We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A fine Experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The hotel and its amenities are beautiful and modern. The staff is as helpful and friendly as you could want. The place is perfectly located within walking distance of Capitol Hill, Union Station, the Smithsonian Museums, and other sites. You couldn't do better!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    545
    140
    33
    23
See reviews for
504
636
162
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We were taking Amtrak into Washington DC, so we were looking for something close to Union Station. We got in late at night, and walked from the station to the Hotel George easily, where we were greeted with a smile from the welcoming staff. We were checked in, and in our room within 5 minutes of arriving.
We primarily walked to all the historic sites and museums in the area, as the weather was beautiful during our trip.
The Hotel George is in a nice area, surrounded mostly by government/office buildings, which made it a quiet and relaxing experience - just what we needed!
The room itself was spacious with an amazing bathroom. After walking around all day long, it was nice to be able to come back to our room and relax in the huge tub!
After staying in a Kimpton Hotel last year, we knew we had to stay here. Kimpton Hotels separate themselves from larger chain-type hotels by their amazing service/staff. Whatever your needs are, they will not only be met, but exceeded!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beans1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Beautiful hotel. Clean, convenient, excellent service and very chic. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank albartsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2008
Hello Albartsch.

Thank you for posting your review. I hope that you are able to come back and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We found the Hotel on the internet and booked our room in advance. I was a little concerned with some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but they were unfounded. The room was lovely and clean and despite the air con being a little noisy, we were glad of it after a hot day walking in the city. Reception were helpful and polite. The attached bar was quite expensive and we only ate there on our first night as we were tired. We did not have the breakfast at the hotel but walked to the staion and had breakfast there. There were no homeless people and the location was fantastic. It was expensive to park but the convenience of having valet parking was great. We would stay here again in a heartbeat but it is not a cheap option.i

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedfordbaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2008
Hello Bedfordbaps.

Thank you for your earnest review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on TripAdvisor. It will certainly help those who similar to you need more information about the hotel and the area. Thank you and do come back and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I stayed here for four nights for vacation. It's only a block from Union Station, a couple blocks from the Capitol, and a pleasant walk from the Mall. There were homeless around Union Station, but none around the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel public areas and the room were clean and modern. The bed was great. The room had wired internet at a work desk, flat screen TV, and honor fridge. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of counter space, although only a shower stall, if you care about that. I made reservations on their internet site for myself and another person in another room. I requested feather pillows in my room and foam pillows in the other, and they were there when we checked in. Valet-only parking was a bit expensive. All in all it was a great place to stay for vacation and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location, clean, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — parking rate
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank user621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2008
Hello user621,

Thank you for staying at Hotel George during your recent trip to Washington DC. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will return to us again soon. Thank you for staying and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

This is a great hotel 1/2 block from Union Station, 2 blocks from the Capitol and the Mall. Walking distance to Library of Congress (must do).

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days of business and extended over the weekend to explore and do the tourist thing.

Michael Love, Concierge, gave us advice that we now will give to anybody going to DC for the first time: Take the Monuments by Moonlight tour!!! It gives you a great layout of DC and helps you decide what you're going to see.

Invaluable.

As for the hotel;

Front desk and check-in was great.
Bistro Bis (restaurant that also provides room service) was fantastic.
Room was great with audio from the TV in the bathroom.
Internet connection was SLOW. Too slow. And, that's important for business, so that's a drawback.
The air-conditioning in the room (312) blew hard on one side of the bed which was a little inconvenient.
The bed was very comfortable.
Flat screen TV.
Smallish room, but no plenty of space for 2.

  • Liked — Staff was great
  • Disliked — Internet is way too slow.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FastPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2008
Hello FastPass.

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you liked the location. I am sure that Michael will be pleased to hear he did such a great job! I am happy he could help you. Thank you so much for staying and I do hope that you will stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Our travel agent put us into this hotel and I was anxious after reading the reviews of others who complained about the homeless situation. Fortunately, my urban kids were nonplussed at the few we saw and we walked back to the hotel from The Mall after the 4th of July fireworks! We also took the Metro early in the morning and in the evening and never had a problem.
This hotel had really nice staff! I was a bit squinty-eyed when informed the hotel had a top tier restaurant BUT the food is REALLY good. The maitre d' needs to be replaced as he was truly awful but I'll save that review for The Bix.
Our room was incredibly spacious and the beds were the best of our trip to the Southeast. We were so happy to go to bed. Great linens, too.
The bathroom was spacious, clean and had nice toiletries (Occitane: I'm now a fan of their shea butter lotion).
They had the coolest robes (wild animal prints; I gave serious thought to buying one and the cute PJs that matched it).
One warning: there was construction going on right outside our window so for those that need an afternoon nap or would delight in sleeping in Monday thru Friday: DON'T stay here until the work is done. We were up and out early each day and home late each night so this was not a problem for us.

  • Liked — Great beds, good food, good mass transit
  • Disliked — Horrid maitre d' in restaurant, long distance from most Mall museums (to walk)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WeGoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2008
Dear WeGoMama,

Thank you for posting your review. I am glad that you were able to stay with us. As in any large city there will be a population of homeless people on the street. However, I am glad that you children were not troubled by them and that you had an enjoyable July 4th fireworks!

I am happy that you liked the room and enjoyed the cuisine of Bistro Bis. I know that the hotel staff will be pleased that you think so highly of them. The robes and bath amenities are a fun luxurious treat, all part of the Kimpton experience.

I do apologize about the construction outside the hotel as a new building is going up. Typically, the noise is minimal and we receive few complaints. However, your comfort is the utmost importance to us and we will do everything to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
1,346 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing