We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
97
25
8
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
25
8
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scavenger hunt secret door champagne tour john lennon rosa parks secret passages log cabin room music memorabilia unique rooms guest rooms four seasons museum beatles townhouse privacy neighborhoods dust
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This place is so. Much. Fun. I've been to DC several times, having done all of the Smithsonian museums a few times, and for a surprise this past trip my friend bought us tickets for the champagne tour. I had literally no clue what to expect, with everyone having said very little about it before we went, and the whole experience is just as others have said - it is difficult to describe or categorise! There are 100 rooms with 70+ secret doors to find throughout, and while it is a LOT harder than you think (the average is between 2 and 7!) the rooms are so much fun to walk through. Everything in the rooms is for sale, and they have some really cool stuff throughout them. There's a two-story log cabin room, a room themed around Rosa Parks, a room themed around John Lennon and one about Winston Churchill. There is so much cool history in the whole place, it is just something really different to do. Doing the champagne tour gives you a glass of bubbly for walking around. I had such a fun time doing this, and will undoubtedly be recommending it to anyone going to DC in the future. The one thing I will say as warning is that it is a lot easier to do via the metro, it is really close to Dupont Circle, as we had a hard time finding on-street parking.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Their website is absolutely terrible, displaying a large variety of tours about which little information is given, and the reservation process is extremely tedious. First time I tried to register there, I needed to complete the whole registration process to learn that the museum was exceptionally closed on the day I asked! Eventually I could book the secret door tour for another day, and visit the place. Interesting, fun and crazy place, as you will read from other reviews. Even if you come here to look for their secret doors, I would recommend to take their “magical history tour” at 15$, rather than their “secret door tour” at 25$: in either case, you will have the possibility to visit the museum as long as you want, and to look for secret doors; and they don’t really give you any special information during the 3 minutes brief before the self-guided “secret door tour”, except optionally informing you about one secret door in the basement (which was, indeed, very cool). I’m also a little bit skeptical that there would really be 70 secret doors – even when counting “double doors” (you enter through one and exit through another on the other side) as two doors (in which case their claim that “if you find two [secret doors] you’re above average” is false, since you’re virtually certain to find at least one double door, e.g. by accident, by seeing people exiting one of them). I suspect you need a very liberal counting for reaching 70, like including nondescript “doors” under some beds that just open to a small space (I could not know if there were indeed secret doors or not). It would have been good to have a sign behind each secret door to confirm you that you have indeed found one and makes the searching process more rewarding – not being sure about whether you found a secret door or not makes the searching process sometimes frustrating. Anyway, the few large secret doors that you will find are really cool. Look for the “zombie door”!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank R0main_B_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

My friend discovered this most amazing place...part cultural museum, part flea market, part hotel and all-around whimsical! We took the basic $15 tour which included a group introduction to the museum’s history with a docent in the room that’s used for intimate concerts. Michael Jackson performed here and announcements for upcoming performances can be found in their website. Just about everything is for sale except (for example) the numerous guitars once owned or signed by famous people that are on loan. The suites that aren’t currently occupied can be walked through. Books and record albums (all for sale) are covering the walls. There’s even a two-story log cabin within one of the five connected mansions. Some of the rooms have themes such as the John Lennon room, Beatles room and an area devoted to Rosa Parks —?one of the museum’s heroes who lived there for 10 years. An artist-in-residence also lives there. The museum is notable for its hidden doors without knobs that are pushed or pulled to reveal another chamber or building.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank SophieBlue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We have lived in DC for over 10 years and thought we had discovered everything quirky to do in town, but were delighted to stumble upon the Mansion on O. Chose to go with visiting family on a very rainy day in town and had a fun 90 minutes ;LOOKING AT thousands of keepsake items and LOOKING FOR secret doors leading to hidden rooms and passages.

Room tip: Lots of themed rooms if you want to stay the night, but mansion also serves as museum for people who just want to look around.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We did the Secret Door and it was a lot of fun. You have to find your way through secret doors and covert passages. You don't get a map but they offer a short briefing. Keep your eyes open. It's a lot of fun

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank gracefultower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews