We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit the Mansion on O Street!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mansion on O Street
Ranked #116 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Ok so I live in DC and am not exactly a tourist of the area, but whether visiting or staying, you must visit this hotel/ restaurant/ event space. The decor is fascinating elegance and the charismatic staff is even better. Each hotel room, the majority of which are open for viewing, is unique, themed, and filled with antiques. This space would be noteworthy in any city, but the fact that it's in the heart of DC adds an element of nostalgia - not to mention the food is fantastic. I would recommend The Mansion on O Street to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeaghanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

We did not stay here, nor would I. The concept is fun - twisting halls, themed rooms and hidden doorways. However, there is a dank "old" smell permeating all the upstairs rooms. It has some good art and some really interesting objects & furniture, but for the most part, it's filled with flea market junk - really bad stuff, very little eclectic, cool things. Then, the basement - I almost got sickened by the horrible smell coming from the kitchen. There was no cooking going on, this was not a cooking smell. I had to leave the basement after a while because of it.

I live in DC and recommend you visit many of the other places around here first. Also, the smell and old furniture and rugs (I'm not talking antique old here) would be a nightmare to sleep in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The O Mansion is unique, fun, and interesting. Took my family here using the Living Social Deal for the Champagne Tour.

This mansion is an eccentric hotel that is was originally four row-houses located in Dupont Circle. It is four stories high including a basement. Three of the row houses were built in 1892 and the houses were connected via the basement and main floors. The last row house was added on in the 1990s. The walls were knocked down to connect the row houses and secret passageways and hidden doors were added. Every item and fixture in the house is sale with a wide variety of prices.

You can purchase vintage hats for $275 or large furniture for thousands. There are various guitars displayed throughout the mansion signed by famous artists like Bob Dylan, Britney Spears, etc.

My family thoroughly enjoyed looking for the secret doors and passageways. I believe there are about 34? They were not all doors to another room though. Some are storage areas, etc. We found about 16 hidden doors/passageways/little secret storage areas. There were several hotel rooms that looked recently used by guests that had blankets and pillows and towels thrown array..which was a little weird.....

My biggest gripe are all the signs that say "You found a secret door, keep moving!" or "this is not a secret door, keep searching!" It was just annoying!

I would recommend checking out The O Mansion but wait for the Groupon/Living social deals as there are many and come multiple times a year! They also hold several events throughout the year if you are interested.

There is also a bar area where you can purchase drinks and food and definitely rooms for you to hold an exclusive wedding or an extraordinary event.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank teephunknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked the self guided tour($8p.P.) on the internet and spent almost two hours in this awesome place.
We found 7 doors and bought a book. All of our family loved the wine cellar and bathrooms. Some rooms were so interesting decorated. We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel ind let them know what style you like (rustic, eccentric, modern, african, baroque an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Maren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Mansion on O St is like no other hotel or restaurant that you've ever been to. If you're looking for a "cookie-cutter" hotel-chain type hotel room, go elsewhere. If you're looking for a magical, romantic get-away, a place to finish writing your novel or a place to entertain hip business associates, The Mansion on O Street is just what the doctor ordered. Every room in this magnificent place has a different theme, a nice Gibson guitar or two to play (I'm not kidding), most rooms have luxurious bathrooms with saunas, bidets, multi-head showers...you name it.

Their Sunday brunch is simply the most lavish, well stocked brunch on earth... an eye-poping buffet of the most sumptuous treats imaginable. Do not miss this brunch if you're in D.C.!

I have stayed here many, many times and have to say that it's possibly the only place on earth where you could actually say in all honesty that "This has got to be the coolest place on earth.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to see the rooms available for you're stay, if not be sure to view them on The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've lived in DC for two decades, and one of my favorite spots is the O Street Mansion. It is situated on a residential street in the Dupont Circle neighborhood. It's a hotel, a restaurant, and an event venue rolled into one, with the look and feel of a warm, welcoming old mansion. The place oozes with character, homey comfort, serenity, and positive energy. Each of the guest rooms has been redone with its own theme, and it's always an adventure to stroll through the house and admire them. My favorite is the John Lennon room. I've been to the Mansion for many events, including SRO Concerts -- I've seen artists like JD Souther, Tom Constantin, and Bobby Keys give great, intimate performances there. And the story of H.H. Leonard and how she came to the Mansion is inspirational. I highly recommend this place for a stay, for dinner or brunch, or for a concert. It is like a serene oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I took my visiting girlfriend here for her birthday. We spent probably an hour on the Chestnut Tree tour and on a guided exploration. It was incredible and our guide gave us so much information on the little treasures and secret rooms throughout the house. I will definitely return on my own and really spend some time. So cool that everything (almost) is for sale!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nywrldtvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#101 of 142 in Washington DC
205 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Dupont Circle
Tabard Inn
Tabard Inn
#109 of 142 in Washington DC
352 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#8 of 142 in Washington DC
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on O Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on O Street

Address: 2020 O St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-5912
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £303 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion on O Street 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 rooms and 70 secret doors, The Mansion is one of the most unique properties in the world. Conveniently located in historic Dupont Circle, within walking distance to Embassy Row and The Philips Collection - The Mansion offers short and long term lodging, world-class cuisine and an inspiring environment that will create lasting memories for everyone that visits. Our ever-changing spaces are ideal for executive lodging, meetings,retreats, private dining, receptions and more. The Mansion has 23 uniquely themed guest rooms, suites, and residences; a two story Log Cabin, John Lennon Suite, Safari room, a hidden wine cellar and more. Named a Washingtonian Magazine's Hidden Gem, The Mansion has been featured on the Travel Channel's "Mega Mansions" as well as numerous books, and magazines including National Geographic Traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mansion on O Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On o Street Hotel Washington Dc
Mansion On o Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing