We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Inn near Dupont Circle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabard Inn
Ranked #111 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historical Inn near Dupont Circle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the Tabard Inn based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

Remember that this Inn is located in 3 townhouses which have been connected and restored. The antique furnishing, wooden floors in the rooms and decor take you back in time. There is wifi in the Inn but not a television in the place - so refreshing once you try it! Also no elevators so be prepared for some stairs.

We stayed on the second floor (if you count them as ground, one and two). The Inn is a bit of a rabbit warren with little hallways throughout and staircases to climb. We think it adds to the charm. As you walk through you can admire all of the art and curiosities that decorate the place - including the mannequin sitting in the "hallway bath"!

Our room had queen bed, private bath and a little walk in closet with a door at the far end that was attached to another room but sealed shut. We were away from the bar and restaurant on the ground level and entertainment rooms on the first level. We faced the back and had no view apart from the fire escape and back alley. That was fine as the room was very quiet, well appointed and spacious. The bathroom was vintage with toilet, stand alone sink and older "Standard" tub with shower. If you want modern, this is NOT the place for you. You can book into the Topaz next door and pay twice as much!

The included breakfast selection is fine. If you want more, there is a full menu. The lounge is very interesting. We didn't partake of the bar selection as my partner was unable to have alcohol due to some medication - our loss as the place looked very entertaining. We had dinner once - mine was fine but my partner didn't care for her selection - the luck of the draw! The servers are very nice but somewhat forgetful - rather like the clientele!

I'd stay again at the Tabard. The location is close to Dupont Circle, the Metro and lots of sites like the Phillips Collection and St Matthews Cathedral (site of JFKs funeral where young John did his famous salute).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    94
    44
    32
    16
See reviews for
42
83
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed four times at the Tabard and have been glad I did every time. The place is a gem - fabulous location, rooms at a range of price points that are all good choices, and mainly it's just the atmosphere that wins me over - the old wood-paneled lounge with a wood fire going every night (in the cold weather) is just the beginning. The rooms all have their own character, tasteful and nicely decorated in historic styles, not fussy at all. The included breakfast is good, with four set choices (bacon egg and toast, granola, scones, and oatmeal if I recall correctly, with juice/tea/coffee included). If you're familiar with the famous Tabard brunch, the full breakfast menu is available but costs extra. Also, they prominently note that tip is not included in your free breakfast. I personally feel like a free breakfast should be free and they should pay the staff accordingly.

My one beef with the Tabard is with whoever chooses their art - someone who has rather pervy taste. For example, there's a poster right at the top of the main staircase featuring a guy's face looking up at a half-naked women, with the eye positioned in a very specific location. One picture, I might let it go. Then I stayed in a room where the poster over the tub featured a topless nymph with four old men's faces leering up at her. I like looking at an artistic nude as much as the next person, but the number of times there's a leering man included in the picture - not necessary, especially in the bathroom.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We love the Tabard! it's in Dupont Circle, a terrific liveable neighborhood; the Luna Cafe around the corner on Connecticut is a neighborhood joint, delicious & cheap. The rooms are very variable. Some seem like great deals, others are tiny, others are expensive given the hotel's drawbacks. (Yes, it's eccentric and quirky, sound sometimes travels between rooms, the first floor is often humming with parities, and you have to carry your own bags upstairs.) We have a favorite room -- a big parlor, reasonably priced because it shares a bathroom with one other room. (deepest tub I've ever soaked in.) Fabulous if expensive restaurant. Breakfast included. Nice other guests. Avoid room #9 -- on the backstairs, dark & tiny like a servant's quarter. Ask to see another room if you don't like what's offered (before you schlep your bags up.) Very very courteous and patient staff. Fabulous downstairs living room/pub with fire going in winter and oils of George Washington, etc on the walls. Great place to meet friends. We felt like every corner of the hotel was somehow our own.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9. Rooms with shared baths are often great deals and not as creepy as it sounds. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillValleyTrueLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Imagine my surprise when I got home and checked my email, only to find an alert from my bank....I was nearing the balance that would activate my overcharge protection. Hmmmm. There it was....two charges from Tabard Inn. One when we arrived, and one when we left.
Apparently, the person behind the desk re-swiped our card, when it was not necessary; a charge had already been made on that card for our stay. I have to wonder what might have happened if I hadn't gotten the head's up from the bank. I tend to doubt Tabard would have independently tagged the mistake.....

Room Tip: WIFI is flakey in the more far-flung rooms. If you need it, stay near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anchaesposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Tabard Inn has an unusual combination of qualities. Start with a late-60s, funky vibe, including old Easter-style rugs, a mish-mash of paintings and posters, purple and green walls in the rooms and old but comfortable couches in the lounge. Add a truly excellent breakfast, a great jazz duo at night and a well-mixed Manhattan. Throw in good service from a young and happy staff and finish with a terrific location and reasonable prices. If you are looking for something modern, with straight floors and a marble bathroom, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate something out of the ordinary and if you are flexible, check out the Tabard Inn. We (including our 20-year-old daughter) enjoyed it ... and we will stay there next time we are in Washington.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edojidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A long time time favorite but really disappointing last visit. Poor quality dinner in the once great restaurant - and small, worn out and very cold room at the back stairs - great location but that is about it. No more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Tabard Inn every few years whenever I have come to DC over 25 years. My visit last week will be my last. What was once quaint and quirky has become run down, dusty and sometimes downright dirty. Who knows when the shower curtain in my room was last properly cleaned? Suffering from allergies, and despite suitable medication, I could really feel the dust. Staff were friendly and generally helpful but the heaters were off in my frozen room.The food and lounge area are still lovely. So next time, I'll pop in for its famous brunch, but definitely not stay there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Lion
Hotel RL Washington DC by Red Li...
#107 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#112 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarter...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#104 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabard Inn

Property: Tabard Inn
Address: 1739 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on quiet side street only five blocks from the White House and steps away from Dupont Circle, Tabard Inn is an old and charming hotel for anyone seeking a European-style oasis on American soil. Our eclectic yet refined atmosphere is the perfect compliment to our award-winning restaurant and bar, weekend jazz sessions, and beautiful, intimate special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tabard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing