We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, comfy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #61 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here on a Saturday night when I was in town for a wedding. It's definitely a business hotel, so it was pretty quiet and calm on the weekend which was nice, and it allowed us to get a very reasonable rate. It's a 12-15 minute walk to the White House, and sits on Thomas Circle which is quite lovely in its own right (a few historic buildings to look at). I was impressed by the little extras, namely two free water bottles, a robe (or 2?) to wear, and Starbucks coffee in the room. The bed was huge and supremely comfortable. I loved that checkout was noon, and that the front desk was very accommodating when we needed to check out even later than that (granted, that's another perk of staying a business hotel on a weekend - can't say what it would be like on a weekday). Yes, it looks like a typical chain hotel, so it's not recommended for someone who is looking for a boutique experience. My only complaint was that some rooms face the central atrium and don't have any exterior windows, so you have to choose between having the curtain open (towards the atrium) for light, or closing it for privacy (with no light). I had to go around the room and turn on each lamp separately because I wanted to close the curtain but still have light (technology in the rooms is a bit on the older side in that regard - no central button for all lights, outlets were under the desk and hard to reach, no fancy alarm clock or docking system).

Room Tip: If you care about having natural light, request a room that faces the exterior instead of the atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OysterJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a conference at the Convention Center (several blocks away). This is a really nice part of DC, and much more livable and safe than even 3 or 4 years ago. Short distance to many major attractions and the concierge is very helpful. Starbucks on-site.
The room was very nice, with a large sitting area and very modern facilities, including a bathrobe and high-end toiletries. The mini-bar refrigerator had room for outside purchases, and there was also a safe in the closet. Nice 'view' of the interior courtyard and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this Westin! The room was very nice and comfortable. It was a tad small for two people but everything was very nice. The staff were very nice. The hotel is designed as a courtyard with the windows looking out into the interior lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twosacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for a weekend - The hotel is very centrally located in a modern, rather faceless building, with a corporate, "Cookie-Cutter" feel to it. We did not like the very long, somewhat claustrophobic hallways and the grey color everywhere. The window in our room could not be opened - I'm not sure if that's the case for the rest of the hotel - and the air system was really quite noisy so we had to turn it off in order to sleep. Combine this with the rather hard beds, and we did not have the best night sleep in this hotel.
Parking is quite expensive, but as it was a weekend, we were able to find (free) parking in the neighborhood. The staff is friendly, but there were long lines for both check-in and cheek-out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Good day se9834a,
Thank you for being our guest and taking time to share your experience. We value your feedback and will address the noisy air system. We are proud of our Heavenly Beds and will ensure each of them is up to standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Westin in D.C. is like every other Westin in the world. They are consistently friendly, clean, professional, and are always in a good location. The staff at this particular Westin (I have been to others) was very attentive. We arrived at 3:30am and the security guard opened the door for us, explained the different amenities, asked if if we needed anything, and was very polite. The second night I went to the front desk asking if they could let me in my room because I did not have my key. The man at the front desk rightfully so declined my request because my name was not listed under the reservation. While it was a pain for me, it is good to know they have a strict policy of who is allowed in the rooms.

The location of the hotel is pretty good. It is located right downtown with the monuments and museums, and close by to Dupont and Georgetown, which I recommend going to both of those as well.

Overall, the Westin was a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is very centrally located and within walking distance of the White House, the National Mall and the Capitol. The room was clean with the usual heavenly bed and the amenities were all acceptable. We had a package which included breakfast buffet (not a huge choice but great quality food and friendly efficient service). We ate in the bar two nights. The caprese salad, burger, salmon and Waldorf salad were fresh and beautifully cooked and presented. Service there was great too. We had only one criticism but have not marked down the hotel for this...on check In, we were given one breakfast voucher for each of the 3 days. It was for 1 person only, we discovered the first morning. Our server remedied the situation (and got us one each) but seemed frustrated and remarked that it occurred a lot. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room looked on to the covered atrium. It was on a corner and had two outside walls adjoining the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed at the Westin in prior trips to Washington, which is one of the reasons I selected it for this trip. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The property is clean and the room is always very comfortable. The recent remodeling adds to the appearance and presentation without distracting from the service. One of the strong points of the hotel is its location within walking distance of many of the tourist sites visitors desire in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
2,366 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
2,395 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2704 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £127 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing