We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As immaculate and well-run as a German or Swiss hotel...and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodley Park Guest House
Ranked #3 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“As immaculate and well-run as a German or Swiss hotel...and friendly”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Nice surprises are in store for you at the Woodley Park Guest House. Still as immaculate and well-run as a German or Swiss hotel, the guest house’s lower level was reconfigured and completely renovated in December 2008 and January 2009. There are now just three large rooms on this level, each with a private bath. Interesting features on this level include a dramatic ebony-colored oak bedstead in room 107, a wonderful brass bedstead in room 106, upholstered chairs for reading or conversation in the rooms, good-sized closets, throws to wrap yourself up in (they are in all rooms of the guest house now), and extra-deep granite-topped vanities and large stall showers and European fixtures in each bathroom.

What is no surprise for the return visitor (I return frequently)—but what will be a unique experience for the new guest—is the welcome and warmth you will find in the guest house. You will feel very quickly that the guest house is your house and that you are a part of a community where you can have both company and privacy. One of the owner/managers—Courtney, Raymond, or Laura—always hosts breakfast and introduces each guest to everyone else as he or she enters the breakfast room. You are treated with respect and as a friend. Whether you’re the new congresswoman in town, in your twenties exploring Washington, a researcher attending a conference at the National Institute of Health, or parents attending your child’s graduation at one of the local universities, you’ll find, that, somehow, the owners create an environment in which you will be comfortable and appreciated

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    37
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
156
105
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

I am a frequent business traveler and, enjoying the more personal milieu of a Bread & Breakfast to that of hotels, have sought out B & Bs in many American and European cities. Seldom have I come across an establishment that exceeds the friendship and comfort provided by the hosts of the Woodley Park Guest House. Why do I return there time after time? Woodley Park provides all the basic needs. There are the creature comforts and support. The B & B is spotlessly clean; a friendly staff attends to all ones needs and graciously responds to one’s naïve questions. With Washington’s Metro system on the adjacent corner the whole city is readily and affordably accessible, and the choice of rooms allows a spectrum to match a wide range of budgets. What is special is the clientele. On each visit I have met a new cross section of the professional and vacationing world. Where can you meet people from across the globe, and other professionals such as convention going endocrinologists, mathematicians, neonatal specialists, lawyers, architects, educators, and writers? Conversations at breakfast, mediated by our host, Courtney Lodico, allow one to vicariously learn about the diverse world around us. The language and accents are new. New words and insights abound. One learns from a microcosm of our complex global community. Few situations in our modern technological world provide such opportunities for rich conversation.

  • Liked — Friendliness and comfort
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VintageWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I stayed at the Woodley Park Guest House for Barack Obama's Inauguration. My experience during this week would not have been the same if I stayed anywhere else. The staff was great and so friendly, the rooms were clean and newly renovated. The bed and breakfast is beautiful and it is located in one of the best locations in Washington, in a quiet collegiate neighborhood across the street from a red line metro stop, with tons of great restaurants a block away. It was a great location for the festivites as it was away from the downtown crowds, yet a close metro ride to all the festivities. The group of people staying there were so great, we all clicked and had a wonderful time at breakfast comparing the days experiences. On the night before the Inauguration, the staff arranged a wonderful wine and cheese party with all kinds of drinks and food, it was a blast. The staff was so helpful and genuinely concerned if we were late getting back at night. I sometimes have to travel to Washington for conferences and I definately will be staying here again. I highly recommend the Woodley Park Guest House.

  • Liked — Beautiful architecture and furnishings, great location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trailergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. While a nice location, the room was very small. The customer service awful as the owner was rude and her staff followed suite. I would never stay there again ; I recommend a hotel where the staff is trained to provide quality service and where the customer is always right.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank sklyerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCInnkeepers, Owner at Woodley Park Guest House, responded to this review, 2 February 2009
The situation described by this reviewer was not a customer service problem. These three guests were asked to leave the Woodley Park Guest House for blatant violations of our policies, which they had agreed to both verbally and in writing. In almost nine years of ownership and more than 30,000 guests, this is only the third time we have had to ask guests to leave the house. As unfortunate and upsetting as these situations are, it is our responsibility as owners and hosts to operate the Guest House in a manner that ensures all of our guests the comfort, safety and personal hospitality promised on our website. As our many positive Trip Advisor reviews clearly attest, we have a tremendous track record of achieving that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2009

The Guest House is absolutely beautiful. The room that my wife and I stayed in, #108 is located in the basement. Don't be fooled as these are the best, largest and most recently renovated of the rooms. And the room does have a window so you won't feel closed in. The room was beautiful and well appointed with a desk plus two other comfortable sitting chairs. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is spacious with a hot shower. The only downside was that the room, was more often than not, chilly. It seems that they do not raise the heat past 68 degrees. And in mid-January, that's not good enough. Thankfully we had brought along extra clothing to wear to bed. But one night my wife had to actually place her overcoat on top of the blanket to get warm while she lay in bed. All that said, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The staff is so, so friendly and informative. One of the biggest pluses is that the location is wonderful. You'll be staying in a 'local' DC neighborhood without the tourists. You'll feel like a local. And the selection of restaurants - I mean, quality restaurants- located just around the corner will amaze you. Everything from Italian to Afghan to Lebanese to French to Chinese to Mc Donald's. And lastly, the Metro stop, Woodley Park, is a three minute walk from the inn. And the travel time to get to the National Mall by Metro is all of 10 or 15 minutes. I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Cold room temperature
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dabro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasant hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

The staff at the Woodley Inn are very rude. They are not very helpful and are quite snotty. The rooms are cute and the location is in a nice neighborhood in the District. In this day and age customer service is most important and both the owner and front desk receptionist were unpleasant and didn't seem to go out of their way to help their guests. Will not stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice Location
  • Disliked — Terrible custmer service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCInnkeepers, Owner at Woodley Park Guest House, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
The situation described by this reviewer was not a customer service problem. These guests were asked to leave the Woodley Park Guest House for blatant violations of our policies, which they had agreed to both verbally and in writing. In almost nine years of ownership and more than 30,000 guests, this is only the third time we have had to ask guests to leave the house. As unfortunate and upsetting as these situations are, it is our responsibility as owners and hosts to operate the Guest House in a manner that ensures all of our guests the comfort, safety and personal hospitality promised on our website. As our many positive Trip Advisor reviews clearly attest, we have a tremendous track record of achieving that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossford109
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2008

For those who enjoy watching television, the Woodley Park Guest House may seem to be the antithesis of an enjoyable respite. However, the familial nature of those who run the establishment, combined with the Inn's location and collection of books provide more entertainment than any television could ever hope to offer. A hop, skip and jump from both a Metro stop and the National Cathedral, the Woodley Park Guest House is minute from all of D.C.'s major attractions. Though you may endeavor to spend your time touring Washington D.C., you will find that the attraction of the Guest House draws you back for an appealing evening filled with conversation with inn managers and fellow guests. Note: Your included breakfast offers a truly delicious fruit salad.

  • Liked — Felt like home.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rossford109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
6,550 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
2,463 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodley Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodley Park Guest House

Property: Woodley Park Guest House
Address: 2647 Woodley Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodley Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Woodley Park inn is located in downtown Washington DC, convenient to everything you want to see and do in the Nation's Capital. Just steps to the Metro, and a short walk from the National Zoo and Adam's Morgan, in safe and historic Woodley Park, our bed and breakfast in Washington DC is ideally located for business or leisure travelers. Relax in comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms at our Washington DC B&B and enjoy a delicious complimentary breakfast, newspapers and Internet access. If you are looking for an outstanding District of Columbia bed and breakfast, come experience world-class accommodations and hospitality at our Woodley Park Guest House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Woodley Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Park Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing