We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Ranked #94 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I guess the hotel was being renovated so hence a lot of negative reviews. Except for a mediocre fitness center, the hotel is excellent.

I was upgraded to a City View on the seventh floor. The rooms are beautifully renovated and quite large. My King bed was heavenly :). The bathrooms are also good sized with excellent Westin shower and great bath products.

There is a coffee maker, safe, small fridge and iron and ironing board. No bathrobe.

The public areas are lovely and there were apples and fruit infused water for the guests. Service was friendly and professional.

A bit of a walk to the Metro but very doable. Convenient to great restaurants and shops on 14th Street corridor. Walked back from National Gallery.

Don't believe the naysayers. A great DC choice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    322
    145
    65
    39
See reviews for
212
181
35
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. My husband accompanied me on the trip and took the opportunity to explore Washington D.C.. He loved the central location and the fact that so many of the nation's monuments and great spots were so close to our hotel.

The layout of the hotel is a bit awkward for conference guests since we had to get off at the lobby and take another elevator down to the conference rooms. Otherwise the stay was great. There was some construction occurring during our stay, it took two elevators out of commission so it took a while to get to your floor. Otherwise, there wasn't much noise or anything else to worry about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItstheNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Westin was very nice for a business trip. The check in was quick even though I adjusted my departure. The room is large with the typical Westin amenities on the preferred guest floor. The room had some signs of use - marks on the chair and wall. Room service had a large variety of options, include the Superfoods choices. Food was good and delivered within 30 minutes. We had the breakfast buffet which was good and the service kept the coffee cup filled.

While it was perfect location for work (0.5 mile walk to work), I would choose a different hotel if I took my family to visit the DC sights since it is further than I prefer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nocruisesever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice upscale hotel. Beautiful inside the lobby. Very pricey for a normal family. Room and shower were nice with a big 55 inch TV set.Our view was looking out at other rooms.Service was nice with tips expected. Employees were nice.Good sandwich shop called The West Wing at street level.Good place to stay near all the attractions.

Room Tip: Kinda expensive area to stay but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at several Westin hotels (and others within the Starwood Hotels group) and while this isn't the newest or the best, it definitely was good enough for a little getaway. I stayed here with a friend for three nights end of July. The property is a little older but the recent renovation seems to have made a big difference. We got a good deal - after searching hotel deals for weeks online, I ended up getting the best price through the Starwood Hotels call centre ($179 USD which I thought was great for a Westin!). We were in room 521 and it was nice enough; only thing was we could here the elevators going up and down all night, so I would suggest asking for a room away from the elevators. The hotel is on M street, so on the north end of the downtown core. The closest Metro stop is McPherson Square which is a nearby three-block walk. We found all the major highlights (including all the way down to the Smithsonians, Capitol Hill, Newseum, restaurants, etc.) to all be within a walk-able distance. You can also take a Metro bus straight across the top end of the city (i.e. K, L, or M streets) to check out Georgetown - definitely worth spending some sightseeing time there and enjoying a meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators because you can hear them going up and down all night long!
See more room tips
Green Features: There's an option to forgo housekeeping and get $5 toward a food purchase instead. (saving water/laundry if you opt not to have towels and sheets changed during your stay)
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

typical westin experience, very good. Quiet location, central to everything, clean rooms. Parking is extra, wifi in the lobby only. Good service and location, can walk to most of the sights. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It was an ok hotel...nothing really great stood out to me. The staff were friendly, and they were helpful with getting taxis cause I was traveling with my 88 year old grandma. The hotel was conveniently located near several restaurants one be Georgia Browns which was amazing. The room was small and very limited tv channels and there was not a pool. The nearest subway was also several blocks away so prepare for a lot of walking and taking taxis. One thing I did like a was the awesome fitness center and closer proximity to the White House. I actually enjoyed an awesome run one morning from the hotel to the White House and National Mall. Overall I was not too impressed with the hotel would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Director of Rooms at The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good day,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to hear our team was accommodating for you. If your journey brings you back to Washington DC, please contact the hotel and ask for me so I can assist in enhancing your stay.

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Loews Madison Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
2,191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,629 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
181 reviews
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
2,061 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Property: The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
Address: 1400 M St NW, between 15th Street NW & Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2704 (Formerly Wyndham Washington)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a luxury hotel located 5 blocks from the Convention Center and the White House. Our hotel is near 2 metro stations and has 19,000+ sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Washington, Dc City Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc City Center
Washington Dc Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing