealing hotel. In a city full of large business/convention hotels, it has a quirky charm. Far from cookie cutter, the hotel is a not-so-subtle tribute to President Washington, which is of course quite appropriate in the city named in his honor. It sounds cheesy, but the George-themed decor is interesting and fun.

Service is very gracious and personal. I was greeted with a glass of wine at check-in... certainly a first!

The location is great, within very easy walking distance of Union Station. And the main tourist attractions are a short walk, Metro trip, or tax ride away. If fine dining is your thing, the acclaimed Bistro Bis is on the ground floor. It's expensive but not to be missed. Fortunately, there are many affordable options in the neighborhood, including an adjacent Corner Bakery that is perfect for breakfast.

I guess if I have a criticism, it's that the rooms aren't as comfortable as they might be at a more conventional hotel. The bathrooms are spacious and lovely, with separate tub and shower. I did wish for more room in the sleeping area. It wasn't tight by any means, but I would have given up some of the bathroom square footage for a little more space in the bedroom... and a more comfortable chair. The Wi-Fi is free but slow.

A very important note: ask for a room that faces the exterior of the building. Half of the rooms face an internal airshaft, which creates a gloomy vibe. It also requires that curtains remain pulled at all times for privacy.

So, yes, Mr. Washington would be pleased. You probably will be, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the exterior of the building. Half of the rooms face an internal airshaft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
While we do appreciate your (obviously astute) assessment of George Washington's positive regard, it's yours we're more excited about, pricelinetraveler. Thank you for the fantastic review! We hope to see you again! That may have been the first time your received wine at check in, but it should not be the last.

Cheers,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to main rail station which is a smart site in itself...and next to Capitol Hill.
Very smart rooms, bar and restaurant...really impressed.
Easy to walk to all sites, monuments/museums, and wonderful to come back to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bananalaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Our lives are complete now that bananalaser has deemed us perfect! What more is there?! Thanks for the great review. We like your style.

Cheers,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed dining at Bistro Bis for some years now and recently decided to stay at The George on a trip to Washington this summer. Our expectations were exceeded in several ways - first, the front desk check in experience was friendly, cordial, and helpful. The bellman was friendly and helpful as were the housekeeping staff. Our room was comfortable, and the bedding was just great. We had dinner the first night at Bistro Bis, and our server Steve did his usual fine job.

We're going back to DC in October and plan to stay at The George again - our new favorite DC hotel. The location is perfect for using Union Station or visiting Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: We were toward the end of a hallway on the 5th floor and enjoyed the extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDave0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves, SuperDave! We hope to become as dependable for quality service as our pals at Bistro Bis. Don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything we can do to make your upcoming stay even better!

See you soon,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at The George on a Sunday morning. The staff was great about letting us check in early. The room was lovely, spacious, quiet and clean. However, what impressed me the most was the generous and helpful attitude of the bellman/doorman. I believe his name was "Neguse/Guse." When I checked in, I asked to leave the car in the loading zone until we had seen our room. I wasn't sure where to park and didn't want to spend a lot of money on parking. Goose told me to leave the car keys with him. When I came back downstairs, he had found a parking spot for my car in front of the hotel and I was able to leave the car there until my departure the next day. Outstanding service! I hope the management realizes what a gem they have in Goose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, Manager on Duty at The Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Oh boy did you ever give us the perfect ammunition for embarrassing Neguse! He's flattered, of course, and we're all celebrating him. Thank you for the sweet review. We hope you know that we appreciate you, too.

Cheers,
Kiah, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton George Hotel

Property: The Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing