We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience some history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #111 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Experience some history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Tabard Inn is a great place to stay in the city, but be far away from the cookie cutter chain hotels. It is the place to stay for a unique and quaint experience. Hospitality is great, food is excellent and atmosphere very welcoming! This was a ladies long weekend trip to experience the city and The Tabard Inn fit the bill.
However, this may not be the place for everyone. If you want a quiet romantic restaurant, it's not for you. The restaurant is small and noisy with an eclectic clientele that creates a warm and boisterous experience. The food was fantastic, and don't skimp on desert. You will walk it off the next day anyway! If you want elevators and pampered luxury, it's not for you. We found brownstone charm but no elevators, only winding staircases which took you to your room, each unique from the next. If you want Jacuzzi tubs, you'll find small bathrooms with charm instead of miles of marble. And if you have to have a TV in your room, it's rumored they have one that can be taken to your room but why watch TV when you can find someone famous in the restaurant?
All in all, a great experience and a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    94
    44
    32
    17
See reviews for
42
84
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This Inn is so perfect. In Dupont Circle on a charming street you are always welcomed to a wonderful setting and friendly staff. The rooms are all so different and comfortable that you never know what's in store once you check in. I have not had the opportunity to eat at the restaurant other than the continential breakfast included in the room but I understand the food is excellent. The place is always bustling with people and the bar and restaurant are always packed. I think that speaks for itself. The cozy sitting room is a gathering spot for so many that you feel surrounded by new friends. There's a Metro stop not far from the Inn but it's a great walk to the memorials and Smithsonian if the weather is nice. This was my second visit and I'll be back.

Room Tip: Some of the room have a shared bath. Make sure you request what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pghlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We booked this hotel stating that my mobility was an issue. Told 12 steps (actually 24). Never told tub was claw foot on riser. Couldn't get in. They want to charge me anyway. We left.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm the bathroom setup to make sure that you can get in and out of the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margorules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expatriate Southerner in Lancashire.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was a very pleasant place to stay, with a delightfully furnished, cosy room & comfortable bed. The quaint plumbing in the shared bathroom (forewarned of this!) worked adequately for me. The air conditioning was quiet & efficient. The complimentary courtyard breakfast was more than adequate, & the ambience with climbing plants & sculptures, & the helpful & friendly waiting staff delightful. The dining & reception rooms & bar were all comfortable & inviting. It was also well-situated in a pleasant neighbourhood near Dupont Circle, with easy subway connections to the city centre & Union Station.My only problem was a mix up in the ordering of my taxi when I left!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I love staying in hotels that add to the experience of a stay, rather than just being a place to sleep. The Tabard Inn was an excellent example of this. The room we stayed in was small but comfortable, and while it shared a bathroom down the hall with one other room, it turned out to be no problem at all, and we only saw the other guest once over the 4 days.

The room and the whole hotel was charmingly decorated to suit the style of the old apartment building. Every detail was thought of- our room had 4 adorable lamps, each unique and sourced by the owner, much better than just a standard fitting in the ceiling. Air conditioning in the room was an absolute relief, and the whole place was cool and also dimly lit, like a house, not a shopping centre.

The bathroom was a good size, with a fantastic "rainmaker" shower head. Very clean, very tidy, very well appointed.

The restaurant had FANTASTIC food. We had dinner there one night, and the only complaint would be there was just too much too eat! Breakfast each day was lovely, and locals and business people who weren't guests also thought it was good enough to come for. The bar was great in the evenings, again, lots of after-work drinkers enjoying great cocktails in a prohibition style lounge room. (One of several lounges throughout the hotel).

Staff were very helpful when we needed to book a taxi, buy a paper, or ask touristy questions.

One issue for guests- the quaint charm of the place means no elevators- so we had to lug our cases up the stairs. We're fit enough, so this was fine for us, and although we weren't offered help, the attitudes of the staff indicate that someone will give a hand if you ask for it.

We would definitely stay there again, and recommend the hotel to everyone. Even if you don't stay here, the restaurant and bar is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, so if you prefer a particular style, perhaps speak to staff when you make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grummitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We live in DC but needed a night in a hotel at short notice, so we booked the Tabard Inn because of its reasonable rates, central location near Dupont Circle and on the recommendation of a few friends. We were very pleasantly surprised. The antique furnishings are lovely, as was the atmosphere, reminding us of places we've stayed in France and Spain. The lobby also smelled of flowers, which was a nice touch.

The reception was only staffed by one person, so he was kept busy, but he was still courteous and patient. We needed an extra mattress or crib for our toddler daughter and he immediately went in search of something to suit us, which was appreciated even though he came up empty-handed. We also needed a glass of milk for her around 10.30pm and the kitchen readily obliged for free (there is no room service).

We had a double room which was small, but the Inn managed to fit in two chairs, a writing desk with a selection of books and lots of lamps. The bathroom was also small but adequate and with a good shower, though missing a few amenities like shower caps. Overall, the room was well-furnished, cosy and clean, while the bed was soft and comfortable. There were rattan blinds which could have been wider and thicker, since they didn't cover the entire window and let some light in. There was also a window air conditioner which we only turned on briefly. It was fine, though if you are bothered by the sound of these units, you might find it noisy.

The downside is that because of our last minute booking, the room was in the back of the hotel, which was noisy. We could hear the rattle of garbage cans and loutish street chatter until about midnight. The wooden floors are also quite thin, so we could hear heavy footfalls and people talking upstairs. I didn't spot an elevator during my brief stay, so be prepared to climb stairs to get to your room.

There is a guest computer with free Internet access and lot of free wireless points in the Inn, which was great. A very decent light breakfast with baked goods or oatmeal and fruit, coffee or tea was included in the tariff. There were additional cooked breakfast items available for a price.

Overall, this is a very good place for couples or singles looking for something that isn't a bland chain hotel in a city location at a reasonable price. It has charm, good service, and a romantic atmosphere, if you don't mind some noise. A few extras like folding beds or cots would make this a choice for families too.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and not a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

When I had to be in Washington for a friend's husband's burial at Arlington, with full military honors, I flew there alone, and needed a place to stay as she drove up from another state. The occasion was solemn, I didn't look forward to time alone there, but my welcome at the Tabard Inn helped so much!

If you like inns and B&B's, the more personal, and smaller, unique places to stay, this is a very special place. It's a townhouse near DuPont Circle, and convenient by Metro to everywhere you need to go. I first stayed here in the 1970's, when academics and people traveling on business with non-profits, and international visitors spread the word about the Tabard Inn. And on my return in 2011, I found it still a unique and welcoming place.

The breakfasts (included with your room) are in their locally famous dining room, lunch can be on the bricked patio just outside. And I invited a friend's daughter for dinner, and we talked and had a glass of wine in the tiny library, then dinner in the dining room. It was almost like entertaining at home. A young Washington executive, she had especially wanted to come to the Tabard for dinner. Their Sunday brunch is also celebrated here - among the best in DC, critics say. And on Sunday nights, there's an excellent small jazz combo in the library, where guests can feel very comfortable, alone or with friends.

I'd recommend the Tabard for a relaxed stay in the capital - and at a relative bargain rate for the area. Rooms come either with or without private bath, and even with my private bath and breakfast in May, my corner room, with windows on two sides, was well under $200. It was perfect for my quick trip to Washington and helped make this a memorable few days.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, travelers could ask for a lower floor if steps are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTwhcsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#107 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing