We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel will do the trick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at several Westin hotels (and others within the Starwood Hotels group) and while this isn't the newest or the best, it definitely was good enough for a little getaway. I stayed here with a friend for three nights end of July. The property is a little older but the recent renovation seems to have made a big difference. We got a good deal - after searching hotel deals for weeks online, I ended up getting the best price through the Starwood Hotels call centre ($179 USD which I thought was great for a Westin!). We were in room 521 and it was nice enough; only thing was we could here the elevators going up and down all night, so I would suggest asking for a room away from the elevators. The hotel is on M street, so on the north end of the downtown core. The closest Metro stop is McPherson Square which is a nearby three-block walk. We found all the major highlights (including all the way down to the Smithsonians, Capitol Hill, Newseum, restaurants, etc.) to all be within a walk-able distance. You can also take a Metro bus straight across the top end of the city (i.e. K, L, or M streets) to check out Georgetown - definitely worth spending some sightseeing time there and enjoying a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators because you can hear them going up and down all night long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grapegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

typical westin experience, very good. Quiet location, central to everything, clean rooms. Parking is extra, wifi in the lobby only. Good service and location, can walk to most of the sights. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It was an ok hotel...nothing really great stood out to me. The staff were friendly, and they were helpful with getting taxis cause I was traveling with my 88 year old grandma. The hotel was conveniently located near several restaurants one be Georgia Browns which was amazing. The room was small and very limited tv channels and there was not a pool. The nearest subway was also several blocks away so prepare for a lot of walking and taking taxis. One thing I did like a was the awesome fitness center and closer proximity to the White House. I actually enjoyed an awesome run one morning from the hotel to the White House and National Mall. Overall I was not too impressed with the hotel would not stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Good day,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to hear our team was accommodating for you. If your journey brings you back to Washington DC, please contact the hotel and ask for me so I can assist in enhancing your stay.

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

was on vacation with my son and mother n law. Everything was within walking distances. rooms was very nice and clean, the beds are so soft and the staff was very helpful. Concierge gave us a map that was very helpful and the taxis are just out side of the hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Griselda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is top notch and in the perfect location, being right down the street from The White House. The staff was extremely knowledgeable, attentive, and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The heavenly mattress was wonderful. It is also pet friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very clean hotel. Safe neighborhood. Starbucks in the lobby was extremely convenient. The bar downstairs was very nice and one of the waitresses was extremely friendly...wish I could remember her name. All of the staff was pleasant and warm, except Tiffany, one of the concierge. She seemed very annoyed and put out the two times I had questions (one was about a nighttime tour that had to be booked through the hotel and the other question was about the Trolley) She complained about having to be working late and complained about fellow staff members. My main issue with this hotel was the distance from everything. We were there to see the typical tourist attractions, and this hotel is not near any of them. The nearest Metro stop (which is an excellent subway system) is a good three blocks away. I should have looked at the map more closely and really examined the distances...you live, you learn. Like someone above me has posted, many of the rooms overlook the lobby. It was strange. Overall, a clean, pleasant Westin. Loved that bed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JordanMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were unfortunately only here for one night... wish i could have stayed longer! Loved everything about this hotel, from the large rooms, to the huge comfy bed, to the extremely helpful friendly staff! Location was excellent, so close to everything! Only wished they had free in room wifi... but they do in the lobby, so not to bad! Would definitely stay here again when visiting DC!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
2,357 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
1,774 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Address: 1400 M St NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2704 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing