We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #106 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just stayed at the Tabard Inn and would thoroughly recommend it - it is charming, full of character, relaxing and in a great location. The breakfast was healthy and delicious and there were passes for the local gym included. Perfect place for holiday but maybe not for business traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestEndTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed here for get away for one night. I was able to make a room reservation at the last minute on a Graduation weekend and also secure a dining reservation (although we had to eat early.)

If you are used to a typical chain or bed and breakfast experience - you will be disappointed and should stay elsewhere. If you can handle old, quirky, amusing, worn, faded and charming - you will be happy. Any place with books in every room is a place I feel right at home in!

Check in and check out are old fashioned (you can hear a dot matrix printer in the background) and takes some time. You may get lost trying to find the right staircase. (But that made for some fun exploring.) The place is great for walking around and looking in the nooks and crannies. It feels like your grandmothers old house.

Our room was large ,comfortable and chock full of interesting art and antiques. There was a large closet. The bathroom was spacious enough. It was last renovated sometime in the 1980's. This shows, but everything worked, it was clean and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic.

The location is great for walking down to the White House area or Dupont Circle and exploring.

Dinner was the highlight of our stay. The food is great. Nothing we had missed the mark. The wine service was good. The ambiance and service were great. We relaxed in the lounge after and then took a walk around the block.

After heading to bed we realized two things - 1) the mattress was much too firm for our liking 2) we are on the front of the building and there is a bar next door in the Topaz Hotel. When that bar closed at 2 am, we were kept up for about an hour with people milling about, cars honking with music blaring, girls shrieking - the usual bar scene spilling out onto the street. If you can, book a room not facing the street! The next morning the area had returned to the usual peace and quiet.

Breakfast was the other let down. The menu for the breakfast included is limited but includes everything you would need to get going. You can also add to it from the regular menu and the staff made this easy to do. The food was good quality. The table we had was nice. There was an option to eat outdoors. However- service at breakfast was four steps down from the dinner service. We walked past two staff members too engrossed in a conversation to say hello. Our waitress forgot a beverage and a food item. When this was pointed out she made no attempt to bring them. At least the missed items were not on our bill.

Overall - I would return and recommend this hotel to others. It made for a nice night away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AzureMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I lived in dc for four years before moving away. My husband and I were returning fir new years and were so excited to get a room there for the weekend. I must admit, we were a but enchanted by the quaintness of the place and thought it would be special. However, from minute one to the minute we finally left there everything was absolutely awful. We had to hunt down staff ti get our key when we would return from being out, we got yelled at for hanging out in the lobby, the beds were barely sleep able and the breakfast was mediocre at best. Also, no ine ever hepled us with our bags coming in or leaving which i found surprising given tight stairwells. Overall, I'd give it a rating of "simply awful" and will not only never stay ere but strongly advise others looking for a place in dc not to stay there. Sad really.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We chose this hotel for our first stay in Washington DC after reading a 2009 article by Rowan Pelling in The Guardian. He wrote "It's worth going to Washington for the Tabard alone". We followed his advice.
The Inn, consisting of three picturesque, conjoined, early 1900s houses, lies on a quiet, tree-lined side street within walking distance of the White House.
Inside, all the rooms, from the entrance hall/reception area, to the lounge/bar area and all the passageways and staircases are decorated from floor to ceiling with early to mid- 20th century furnishings, trappings and memorabilia: paintings, prints, photographs, press cuttings and even a life-like dummy woman in a bath tub.
On first viewing, all this is very quaint, but on deeper inspection one gains an impression of a once glorious bloom now long faded, of decrepitude, of dust and decay yearning for a thorough spring-cleaning or even a major renovation.
Our room was spacious, clean and airy but it too, especially the bathroom, smacked a little of neglect rather than the aimed-for quaintness.
The creaking floors of our own room and the one above us, were not conducive to restful sleep.

The lounge/bar was so crowded in the evenings that it was almost impossible to find seating, to which we, as stay-in guests, felt we were entitled. The selection and quality of the food and drinks served here were excellent.
Later on, it was not easy to get a table in the restaurant but with some persistence, we succeeded. The tables were packed together, cheek by jowl, the noise was overwhelming but the food was first class. The balmy weather allowed us to escape to a more secluded courtyard for coffee.
The receptionists were efficient and helpful, though terse and lacking in warmth. The serving staff in the lounge/bar were kind but over-worked. The breakfast staff were downright surly.
All in all, this must have been a wonderful hotel twenty, thirty years ago but despite its apparent popularity, it is resting on its laurels.
If you are looking for an evening drink in a charming old-world setting and don't look too carefully into the nooks and crannies, this is a great place but we would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vjh7941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This is the most un-American hotel I've managed to stay in in the US (and I mean that not in the sense that Americans would find a certain behaviour un-American, I mean it in a good way - it's very European in feel and very charming, and stands out from 99.99% of everything else). Perhaps that's a comment more on my experience of hotels in the US than anything else, but this is so far from the norm of the corporate type Holiday Inn or Best Western jobbies that are the mainstay of the US hotel business that it almost seems like you not even in the US. Step through the front door and you enter a different country - a country in which houses have individual character, where you get that faded charm of glories past and present, where you sink back in a leather arm chair that's not quite straight with a glass of good whiskey... I liked it. It had free wifi too (just to give one practical bit of feedback). Oh, and complementary breakfast. No TV in my room, and I didn't miss it. I've only marked it down on sleep quality coz it had a foam mattress, and I don't like those. But that's very minor.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveling-light88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I actually stayed here a few years ago with my 70 year old mother and her friend so that they could "do" DC. From the Tabard, we could walk or subway everywhere, and the accommodations were charming. Food was excellent!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank experimentaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Friends had stayed at the Tabard a long time ago and liked it so we booked 2 nights at the end of our stay. Thank goodness we weren't able to book our whole trip to DC at the Inn. Front desk personnel were usually on their lap tops and uninterested in our presence or any questions we had. The lounge areas which some find 'quaint' I felt was stuffy, dark, and dingy. One reviewer said "bring your own light bulbs" and I totally agree. The website shows well lit rooms so, obviously, they had the photos staged to look open and inviting. No one offered to help carry our bags up the 52 steps we had to climb. Mattresses seemed as old as the furniture and after the 2nd night we left for the airport and caught an earlier flight home because my back pain was horrible. There was a charge for a newspaper, no ice machines, not even a TV in a common area to hear the news.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rkk318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
1,311 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,319 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
182 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Address: 1739 N Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising a trio of late-1800s townhouses, this traditionally furnished hotel is a 6-minute walk from the Metro and 1 mile from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. The elegant, antiques-filled rooms are individually decorated, and provide free Wi-Fi. Some have private bathrooms or sitting areas. Rooms are stair-access only. Continental breakfast is included, as is access to a nearby gym. There's also a bar and lounge with occasional live jazz, plus a New American restaurant with a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing