We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montana
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Stayed at Hotel George a week ago. Our room on 7th floor was quiet, supremely comfortable! Absolutely loved the big bathroom shower and vanity and the big fluffy towels! The bed was wonderfully comfortable and made for a good night's sleep. The armchair and shawl were great to snuggle in with the daily paper. Quick walk to Union Station & Metro for easy access to sight seeing and shopping. The staff were all friendly, professional and helpful. The use of a yoga mat and TV channel were a great touch. The only thing missing that would have made my stay complete was coffee maker in the room. I WILL recommend Hotel George to others!

  • Liked — Location; Comfy beds;
  • Disliked — No coffee/tea in the room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Helena436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Hello Helena436,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Washington DC. I am glad that you liked the room and the bed was comfortable. Thank you for recommending the Hotel George and we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    546
    142
    33
    23
See reviews for
506
636
163
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Good hotel

Expensive internet

No tea/coffee making facilities in room

Close to Union Station & National Mall etc

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafariMan149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Hello SafariMan149,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. Please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman, WA, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

The staff at reception upon check in were fantastic and gave us a lot of useful information about the area and Union Station which is only a 2 minute walk away. We had a room on the 7th floor and it was fantastic! It was so big and clean. The room had fantastic touches like a nice big arm chair, throw rugs etc. The bathroom had a separate bathroom and shower and was so clean. The room had a big TV and DVD player. The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Capitol and about 10 minutes from Smithsonian Castle. This was a fantastic location and we would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. The staff were so friendly and accommodating.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, Great Location, Fantastic Room, Cleanliness, Great Value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RB1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Hello RB1127,

I am glad that the staff made such a positive impression on you and that you enjoyed your room. Thank you for staying with us and please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Another great Kimpton property. Same super comfortable mattress, large clean room, very quiet, attentive staff. Great location if you are a tourist as it's just 1/2 block from Union Station where you can easily get the tour busses or metro.

  • Liked — Kimpton mattresses are the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever experienced.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeWashingtonDC, General Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2009
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our location is outstanding and easy access to to Union Station. I look forward to welcoming you back in th near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I chose to stay in this hotel in Washington DC for a long weekend after extensive research on the internet. My husband and I booked a deluxe king room through Hotels.com and got a really good deal. The room was really big, a flat screen tv, robes, desk, internet connection, very clean with a lovely big bed, extremely comfortable. The bathroom again was big with a separate shower and bath, L'Occitane toiletries and fluffy white towels which were changed every day. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. I can't comment on the bistro as we didn't go there but it was always full when we walked by. We also didn't attend the wine reception at 5pm but we were invited to (too much to see and do). Although we didn't utilise the hotel as much as we could have had we been there for longer we couldn't have chosen better - it was in an ideal location, right next to Union Station with shops and restaurants (very reasonably priced breakfast places) and within walking distance of the Capitol, Library of Congress, The National Mall and museums as well as the Hard Rock Cafe and Legal Sea Foods, both of which I would recommend. The hotel is in the business district so it was very quiet at the weekend. I have absolutely no complaints, and would highly recommend The Hotel George. It was very exciting being in Washington just before the inauguration and we look forward to seeing all the places we have visited on the tv! I recommend the trolley tours which you can pick up at various stops around the city but Union Station is the first stop and at $35 each for two days it is very good value. Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. Other reviewers have commented on the homeless people around the station but you find this in a big city and we had no problems at all with them. The Metro system was very easy to use. HAVE FUN!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — We liked it all!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL0veAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distribution_Mgr, Area Distribution Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
Hello ILoveAmerica.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Washington DC. We appreciate it. Thank you also for leaving valuable comments for other readers. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that you will be able to return to us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed at the Hotel George in early Jan. with a special, where the room worked out to only $118/night. The best part of this hotel is the location--around the corner from Union Station, the Dubliner pub, and close to the Capitol. You won't need a car here. I am a huge fan of their sister hotel the Hotel Triton in SF, but George isn't as whimsical--I guess DC is more conservative. The room was clean, with a great, comfortable bed, and they put us on the top floor upon request. It was still a little loud (sirens, garbage trucks), but I'm just not used to city noise. Shower was annoyingly narrow (no tub) but the water pressure was good. Guests who are quite overweight might have trouble fitting in the shower.

I normally stay at the Mayflower Hotel for work, and I love that hotel, so that is my only source of comparison in DC. HG isn't swanky or luxurious like the Mayflower, but the location is better. Staff was very nice. Bistro Bis for breakfast was overpriced (4.50 for coffee) but service was great. The next am we went to Starbucks, around the corner, and there are also options at Union Station. We also bought snacks/drinks at Au Bon Pain most days (a quick walk in Union Station), although they do have free wine in the lobby during the week.

  • Liked — location. friendly staff
  • Disliked — boring halls with cheap, motel-looking doors
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Glacier, Montana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The hotel and its amenities are beautiful and modern. The staff is as helpful and friendly as you could want. The place is perfectly located within walking distance of Capitol Hill, Union Station, the Smithsonian Museums, and other sites. You couldn't do better!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing