We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay so close to union station!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great stay so close to union station!”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This hotel was great from the bed with great pillows to the front desk staff that assisted me with my early check in at 11 am. They really think of everything. The free WIFI for Kimpton In Touch members great speed easy to connect to. The location of the hotel is 1 block away from union station and you can see the Capitol bluiding from the corner of the street. Rooms are kind of small, but well equiped. A great choice when in DC.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    549
    143
    34
    24
See reviews for
512
642
164
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Hotel and staff couldn't have been any better. Great location for getting around and visiting DC. Just a few mins away from Union Station and Metro. Easy walking distance to Capitol and Smithsonian, where you can catch the circulator to take you around the mall. Or catch one of the tour buses that hop on hop off, at Union Station. Plenty of places to catch a quick meal around the area and at Union Station.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optom2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I have stayed at two other Kimpton hotels in Washington DC so I was familiar with the trendy chain. I got a very good rate on a standard sized room which was very large. I got a yoga mat at the front desk and had plenty of space on the floor to work out. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a large bath tub and a separate shower stall.
They were prepared for my early check in of 11:45 and made it fast and efficient. I was given a free $10 credit for the mini bar in my room because I was a Kimpton rewards member.
For future visits, I plan on staying at the other two Kimpton hotels in DC that I haven't tried yet but would definitely stay at Hotel George again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deirdrepanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

From the moment I arrived and prior to check-in, the staff assisted me with parking, check-in and answers to my questions. Friendly professional service all around. Clean room, but best of all it was quiet and I actually fell asleep in their very comfortable bed and slept though the night.
Location was key to me selecting this hotel. Everything you care to see is within walking distance. The only down side to my my visit was my hockey team lost however, the staff at the hotel more than compensated (lessen the pain of the lost) with thier great professional service and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefgm538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Everything exceeded my expectations. The staff were exceedingly helpful and the food at the resturant was wonderful.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jfdv4160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I have NEVER felt so welcome at a hotel as the Hotel George. It was great. I just can't say enough about how great all the staff was.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerDan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Our stay at Hotel George was perfect! Everyone was extremely courteous and friendly. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
253 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,432 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Property: Kimpton George Hotel
Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing