We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #86 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

It took 3 times to find a clean room. Staff very friendly about the situation and gave us free breakfast coupons.
This morning only one desk clerk on duty, no concierge. Had to ask directions at Starbucks.
Something missing at this hotel and chain lately.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day “Disappointed”,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I apologize for not being able to meet your expectations during this stay. If your journey brings you back to Washington DC, please contact me directly so I can ensure renewal.
Live well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    294
    134
    56
    34
See reviews for
191
166
33
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

we stayed 2 nights in june 2014, the hotel was still being re furbished however the room we had was excellent, all clean/fresh and newly painted, plenty of room space and hanging space in the closet. The staff were efficient and friendly.
The room still had some paint smears on the carpet corners and bathroom ceiling, but who cares, th efurniture was new and clean.
Wifi in the room was an extra cost, but free access was provided in the lobby.
Overnight parking was expensive at $50, the parking station around the corner was half the price.
Location was good, we could walk to the Whitehouse in about 15 minutes, and from there its an easy walk (provided you like walking which we do) from the Lincoln memorial to Capital Hill and all the Museums in between.
We ate out so I can't comment on the hotel food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I coordinated a large offsite meeting at this location and the top notch service that I received from the Sr. Sales Manager & the Food & Beverage coordinator has been outstanding, Although the meeting is far from over, I remain in contact with them and I do plan to book my next meeting in DC at the same venue. This location gives rock-star service!

Green Features: The staff was accommodating and exceeded my expectations.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is appears to be a recently renovated property and it shows beautifully. The lobby is sleek, efficient, and functional with work surfaces, seating areas, and bar/cafe adjacent to the lobby.

I'll explain the title to this review first. We drove a car into Washington and upon arriving at the hotel I inquired about parking. The attendant (who is not a Westin employee), said he would be happy to valet the car for $57 + taxes! I was in shock, I think I even laughed at the guy. Needless to say I declined that offer and asked where self parking was located. Now that he knew I wasn't a customer for this outrageous fee he threw out the the answer: 3 blocks away from the hotel as he pointed down "M" street. Rude, just plan rude. I then went to the concierge who, sheepishly said they did not have self-parking, and on Sunday (our day of arrival), the parking garage located in the hotel was closed. But - ah ha - the answer: park on the street at any metered space and on Sunday and overnight it is FREE! And sure enough I found a spot 25 feet from the entrance to the hotel. Undoubtedly a stroke of luck for sure.

After parking the car, check-in was less than fast and efficient. Although there were only a few guests checking in It appeared half the front desk staff was in training and the whole check in process was slow and somewhat dysfunctional.

We stayed on the 11th floor, Westin's preferred floor, and the room was outstanding in every way. Bay windows looked out over the lobby below. With the roof all windows there was plenty of natural sunlight coming through. The room was all new, rugs, furniture, etc. A small refrigerator was in the room that was both quiet and cold (as opposed to what typically exists in hotel rooms with refrigerators). Best parts: The bed was perfect Westin - their trademark Heavenly bed! It gave me the first good nights sleep in a week of travel. The bathroom: spectacular: A combination rain shower and hand-held shower; large well lit mirror and counter. Honestly, the best bathroom I can remember in a standard hotel room.

Room service dinner was good, just a burger but cooked perfectly and delivered hot.

We did not use the fitness room located off the lobby but it looked spacious and seemed to have all of the latest equipment.

All-in-all, I was very impressed with this Westin - save of course the car parking situation.

Room Tip: Always my preference: upper floors, away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKPORT- UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I walked into my first room and it was filthy. The management took 45 minutes to resolve the situation and the male manager became quite rude. still now after 7 days the General Manager has not contacted me to explain, despite 5 attempts. I asked them to move me to another hotel and I was declined. The rooms are aged and the refit to the hotel was purely cosmetic to the open areas, the rooms still need renovation. There is no swimming pool in this hotel, unlike others in the area. There was no restaurant open in the hotel - only a limited bar food service. The hotel is not cheap, and certainly needs to improve its overall standard. How dare the management become rude to me just because I dare find fault with there cleanliness.

The Washington Plaza (opposite) and Loews (next door) both seem a better option

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms are dark and don't even have a window. If you decided to stay id suggest a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIGELPHILLIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.I am sorry we did not deliver the Westin Experience for you and assure you I will look into your challenges and ensure appropriate follow up. I would like the opportunity to speak with you and offer a personal apology and renewal. If you have the opportunity please contact me directly.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

At $300/night, this is an expensive property. Like other Westins, the bathroom is very well appointed, the bed is quite comfortable, and the room itself is attractive. I was disappointed that the property does not have a club level as it meant I had to give myself some additional time in the morning to get breakfast. I had a room facing the inner atrium, so it was quiet and without any street noise. Check in was quick and easy. The elevators are somewhat slow. The closest metro stop is several blocks away. Taxi from DCA runs about $20.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinComanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Good day TwinComanche,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are re-modernizing our elevators to improve their speed and efficiency. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Washington DC City Center in the future.
Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for weekend trip in DC with my wife. Location is ideal for walking to all the monuments and museums. the bed was comfortable. my room was cold (felt like 68 degrees) which I enjoyed but my wife complained of being cold. the thermostat did not change the temperature despite being increased to 80. the room was modern, and clean. I felt the cost (55 dollars/day) was high for valet parking on weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Loews Madison Hotel
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Property: The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Address: 1400 M St. NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing