We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
95
23
7
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
23
7
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scavenger hunt john lennon secret door secret passages champagne tour rosa parks log cabin room music memorabilia unique rooms museum beatles neighborhoods metro
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We did not stay here, nor would I. The concept is fun - twisting halls, themed rooms and hidden doorways. However, there is a dank "old" smell permeating all the upstairs rooms. It has some good art and some really interesting objects & furniture, but for the most part, it's filled with flea market junk - really bad stuff, very little eclectic, cool things. Then, the basement - I almost got sickened by the horrible smell coming from the kitchen. There was no cooking going on, this was not a cooking smell. I had to leave the basement after a while because of it.

I live in DC and recommend you visit many of the other places around here first. Also, the smell and old furniture and rugs (I'm not talking antique old here) would be a nightmare to sleep in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The O Mansion is unique, fun, and interesting. Took my family here using the Living Social Deal for the Champagne Tour.

This mansion is an eccentric hotel that is was originally four row-houses located in Dupont Circle. It is four stories high including a basement. Three of the row houses were built in 1892 and the houses were connected via the basement and main floors. The last row house was added on in the 1990s. The walls were knocked down to connect the row houses and secret passageways and hidden doors were added. Every item and fixture in the house is sale with a wide variety of prices.

You can purchase vintage hats for $275 or large furniture for thousands. There are various guitars displayed throughout the mansion signed by famous artists like Bob Dylan, Britney Spears, etc.

My family thoroughly enjoyed looking for the secret doors and passageways. I believe there are about 34? They were not all doors to another room though. Some are storage areas, etc. We found about 16 hidden doors/passageways/little secret storage areas. There were several hotel rooms that looked recently used by guests that had blankets and pillows and towels thrown array..which was a little weird.....

My biggest gripe are all the signs that say "You found a secret door, keep moving!" or "this is not a secret door, keep searching!" It was just annoying!

I would recommend checking out The O Mansion but wait for the Groupon/Living social deals as there are many and come multiple times a year! They also hold several events throughout the year if you are interested.

There is also a bar area where you can purchase drinks and food and definitely rooms for you to hold an exclusive wedding or an extraordinary event.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank teephunknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked the self guided tour($8p.P.) on the internet and spent almost two hours in this awesome place.
We found 7 doors and bought a book. All of our family loved the wine cellar and bathrooms. Some rooms were so interesting decorated. We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel ind let them know what style you like (rustic, eccentric, modern, african, baroque and so on and the will find you the perfect room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Maren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Mansion on O St is like no other hotel or restaurant that you've ever been to. If you're looking for a "cookie-cutter" hotel-chain type hotel room, go elsewhere. If you're looking for a magical, romantic get-away, a place to finish writing your novel or a place to entertain hip business associates, The Mansion on O Street is just what the doctor ordered. Every room in this magnificent place has a different theme, a nice Gibson guitar or two to play (I'm not kidding), most rooms have luxurious bathrooms with saunas, bidets, multi-head showers...you name it.

Their Sunday brunch is simply the most lavish, well stocked brunch on earth... an eye-poping buffet of the most sumptuous treats imaginable. Do not miss this brunch if you're in D.C.!

I have stayed here many, many times and have to say that it's possibly the only place on earth where you could actually say in all honesty that "This has got to be the coolest place on earth.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to see the rooms available for you're stay, if not be sure to view them on The Mansions website they are all 100% unique.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've lived in DC for two decades, and one of my favorite spots is the O Street Mansion. It is situated on a residential street in the Dupont Circle neighborhood. It's a hotel, a restaurant, and an event venue rolled into one, with the look and feel of a warm, welcoming old mansion. The place oozes with character, homey comfort, serenity, and positive energy. Each of the guest rooms has been redone with its own theme, and it's always an adventure to stroll through the house and admire them. My favorite is the John Lennon room. I've been to the Mansion for many events, including SRO Concerts -- I've seen artists like JD Souther, Tom Constantin, and Bobby Keys give great, intimate performances there. And the story of H.H. Leonard and how she came to the Mansion is inspirational. I highly recommend this place for a stay, for dinner or brunch, or for a concert. It is like a serene oasis in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews