We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no service - poor food - glad to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mansion on O Street
Ranked #115 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed 14 February 2006

The lunch buffet was not exciting, the pork dry, coffee cold. We had to ask for water or milk for coffee; our request was treated like it was an imposition. One bathroom, although expensively decorated, was so small that one could not move in it without banging into the walls. We were very glad to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 124 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
17
Reviewed 6 February 2006

I just have to agree with a previous poster that there is just no service at all. Once you paid them, the service stops there.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Huntsville Alabama
19
Reviewed 14 November 2005

This pass weekend I had the chance to stay at the Mansion on "O' Street. The creation of every room or hallway was spectacular. Everywhere you go, you have something different to look at. Whether it be art work or old books and jewelry. The food was something spectacular. They did have breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also had a kitchen that was stocked, so if you wanted to cook something yourself. But, my hat is off for the chef, he made some magnificant meals for us. The desert was out of this world.
This hotel is something very special, it is not like your everyday stuff shirt hotel. Very relaxed atmosphere. The owners were very gracious and attentive to our needs. I thouhgt the history behind this hotel was very empressive.
I will positively make an effort to stay again. Another thing, you can read all the other comments about this hotel, but go and make your own opinion .
Everyone is different.
DM

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2005

Wonderfully eclectic and romantic, yet also frustrating and at times downright unfriendly, the Mansion on O Street has the potential to be truly special but ultimately did not quite deliver for us. The highlight is the hotel itself. Uniquely designed rooms with features you will not find anywhere else (e.g., movie beamers, giant size chess boards in the bathroom, holograms devoted to John Lennon etc,). Common areas are just as much fun, with knick-knacks everywhere (everything is for sale), secret passageways, lots of over-the-top chandeliers. (the kids will love it!).

The negative aspects of the Mansion pertain mainly to the way the hotel is managed. Reservations are taken by email, not by phone. It can take several days for your reservation to be confirmed. Final bills are charged to your credit card without any breakdown of costs. When we called the Mansion to report a significant mistake (i.e., overcharge) in our bill, we were instructed to “send us an email”. In the end, it took well over a month to resolve the dispute. Finally, the management (H and Ted) couldn’t be more different. Ted is good-natured and will find the time to assist whenever there is a problem, but H can be downright rude. Considering that you are paying 5-star rates, it is completely unacceptable to be treated with anything but 5-star service.

The O Mansion room rates reflect the effort that must have gone into designing the place: rates start around $200 (very small rooms, some with shared bathrooms). The nicer rooms are priced around $350/$550. Some multilevel suites top $1000 night.

Our advice: if you desire something out of the ordinary, have a lot of patience, and can manage to only deal with Ted during your stay, we recommend the Mansion on O Street as an intriguing and private place to stay in Washington DC. Otherwise, do yourself a favour and go with the 4 Seasons or the Ritz.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank vactionerAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pompano Beach,Fla
12
Reviewed 21 July 2005

Had a wonderful time at The Mansion. The food and service was perfect. The room was beautiful...I will go back as soon as possible...the best place for a vacation. J.J. Pompano Beach, Fla

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2005

Well, let's just start out as saying ??? I have to agree with a previous poster here, this place (although neat to look at and explore) has no service. If you are going to pay the price they are asking you would think they could at least have a good breakfast and make the coffee for you. When we arrived had to ring the bell numrous times to get in, finally the innkeeper came back from dinner to let us in. Once we setteled on a room (our fault) things were good. Room was cool but I like it that way. We did explore this interesting place and it was fun, just dissapointed with the mornings. They need to offer more information. Help with checki out is needed badly. When they parked my car they never brought my key's back to me so upon trying to check out they could not find anyone who knew where my key's were. Finally they checked the desk and there they were. I don;t think I would stay again, way to pricey for no service. Some may like it though. I am glad I did it once!

10  Thank lstpelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridge, England
15
Reviewed 6 April 2004

These people deserve some serious respect. Ted, H, Jersey, Helena, Pat and the rest of the team made this one of the most enjoyable and relaxing stays in a capital city I have ever experienced. Excellent food, which stands alongside the best restaurants in the world, no hassle, total chill, but attentive when required (find me another hotel in the world that will find a guest tequilla and cigarettes at 2am)The Amnesia Bar is a "Concept" that delivers!But seriously, if you want to unwind in a nice atmosphere, if you love art and music, if you hate business hotels, if you love life, this is the place for you. I will never stay anywhere else in Washington!! I have 10 other collegues who will say the same!Cheers steveb

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#102 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
89 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on O Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on O Street

Address: 2020 O St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-5912
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £301 - £647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansion on O Street 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 100 rooms and 70 secret doors, The Mansion is one of the most unique properties in the world. Conveniently located in historic Dupont Circle, within walking distance to Embassy Row and The Philips Collection - The Mansion offers short and long term lodging, world-class cuisine and an inspiring environment that will create lasting memories for everyone that visits. Our ever-changing spaces are ideal for executive lodging, meetings,retreats, private dining, receptions and more. The Mansion has 23 uniquely themed guest rooms, suites, and residences; a two story Log Cabin, John Lennon Suite, Safari room, a hidden wine cellar and more. Named a Washingtonian Magazine's Hidden Gem, The Mansion has been featured on the Travel Channel's "Mega Mansions" as well as numerous books, and magazines including National Geographic Traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mansion on O Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On o Street Hotel Washington Dc
Mansion On o Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing