We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin quality with several flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #88 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Westin quality with several flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights on business. I really wanted to try this Westin because I like the Westin Arlington Gateway in Ballston so much, but I won't come back here. The room has good Westin aspects - bathrobe, comfy bed, neutral decor, those nice green leaf soaps, Complimentary bottled water, in-room coffee with real cream, and a refrigerator. But. The room and bathroom are smallish. My big problem is that it was hard to sleep because I had a 1st floor room on the atrium. I did not mind looking out over the atrium like some other reviewers; my problem was the noise. You can hear the people in the lobby until at least midnight when it finally starts to quiet down. The up side to being on the atrium is that I could pirate the wireless from the lobby and not pay the outrageous $12.95/night connect charge. The remodel is essentially done, but two working elevators were V-E-R-Y slow. At one point another guest and I decided to walk down the stairs, because we had mistakenly gotten off on the Mezzanine, but there were no obvious stairs and we ended up in the service part of the hotel. I was really sort of shocked by the dingy, unpleasant, smelly conditions in this non-guest part of the hotel - it cannot be very pleasant for the staff. I decided to eat in the hotel restaurant my first night, but I went in and walked around a bit, trying to get someone's attention to ask if they had food or table service, and none of the staff made eye contact. I a couple with little kids who had menus, so obviously there was food to be had. Finally I just left and walked 1/2 mile over my fall-back place on 19th St - too bad. With so many hotels in this area there is just nothing compelling about this Westin.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before midnight, be sure you don't get an atrium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyberry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    299
    139
    57
    34
See reviews for
193
168
34
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I travel to DC 2x a year and I either stay here or at The W. Since my client is near Westin, I opted this hotel for this trip. I like the fact that they updated their lobby. However, their front desk weren't that accommodating. They're too busy with "work" that they forget to be "hospitable".

The room is well maintained, clean and spacious. Though I would've preferred a room with a view instead of a parking lot next door. The bed on the other hand is heavenly. Slept like a baby. Love the bathroom, especially the shower.

Starbucks on the lobby is a bonus but be prepared to wait. There's only 1 person running this location.

The Westin DC City Center is walking distance from the cool shops and booming restaurants on 14 Street up to U street. I really enjoyed that walk. So much to see, do and check out.

It is also half a mile away from the White House and a mile and half away from Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, WW2 Memorial and the museums.

Not bad for the location. Price is OK. I just wish the people who works are nicer. They need to learn to smile and focus on the client and not just on what they were doing behind the desk.

P.S. Go eat THE PIG!!!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a room facing the M Street or 14th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoHoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned home after a 6 day stay ( April 13 to 19). I stayed with my husband and daughter 14 years and son 11 years. I was very nervous having read all the negative reviews. We booked a studio suite room which had 2 double beds and a sofa bed.

I had been unable to get any hotel in Washington to guarantee a connecting king/double to a twin room with the exception of the mandarin oriental ( I was not keen on its location and complaints of train noise) and the four seasons( almost £2000 extra for 6 days and higher up in Georgetown so not able to walk to the sights).

When we checked in at 1605 the front desk tried to put us in a double double facing the street but my husband pointed out that we had booked the studio suite. We were told that it wasn't ready and would be about 40 minutes. We were given vouchers for drinks. After 60 minutes they offered us the use of a temporary room to use facilities and drop our bags so that we could go out sightseeing. Our bags had been moved to our room when we returned in the evening.

The studio suite was a very large space with 2 double beds and a sofa bed and 2 armchairs. This allowed my children to have a bed each. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, and the shower was excellent.

We were on the 8th floor so experienced problems with only 2 out of 4 functioning elevators which was irritating. We sat in the lobby one night for a post dinner drink but the atmosphere was very bland and business-like, unimpressive and unwelcoming.

I would rather not stay here again but for a family of four who only use the hotel to bathe and sleep and have so much space the room cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the second time I have been to this property. The renovation, almost complete, incorporate a redesign of the interior lobby and restaurants that is very welcoming. The staff was attentive and professional and the location to the White House, and other favorite DC attractions, is hard to beat. I would not let the almost complete renovation deter you from staying here, especially for the right rate. This property is also within walking distance to Barcelona D.C. an excellent off property restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is average but getting the accounting dept to return calls is impossible. I just need an invoice. It's been two weeks, no less than 6 voicemails and no response from anyone at this property. This place is in poor shape anyway. They are under renovation. Don't expect to sleep in past eight. There are plenty of properties in DC. Choose another location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gms7697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is recently renovated which is nice however the elevators were not in service during our stay - at times only 1 of 4 elevators worked - at the moment all 4 are out of service. We are on the10th floor with a baby in stroller so the stairs are not an option. What a mess!!! Staff seem indifferent about this issue. Everyone is upset and the hotel is very crowded for Easter/spring break. I had so many issues booking this hotel on SPG which already made me frustrated. At check in I was told they would send free drink coupons to the room but we have already spent 4 nights here and I have not seen them. I am SPG gold and have been increasingly disappointed with the service and hotels in this brand!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller99998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

2 of the elevators still not working with heavy Easter traffic. Stairs not really an alternative. When keys (all 3!) did not work anymore when returning in afternoon, then I was told it was my fault!

Rooms not done up, when arriving after long day at 4:15pm. I called to ask if it was possible to make them up ... still waiting!

Beer costs 8$.

Great location though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_5192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Loews Madison Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Property: The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing